We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated and poor service at breakfast lets it down”
Review of Cumbria Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cumbria Park Hotel
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Carlisle
Certificate of Excellence
Midlands, UK
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Dated and poor service at breakfast lets it down”
Reviewed 9 October 2012 via mobile

Room looked okay for what it was, representing decent value for money but as I lay in bed But there was a slight musky background odour.

Very old fashioned and in severe need of updating.

Breakfast experience was awful, had to wait 10 mins to be seated, 10 mins after that to give my coffee and toast order and when I eventually got to the buffet there were no beans, eggs or hash browns.

After ten mins eggs arrived and then beans.

I'd almost finished eating when the hash browns arrived, the guy who was in the queue behind me was still queuing for them.

Was in a hurry and left in a bad mood.

Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank TinaandJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    198
    240
    109
    47
    34
See reviews for
102
260
44
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Corby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2012

Our first impressions of the hotel were very favourable on entering the property. However, the reception experience was very poor. We weren't greeted, just asked name and given a form to complete. Receptionist then just handed us the key, told the room was upstairs and to the right and that was it. The room was meant to be a superior room but was very small, it did have a nice large flatscreen TV, but it was facing a wall in a passage of about 2 foot wide. You could turn it sideways on the chest, but there was knowhere to sit and watch it as the bed was brass and you couldn't sit at the bottom of the bed. The worst part of the room was the bed. Very very poor quality mattress, with sheets and blankets that looked like they belonged to the Army in the 1970s. We have stayed in 5 hotels in the past week and this bed was so uncomfortable compared to any other bed. I hardly got any sleep. The heating also came on in the middle of the night. The bathroom was clean, but the floor had a big dip in it. The bar staff were very friendly and the steak and ale pie was delicious (homemade chips would have made it an exceptional meal). Breakfast staff were agai

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire, england
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

We stayed at Cumbria Park for 2 nights on our visit to Carlisle. The room was ok, maybe a bit on the dark side, the furniture was a bit old but it was alright and the flowered drapes above the bed were kitch but cute. Everything worked fine and ok selection of TV channels. Massive car park and effort had been made with the garden.

Breakfast buffet was included in the price and it was well stocked with eggs, mushrooms, tomatoes etc., great choice for vegetarians.
The staff were lovely, efficient, helpful and friendly. The only disappointment was the lack of the promised Wi-Fi availability. We ate here one evening and the meal was good and value for money too. Price of wine wasn't that high for a hotel.

The hotel was a bit of a trek from the town centre, it certainly seemed so walking back in rain and a cold wind!! Taxi fare varied between just under £5 to about £7.
We liked this hotel, it had character and a certain faded charm about it. If we ever visit Carlisle again we would stay here.

Room Tip: it's worth asking for a room upgrade when you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank partygirl369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

We stayed at the Cumbria Park Hotel for one night on our way home from Scotland. The hotel had excellent parking facilities (which is always a benefit for those with cars!) and it is also only a ten minute walk from the city centre. The staff were superb (friendly, helpful and made us feel very much at home). The room was clean and well appointed with tea/coffee making facilities, a TV and a phone. We ate at the hotel and the meal was very good value and well cooked. Breakfast in the morning was buffet style with fresh fruit, cereals and a full cooked breakfast option. Again, the quality was very good.

OK, the decor is a little dated but not 'out of keeping' with the building itself. The cost for B&B was quite a bit lower than many comparable hotels and my friends and I were agreeably surprised at the facilities available for the price. We fully intend to go back to the Cumbria Park Hotel for longer next time and spend some time exploring the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2012

Stayed here for one night (unfortunately a family funeral) and I liked it. I've got used to staying in lots of good but functional modern hotels but the room we had was quaint. OK the furniture was a bit old but it was alright and the sort of large flowered drapes above the bed were nice. Room a bit on the small side but nothing bad. Everything worked fine and ok selection of TV channels. We were actually showed to our room by reception which was good, admittedly the hotel is a bit of a rabbit warren.

Breakfast was included in the price and it was well stocked, so I had the full English as is my want. Only down side was the coffee which was virtually tasteless. Nowadays I tend to travel with those little packets of instant Starbucks so we at least made a nice coffee in the room.

It's only a pleasant 15-20min stroll into Carlisle centre (which is really nice), nice pub just across the road as well. Had a couple of pints in the hotel bar before bed, staff friendly beer not too expensive. Also nice big (free) car park.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LincolnKev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aylesbury, bucks
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Stopped over for a night. Close to M6. Has Car Park. Room was fine. Good breakfast. No Real Ale when we stayed. Shame not a little nearer city centre, walk back is uphill! £40 for a double room for single use was good value. Couldn't have got an early night as noise from Coach Party entertainer came straight up stairs directly to my room. Door to music room wedged open, only stopped at 11pm. Failed my Toilet Paper test of quality, 1/10.

Room Tip: If you want an early night need to have room away from Entertainment
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david_anna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herts
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Great hotel, very reasonably priced with a warm welcome and friendly staff. It's quite charming but is about to undergo a makeover. Management assure us this won't detract from the character of the place. Plenty parking at the back, home cooked food, we just used it as a 1 night stopover but would happily stay longer if in the area. Recommended.

Room Tip: We paid £5 extra for a superior room which had a balcony, would be nice if it was sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisandHeatherHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlisle hotels
1.1 mi away
Ibis Carlisle
Ibis Carlisle
#5 of 20 in Carlisle
1,387 reviews
0.8 mi away
Crown & Mitre Hotel
Crown & Mitre Hotel
#7 of 20 in Carlisle
992 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Carlisle
Hallmark Hotel Carlisle
#18 of 20 in Carlisle
1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Crown Wetheral Hotel
Crown Wetheral Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wetheral
992 reviews
1.0 mi away
Travelodge Carlisle Central
3.6 mi away
Travelodge Carlisle Todhills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cumbria Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cumbria Park Hotel

Property: Cumbria Park Hotel
Address: 32 Scotland Road, Carlisle CA3 9DG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Carlisle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Carlisle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cumbria Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cumbria Park Hotel is a privately owned hotel and has been established for over 40 years. Located 1.5 miles from the M6 J44 and a 10 minute walk from the town centre. We have a leisure club and 6 conferences rooms. The menu is a mix of modern and traditional. A warm, friendly atmosphere awaits you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Cumbria Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlisle Best Western
Best Western Carlisle
Cumbria Park Hotel Carlisle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing