We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over night stay, cannot fault it”
Review of Cumbria Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cumbria Park Hotel
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Carlisle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Some work colleges were a bit disparaging about the Cumbria, but I must say that I didn't find any of their comments fitted my experience.
Despite booking a single room I was allocated a very nice double with 4 poster bed.
It was clean, comfortable and everything worked.
Breakfast was an excellent buffet, everything was well cooked hot and tasty, the dining room staff staff were attentive and quick.
in summary very good for the price and well worth the 3* they give themselves.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sggaunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (654)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

628 - 634 of 654 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for the weekend whilst my sister got married at gretna green and had the wedding breakfast here , fantastic service, staff went out of there way to help, very clean comfortable rooms .food was wonderfull, good variety too

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shaunnorris1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2012

We arrived at the hotel on Sunday 1st July (Yes I know that's a while ago) for a 4 night stay. I thought we were booking into a Best Western group hotel, but this was not the case. (above photo still shows BW board on wall at the entrance). Polite welcome from Receptionist, but no offer of help with our luggage. Just directions. Bedroom quite dark, with heavy furniture. One of the pillow cases was white and the other yellow ??!!!!!. Bathroom ok but like the rest of the hotel a bit dated and in need of a refurbishment. Good location about 15 mins. walk to town centre, so had a wonder into town. On return decided to have a pot of tea in bar, had to send one cup back as it was heavily stained/dirty (See Monday breakfast).

Dinner menu at night average as was the meal, seemed to owe a lot to the workings ofthe micro wave. Good beer tho. and polite and efficient staff.

TV in bedroom died at end of Euro 2012 (perhaps it didn't like the result),reported next morning and working fine on return Monday night.

Good breakfast plentiful and hot. (Cup AGAIN sent back , see Sunday afternoon)

On return Monday Zapper would not unlock bedroom door and toiletries not replenished. Dinner as Sunday, although one sweet had gone from me

On return Tuesday not full compliment of towels, reported to reception, Receptionist brought some up with the comment 'your towels' , no 'sorry' and then stomped off. Dinner as above, but with another pud missing.

On return Wednesday afternoon BED HAD NOT BEEN MADE!!!! Rang reception, Towel lady said, I don't know what to say, so told her we would do it ourselves. Again no Sorry.

In conclusion, good priced hotel, good location, great breakfast ,but,the hotel needs to get its housekeeping sorted out,and generally cleaned up, chairs in breakfast room quite soiled. a bit more adventurous menu would make you want to eat in. Best Western logo should be taken off above picture as it is very missleading, and perhaps illegal.

Young staff very polite, helpful and efficient. Older staff ........................

Room Tip: Ask for room at back of hotel, as road is very busy and noisy at the front of the hotel. Huge carpar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012 via mobile

If staying in Carlisle use this hotel.
Quirky rooms all different and to a high standard.
All spotless
Breakfast has a wide choice and staff can not do enough for you
If you don't like stairs this is not for you.
We found it added to the quirky charm

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pinkpartridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

Room looked okay for what it was, representing decent value for money but as I lay in bed But there was a slight musky background odour.

Very old fashioned and in severe need of updating.

Breakfast experience was awful, had to wait 10 mins to be seated, 10 mins after that to give my coffee and toast order and when I eventually got to the buffet there were no beans, eggs or hash browns.

After ten mins eggs arrived and then beans.

I'd almost finished eating when the hash browns arrived, the guy who was in the queue behind me was still queuing for them.

Was in a hurry and left in a bad mood.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
1  Thank TinaandJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

Our first impressions of the hotel were very favourable on entering the property. However, the reception experience was very poor. We weren't greeted, just asked name and given a form to complete. Receptionist then just handed us the key, told the room was upstairs and to the right and that was it. The room was meant to be a superior room but was very small, it did have a nice large flatscreen TV, but it was facing a wall in a passage of about 2 foot wide. You could turn it sideways on the chest, but there was knowhere to sit and watch it as the bed was brass and you couldn't sit at the bottom of the bed. The worst part of the room was the bed. Very very poor quality mattress, with sheets and blankets that looked like they belonged to the Army in the 1970s. We have stayed in 5 hotels in the past week and this bed was so uncomfortable compared to any other bed. I hardly got any sleep. The heating also came on in the middle of the night. The bathroom was clean, but the floor had a big dip in it. The bar staff were very friendly and the steak and ale pie was delicious (homemade chips would have made it an exceptional meal). Breakfast staff were agai

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

We stayed at Cumbria Park for 2 nights on our visit to Carlisle. The room was ok, maybe a bit on the dark side, the furniture was a bit old but it was alright and the flowered drapes above the bed were kitch but cute. Everything worked fine and ok selection of TV channels. Massive car park and effort had been made with the garden.

Breakfast buffet was included in the price and it was well stocked with eggs, mushrooms, tomatoes etc., great choice for vegetarians.
The staff were lovely, efficient, helpful and friendly. The only disappointment was the lack of the promised Wi-Fi availability. We ate here one evening and the meal was good and value for money too. Price of wine wasn't that high for a hotel.

The hotel was a bit of a trek from the town centre, it certainly seemed so walking back in rain and a cold wind!! Taxi fare varied between just under £5 to about £7.
We liked this hotel, it had character and a certain faded charm about it. If we ever visit Carlisle again we would stay here.

Room Tip: it's worth asking for a room upgrade when you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank partygirl369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlisle hotels
1.0 mi away
Ibis Carlisle
Ibis Carlisle
#5 of 20 in Carlisle
1,430 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crown & Mitre Hotel
Crown & Mitre Hotel
#7 of 20 in Carlisle
1,047 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Carlisle
Hallmark Hotel Carlisle
#16 of 20 in Carlisle
1,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Carlisle Central
0.9 mi away
The Halston Aparthotel
The Halston Aparthotel
#1 of 20 in Carlisle
256 reviews
4.4 mi away
Crown Wetheral Hotel
Crown Wetheral Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wetheral
1,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cumbria Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cumbria Park Hotel

Address: 32 Scotland Road, Carlisle CA3 9DG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Carlisle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Carlisle
Price Range: £35 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cumbria Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cumbria Park Hotel is a privately owned hotel and has been established for over 40 years. Located 1.5 miles from the M6 J44 and a 10 minute walk from the town centre. We have a leisure club and 6 conferences rooms. The menu is a mix of modern and traditional. A warm, friendly atmosphere awaits you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon and LateRooms so you can book your Cumbria Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlisle Best Western
Best Western Carlisle
Cumbria Park Hotel Carlisle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing