We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value”
Review of Cumbria Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cumbria Park Hotel
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Carlisle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 November 2012

stayed only for one night b/b en route elswhere, arrived late so only had a drink in the bar before bed we found the hotel clean ,friendly, helpful staff and the room comfortable if small the breakfast buffet better than expected for the price all in all pleasant and good value and would return

Room Tip: if you are staying for more tha 1or2 nights look to upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosieNYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean B, Owner at Cumbria Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review the Cumbria Park Hotel. I'm pleased to hear that you found our service, cleanliness and breakfast to your satisfaction. As new owners, we and the hotel team are trying hard to offer our customers a quality experience. Hopefully we will be able to offer you one of our executive rooms on your next visit.

Regards,
Dean Barnes
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (659)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

630 - 636 of 659 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2012

I have to travel to Carlisle on work matters about 6 times a year and have stayed at the Cumbria Park Hotel on each of these occasions.

There are some reviews that are a bit derogatory but my own experience is that it is friendly, welcoming and has everything I need for a 1 - 2 night stay. Yes, its a little dated decor wise and its not ultra modern but if you want ultra modern then book somewhere else and pay two or three times the price. I don't think its fair to grumble at all with the facilities or service provided for what the Cumbria Park charge to stay there. As a lone female worker I also feel very safe when I stay there which accounts for a lot nowadays.

Breakfast is excellent with a really good fresh choice of just about anything. Well done Cumbria Park and keep it up!

Room Tip: I would ask for a room at the back of the hotel as they are not on the main road. I have stayed in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2012

Only stayed for 1 night and thought the room clean, spacious and comfortable - only slight issue was that the shower had to be run for about 10 mins for the water to run hot! The breakfast buffet was excellent with plenty of choice and all seemingly fresh. The staff were all very helpfull and pleasent.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Some work colleges were a bit disparaging about the Cumbria, but I must say that I didn't find any of their comments fitted my experience.
Despite booking a single room I was allocated a very nice double with 4 poster bed.
It was clean, comfortable and everything worked.
Breakfast was an excellent buffet, everything was well cooked hot and tasty, the dining room staff staff were attentive and quick.
in summary very good for the price and well worth the 3* they give themselves.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sggaunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for the weekend whilst my sister got married at gretna green and had the wedding breakfast here , fantastic service, staff went out of there way to help, very clean comfortable rooms .food was wonderfull, good variety too

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shaunnorris1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2012

We arrived at the hotel on Sunday 1st July (Yes I know that's a while ago) for a 4 night stay. I thought we were booking into a Best Western group hotel, but this was not the case. (above photo still shows BW board on wall at the entrance). Polite welcome from Receptionist, but no offer of help with our luggage. Just directions. Bedroom quite dark, with heavy furniture. One of the pillow cases was white and the other yellow ??!!!!!. Bathroom ok but like the rest of the hotel a bit dated and in need of a refurbishment. Good location about 15 mins. walk to town centre, so had a wonder into town. On return decided to have a pot of tea in bar, had to send one cup back as it was heavily stained/dirty (See Monday breakfast).

Dinner menu at night average as was the meal, seemed to owe a lot to the workings ofthe micro wave. Good beer tho. and polite and efficient staff.

TV in bedroom died at end of Euro 2012 (perhaps it didn't like the result),reported next morning and working fine on return Monday night.

Good breakfast plentiful and hot. (Cup AGAIN sent back , see Sunday afternoon)

On return Monday Zapper would not unlock bedroom door and toiletries not replenished. Dinner as Sunday, although one sweet had gone from me

On return Tuesday not full compliment of towels, reported to reception, Receptionist brought some up with the comment 'your towels' , no 'sorry' and then stomped off. Dinner as above, but with another pud missing.

On return Wednesday afternoon BED HAD NOT BEEN MADE!!!! Rang reception, Towel lady said, I don't know what to say, so told her we would do it ourselves. Again no Sorry.

In conclusion, good priced hotel, good location, great breakfast ,but,the hotel needs to get its housekeeping sorted out,and generally cleaned up, chairs in breakfast room quite soiled. a bit more adventurous menu would make you want to eat in. Best Western logo should be taken off above picture as it is very missleading, and perhaps illegal.

Young staff very polite, helpful and efficient. Older staff ........................

Room Tip: Ask for room at back of hotel, as road is very busy and noisy at the front of the hotel. Huge carpar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012 via mobile

If staying in Carlisle use this hotel.
Quirky rooms all different and to a high standard.
All spotless
Breakfast has a wide choice and staff can not do enough for you
If you don't like stairs this is not for you.
We found it added to the quirky charm

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pinkpartridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlisle hotels
1 mi away
Ibis Carlisle
Ibis Carlisle
#5 of 20 in Carlisle
1,435 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crown & Mitre Hotel
Crown & Mitre Hotel
#7 of 20 in Carlisle
1,053 reviews
1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Carlisle
Hallmark Hotel Carlisle
#16 of 20 in Carlisle
1,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Carlisle Central
4.4 mi away
Crown Wetheral Hotel
Crown Wetheral Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wetheral
1,035 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Halston Aparthotel
The Halston Aparthotel
#1 of 20 in Carlisle
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cumbria Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cumbria Park Hotel

Address: 32 Scotland Road, Carlisle CA3 9DG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Carlisle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Carlisle
Price Range: £34 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cumbria Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cumbria Park Hotel is a privately owned hotel and has been established for over 40 years. Located 1.5 miles from the M6 J44 and a 10 minute walk from the town centre. We have a leisure club and 6 conferences rooms. The menu is a mix of modern and traditional. A warm, friendly atmosphere awaits you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your Cumbria Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlisle Best Western
Best Western Carlisle
Cumbria Park Hotel Carlisle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing