We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”
Review of Cumbria Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cumbria Park Hotel
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Carlisle
Certificate of Excellence
aylesbury, bucks
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Stopped over for a night. Close to M6. Has Car Park. Room was fine. Good breakfast. No Real Ale when we stayed. Shame not a little nearer city centre, walk back is uphill! £40 for a double room for single use was good value. Couldn't have got an early night as noise from Coach Party entertainer came straight up stairs directly to my room. Door to music room wedged open, only stopped at 11pm. Failed my Toilet Paper test of quality, 1/10.

Room Tip: If you want an early night need to have room away from Entertainment
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david_anna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    234
    103
    43
    33
See reviews for
100
250
41
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Herts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Great hotel, very reasonably priced with a warm welcome and friendly staff. It's quite charming but is about to undergo a makeover. Management assure us this won't detract from the character of the place. Plenty parking at the back, home cooked food, we just used it as a 1 night stopover but would happily stay longer if in the area. Recommended.

Room Tip: We paid £5 extra for a superior room which had a balcony, would be nice if it was sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisandHeatherHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Yes the place is a little tired and they are talking about a refit but I'd rather have it like it is with its much-less-than-travelodge prices plus enjoying their great breakfast. Friendly, recommended

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Emms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 September 2012

what great value! what helpful happy staff.
1.25 mile walk to city centre or £5 taxi.
have booked for next July.
no downside in my experience.
how silly tripadviser, to insist on 200 words when I have said all I want in 26.
any fool can waffle on about owt or nowt as I am doing but it is no use to the traveller.
this hotel was outstandingly good value for money.
the staff were great, the room perfectly adequate and clean, the breakfast generous and well cooked, the dinner decent 2 nights.
why do you insist i bore people stupid? the art of communication is accuracy with brevity - ok?

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank legs e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Good clean hotel, car park behind, good breakfast. Only disadvantage could be a layout as the hotel is long and require long walk from our room to the car park. We use it as a base to visit Hadrian Wall and it worked for us very well.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wd78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountsorrel Leics England
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Cumbria Park Hotel for one night as part of a coach party.The hotel was clean the staff courteous and the food was excellent .The coach party consisted of 46 people and I can speak for them all when I say that the all enjoyed the stay and I would return again if I were in the area .One slight compaint some items of my breakfast were not as hot as they could have been ,but that was my luck as my wife and others around me went 2 or 3 minutes later and theirs was piping hot .Otherwise no problems.

Room Tip: Rooms on front of hotel suffer from some road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat06_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Just returned from a three night stay at this very homely hotel the staff were very polite and attentive we booked on a bed and breakfast deal but we ate at the hotel on all our three nights the food was fresh and hot and very reasonable priced location was great for a stroll into the town would defiantly recommend it

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlisle hotels
1.1 mi away
Ibis Carlisle
Ibis Carlisle
#5 of 20 in Carlisle
1,359 reviews
0.8 mi away
Crown & Mitre Hotel
Crown & Mitre Hotel
#8 of 20 in Carlisle
960 reviews
4.4 mi away
Crown Wetheral Hotel
Crown Wetheral Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wetheral
967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Carlisle
Hallmark Hotel Carlisle
#17 of 20 in Carlisle
1,001 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Halston Aparthotel
The Halston Aparthotel
#3 of 20 in Carlisle
220 reviews
1.0 mi away
Travelodge Carlisle Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cumbria Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cumbria Park Hotel

Property: Cumbria Park Hotel
Address: 32 Scotland Road, Carlisle CA3 9DG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Carlisle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Carlisle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cumbria Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cumbria Park Hotel is a privately owned hotel and has been established for over 40 years. Located 1.5 miles from the M6 J44 and a 10 minute walk from the town centre. We have a leisure club and 6 conferences rooms. The menu is a mix of modern and traditional. A warm, friendly atmosphere awaits you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Cumbria Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlisle Best Western
Best Western Carlisle
Cumbria Park Hotel Carlisle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing