We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Saved the Day!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cumbria Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cumbria Park Hotel
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Carlisle
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Saved the Day!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2013

We arrived at this hotel saturday evening on a group travel tour having had the main reason for our tour cancelled, that was the Settle to Carlisle train. Feeling disappointed, cold and tired we checked in to a warm comfortable room on the ground floor(as requested). The evening meal and the breakfast was excellent and the staff very friendly and helpful. Look forward to our return trip.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 6 which was on ground floor but road noise could be heard
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SAH64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    227
    100
    43
    31
See reviews for
97
245
41
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2013

Stayed for one night on a business trip. The place was like a labyrinth with little corridors & up & down stairs which I found quite quaint. My room (138) was immaculate, warm & cosy (& I dont mean it was small). I had dinner in the bar area which was very nice & good value for money. Staff were extremely helpful & pleasant. Breakfast was also very nice & cooked to order. I'd definately stay here again. The only drawback was that I couldn't connect to the free Wi-Fi from my room which was disappointing.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blueyedgirl1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013

I have stayed here a few times - with the main reason being location. Just a short walk into the town centre and also a short drive to the motorway. While the hotel is obviously not trying to be 4* or 5*, my room had everything I needed, and was warm, comfortable and quiet. Free WiFi was a bonus. The cooked breakfast was hot and freshly cooked to order. The staff were friendly and helpful. There are a few shops nearby which are useful if you need to stock up before heading home - Sainsburys, Spar and Morrisons. Fuel at Morrisons was the cheapest I've found. I would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Digbert29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hexham
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013

We only stayed one night but was enough to show us what a very good hotel this was.
Rooms very clean Plenty of hot water and beds very comfy. We had a meal with friends and the food was excellent and not over priced also a glass of wine was also not exspensive.

Room Tip: We saw to rooms and they all looked good
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bucks
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013

Spent one night here a very comfortable room not big but cosy clean and adequate
The breakfast was included in the price and was very good . It is very near the city centre and on a main road , but i never heard any traffic noises , The staff i dealt with were all very friendly and helpful. An ideal place to stop in if you are on your way to or from Scotland

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris13Bucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2013

My partner and I booked this hotel between the 4/3/13 - 7/3/13 for a holiday to Carlisle, the hotel itself is located upon the main road Scotland Road and is roughly 5 mins car journey and 10-15 walk from the city centre itself, indeed I advise guests to walk rather than take a taxi as money can be saved and you will see some excellent sights that a taxi may obscure such as Bitts Park, the stone architecture, paved roads the view of the city itself etc etc.

As stated the hotel is situated upon a main road and therefore can be noisy but this can be stemmed by shutting the windows and window vents and indeed in the room we stayed in (room 205) this helped immensely, a car park with numerious parking spaces is available for free to the rear of the premises, nearby there is the Crown Inn, chemist, Spar shop, Sainsbury's and further up the road towards the city centre a few takeaways to partake of which were excellent when we did so. Locating the building is not difficult, merely look for the flag's hanging off the side of the building and you will have found it.

Check-in is friendly and each guest staying has their own keycard to get in and out of the rooms, to get to the rooms one has to go diagonally through the breakfast/dining area, lifts are available (maximum of 5 persons per time) and the stairs also. The rooms themselves are clean and decorated in a more older flowery based style with mahogany furniture provided, the en-suite bathrooms are white with brass/copper looking taps and other fixtures. There are both shower and bathing facilities, complete with a whirlpool bath. (which was not turned on and we were advised that this was due to potential legionnaires disease by reception staff) Towels, toiletries etc are provided for an refilled by room services during breakfast time, this also applies to the provided tea and coffee facilities based in room. Also provided is a trouser press.

Breakfast is a buffet type of service for cold based food and any hot food must be ordered, luckily there is a waiter/waitress service available, however only a full English can be ordered unless one wishes to pay an additional £2.00 surcharge for a different hot breakfast, nevertheless there are a wide variety of the cold, none-cooked based foods such as cereal, fruit, bakery goods i.e croissants which we decided to partake of.

The hotel also has a restaurant and bar service which as we did not partake of could not possibly comment on.

Overall a good stay and would recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markbarr31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2013

Arrived in the afternoon attentive staff preheated our bedrooms and helped in with our luggage.Met my son and girlfriend in the lounge bar had a delicious selection of snacks served by considerate staff.Oh the joys of attentive professional staff after travelling extensively over the last two years how welcoming the staff in the Cumbria Park are. My son who is a Spanish National had a waiter who spoke fluent Spanish wonderful. The meal was served after the staff had decorated the table for my sons 21 st Birthday.The meal was exceptional and then the doors burst open and the kitchen staff arrived singing happy birthday with a beautiful cake something I will never forget I was so happy I had booked the Cumbria Park.This is the second time I have stayed at this hotel and it really feels like coming home.The building is quirky and idiosyncratic consisting of a number of different building merging into this hotel to form a completed hotel. The rooms are comfortable, clean and warm and I have had a great nights sleep . The friendliness seems contagious and it is a real joy to experience what I describe as old fashioned conviviality I will be returning to the Cumbria Park shortly with a party from Canada to experience a great hotel.

Room Tip: Ask the staff each time I have been pleasantly surprised
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fraserwraytrevor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlisle hotels
0.8 mi away
Crown & Mitre Hotel
Crown & Mitre Hotel
#7 of 20 in Carlisle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ibis Carlisle
Ibis Carlisle
#5 of 20 in Carlisle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,331 reviews
4.4 mi away
Crown Wetheral Hotel
Crown Wetheral Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wetheral
4.5 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Carlisle
Hallmark Hotel Carlisle
#16 of 20 in Carlisle
3.5 of 5 bubbles 976 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Halston Aparthotel
The Halston Aparthotel
#3 of 20 in Carlisle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Carlisle Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cumbria Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cumbria Park Hotel

Property: Cumbria Park Hotel
Address: 32 Scotland Road, Carlisle CA3 9DG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Carlisle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Carlisle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cumbria Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cumbria Park Hotel is a privately owned hotel and has been established for over 40 years. Located 1.5 miles from the M6 J44 and a 10 minute walk from the town centre. We have a leisure club and 6 conferences rooms. The menu is a mix of modern and traditional. A warm, friendly atmosphere awaits you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cumbria Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlisle Best Western
Best Western Carlisle
Cumbria Park Hotel Carlisle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing