We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Vey good value for money” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cumbria Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cumbria Park Hotel
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Carlisle
Hexham
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Vey good value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013

We only stayed one night but was enough to show us what a very good hotel this was.
Rooms very clean Plenty of hot water and beds very comfy. We had a meal with friends and the food was excellent and not over priced also a glass of wine was also not exspensive.

Room Tip: We saw to rooms and they all looked good
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Allan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    219
    97
    43
    31
See reviews for
96
237
40
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
bucks
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013

Spent one night here a very comfortable room not big but cosy clean and adequate
The breakfast was included in the price and was very good . It is very near the city centre and on a main road , but i never heard any traffic noises , The staff i dealt with were all very friendly and helpful. An ideal place to stop in if you are on your way to or from Scotland

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chris13Bucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2013

My partner and I booked this hotel between the 4/3/13 - 7/3/13 for a holiday to Carlisle, the hotel itself is located upon the main road Scotland Road and is roughly 5 mins car journey and 10-15 walk from the city centre itself, indeed I advise guests to walk rather than take a taxi as money can be saved and you will see some excellent sights that a taxi may obscure such as Bitts Park, the stone architecture, paved roads the view of the city itself etc etc.

As stated the hotel is situated upon a main road and therefore can be noisy but this can be stemmed by shutting the windows and window vents and indeed in the room we stayed in (room 205) this helped immensely, a car park with numerious parking spaces is available for free to the rear of the premises, nearby there is the Crown Inn, chemist, Spar shop, Sainsbury's and further up the road towards the city centre a few takeaways to partake of which were excellent when we did so. Locating the building is not difficult, merely look for the flag's hanging off the side of the building and you will have found it.

Check-in is friendly and each guest staying has their own keycard to get in and out of the rooms, to get to the rooms one has to go diagonally through the breakfast/dining area, lifts are available (maximum of 5 persons per time) and the stairs also. The rooms themselves are clean and decorated in a more older flowery based style with mahogany furniture provided, the en-suite bathrooms are white with brass/copper looking taps and other fixtures. There are both shower and bathing facilities, complete with a whirlpool bath. (which was not turned on and we were advised that this was due to potential legionnaires disease by reception staff) Towels, toiletries etc are provided for an refilled by room services during breakfast time, this also applies to the provided tea and coffee facilities based in room. Also provided is a trouser press.

Breakfast is a buffet type of service for cold based food and any hot food must be ordered, luckily there is a waiter/waitress service available, however only a full English can be ordered unless one wishes to pay an additional £2.00 surcharge for a different hot breakfast, nevertheless there are a wide variety of the cold, none-cooked based foods such as cereal, fruit, bakery goods i.e croissants which we decided to partake of.

The hotel also has a restaurant and bar service which as we did not partake of could not possibly comment on.

Overall a good stay and would recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank markbarr31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2013

Arrived in the afternoon attentive staff preheated our bedrooms and helped in with our luggage.Met my son and girlfriend in the lounge bar had a delicious selection of snacks served by considerate staff.Oh the joys of attentive professional staff after travelling extensively over the last two years how welcoming the staff in the Cumbria Park are. My son who is a Spanish National had a waiter who spoke fluent Spanish wonderful. The meal was served after the staff had decorated the table for my sons 21 st Birthday.The meal was exceptional and then the doors burst open and the kitchen staff arrived singing happy birthday with a beautiful cake something I will never forget I was so happy I had booked the Cumbria Park.This is the second time I have stayed at this hotel and it really feels like coming home.The building is quirky and idiosyncratic consisting of a number of different building merging into this hotel to form a completed hotel. The rooms are comfortable, clean and warm and I have had a great nights sleep . The friendliness seems contagious and it is a real joy to experience what I describe as old fashioned conviviality I will be returning to the Cumbria Park shortly with a party from Canada to experience a great hotel.

Room Tip: Ask the staff each time I have been pleasantly surprised
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fraserwraytrevor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2013

Hotel is tired and a bit grubby, staff are friendly and do their best. Price is good when comparing with other hotels in the area, but you get what you pay for. Twin room was small. Breakfast was average but ok. All things considered would probably stay again if I could not get in anywhere else. Did not try restaurant. Stanwix has nothing to offer. Car park was very good.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2013

Stayed from Friday 8th - Mon 11th Feb for a last minute break. Arrived late evening and although kitchen was closed reception staff checked if we had eaten (we had) as they would have rustled up something for us. Room was traditional in decor , loved the tester bed it was very comfortable added bonus was the spa bath . The extractor fan in bathroom was a bit noisy but not worth complaining about. Decent selection of cereal, fresh fruit and danish pastries didnt try the cooked breakfast but didnt notice any complaints. The staff here were excellent nothing seemed to be a bother and I did not see one grumpy face .
Easy walking distance into shops . Will definitely return .

Room Tip: Rooms at back were quiet might be different at front on main road. Stairs to rooms are quite steep
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roughcaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2013

We stayed at the Cumbria Park recently for a three night stay. We booked on line a twin room, but really would have preferred a double. When we arrived the man on reception upgraded us to a family room for the same price. The place was very busy with a retirement do and yet the staff found the time to make us very welcome. The price was reasonable, room nice, clean and tidy, nice bar in the hotel and a decent pub across the road, bus into town during the day was handy and cheap; in the evenning we went into town via taxi which was also very handy. All in all we had an excellent stay and we will return.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlisle hotels
0.8 mi away
Crown & Mitre Hotel
Crown & Mitre Hotel
#7 of 20 in Carlisle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ibis Carlisle
Ibis Carlisle
#5 of 20 in Carlisle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,308 reviews
4.4 mi away
Crown Wetheral Hotel
Crown Wetheral Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wetheral
4.5 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Carlisle
Hallmark Hotel Carlisle
#16 of 20 in Carlisle
3.5 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Halston Aparthotel
The Halston Aparthotel
#3 of 20 in Carlisle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
3.9 mi away
Premier Inn Carlisle (M6 Jct42) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cumbria Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cumbria Park Hotel

Property: Cumbria Park Hotel
Address: 32 Scotland Road, Carlisle CA3 9DG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Carlisle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Carlisle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cumbria Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cumbria Park Hotel is a privately owned hotel and has been established for over 40 years. Located 1.5 miles from the M6 J44 and a 10 minute walk from the town centre. We have a leisure club and 6 conferences rooms. The menu is a mix of modern and traditional. A warm, friendly atmosphere awaits you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, SpeedyBooker.com and Booking.com so you can book your Cumbria Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlisle Best Western
Best Western Carlisle
Cumbria Park Hotel Carlisle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing