We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a visit”
Review of Cumbria Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cumbria Park Hotel
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Carlisle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 March 2014

The hotel is a converted terrace of Victorian houses, so a little rambling in it's layout, but this is an observation, and not a negative remark!
Location. Within an easy walk of the city centre, or a modest taxi fare if it's raining.
Rooms; comfortable, pleasantly decorated, and pristine in presentation. We have stayed here twice, in opposite ends of the hotel, and both rooms would warrant a return visit.
Staff - gold-plated. Welcoming, pleasant, helpful, professional, and a credit to the Owner.
Food - breakfast is beautifully prepared, and something to look forward to. Have also attended a function here, and the catering was really good.
Tariff - a Superior Double with breakfast will only set you back £65 - what astounding value.
My first visit made me look forward to the second visit, and that has made me look forward to my next.

Room Tip: Back of the hotel is quiet, front rooms overlook a busy road.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Harvey E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessey B, Operations Director at Cumbria Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Harvey E,

Not much i can say to this review aside from would you like a job in our advertising office. Your comments are fantastic and great for the team to see.

Myself and the team meet weekly to review how we have fared on online review media, reviewing the positives and sometimes negatives our guests share with us. It will be a pleasure to share your feedback.

Kindest Regards


Jessey Bal - Operation Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (642)
There are newer reviews for Cumbria Park Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

507 - 513 of 644 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2014

I would have liked to stay longer unfortunately it was a business trip but I would certainly book a room again. The staff were all very nice and helpful the room was lovely clean & warm, wi-fi excellent. food excellent too.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GJC1626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessey B, Operations Director at Cumbria Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

GJC1626,

We wished you could have stayed longer also. Thank you for your kind words and we look forward to seeing you very soon.

Kindest Regards


Jessey Bal - Operations Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

The Cumbria Park Hotel is an excellent Victorian Hotel in one of the better parts of Carlisle, Stanwix, very easy to find and very accessible with its own large car park. Great for the city and the Sands Centre Venue in Carlisle, roughly 5-8 mins to the Sands and 10-15 mins for the city centre.
The hotel itself is very clean and tidy with excellent reception and function rooms and bar area. The rooms are large and very comfortable with a welcome old charm. The hotel is a bit all over the place with plenty of stairs but quaint for it nonetheless. The staff are charming and friendly. The breakfasts are good value for money and are excellent in both choice and quality.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PrimalSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessey B, Operations Director at Cumbria Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

PrimalSteve,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a great review on our page. As a top contributor (55 now) its great that we were able to impress.

The Car parking at the hotel is a great asset. Unlike some of the city centre hotels we offer FOC parking and as you say getting into town is very easy.

Kindest Regards


Jessey Bal - Operations Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

If you are looking for a faceless, identical, corporate hotel, this isn't for you. It is a converted Victorian terrace, and as such has character. The rooms are on the small side, but clean and pleasant. Our room was at the end of a corridor on the upper floor, which meant going up and down stairs, and along a sloping floor, which would have been difficult for anyone with walking difficulties; but don't let this put you off, as the staff are very friendly and helpful, and there may well be more accessible rooms. We liked ours as the remote position meant it was very peaceful.

Black-out blinds and comfortable beds and pillows meant a good night's sleep; and plentiful hot water, with complementary toiletries and lots of soft towels ensured a relaxing bath, or a brisk shower. A kettle, tea, coffee, milk and biscuits were also provided in the room.

We didn't have breakfast, but did enjoy an evening meal. The food was plentiful, and reasonable for the price we paid, nothing wrong with it, but nothing special.

We stopped overnight to break our journey to Scotland, but it would be equally good for a short break to enjoy the interesting city of Carlisle, as the hotel is on the outskirts. It is just a 15 minute walk away from the centre, which means it is quiet, but convenient. We would definitely stay again, and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsJMT50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessey B, Operations Director at Cumbria Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

MrsJMT50,

Thank you for your most recent review. Its great to receive positive feedback and really helps lift the morale of the team who are all working very hard to ensure our guests have a most enjoyable stay. As you mention we are a 'million miles' away from the faceless, identical, corporate hotels that have sprung up everywhere and pride ourselves on our individual character.

We do offer three different room types which differ in price, size and standard. These are classified as:

Classics
Superiors
Executives

On occasion we do offer free upgrades into Execs when they are available so its always worth asking if any are if checking in late.

Again, thank you for your kind comments. We look forward to seeing you again soon.


Jessey Bal - Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Well located for both city centre and access to M6. Parking very good, room very nice. Woken a few times on 2nd night by noisy guests returning to their rooms. Overall good value and would stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank RogerPerth_Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessey B, Operations Director at Cumbria Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

RogerPerth_Scotl...

Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us. I'm really pleased you had an enjoyable stay with us. I do apologise for the noisy neighbours, we have a 24 hour reception desk and staff on duty but unfortunately some of our guests come back a little 'Merry'.

Kindest Regards


Jessey Bal - Operations Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

my wife and I stayed Saturday and sunday night.Check in was efficient and quick by the friendly young lady on reception.We were allocated room 204 on the top floor which was nicely decorated,spotlessly clean and large.The bathroom was also spotlessly clean warm with an excellent bath and shower.I feel as some of the negative reviews on here are definitely not a true reflection on this hotel as we had a wonderful two night stay and will definitely be staying again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank neil1188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessey B, Operations Director at Cumbria Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

neil1188,

Your review put a smile on our faces. It's great to get positive feedback from our guests and even better when they 'rubbish' some of the other, negative, ones we have on our page. Myself and the team have been working really hard to drive standards and quality up and its rewarding to see this coming to fruition.

We look forward to welcoming you and your wife back in the near future.

Kindest Regards


Jessey Bal - Operations Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Just stayed the one night with my partner, great value hotel, I think the room we stayed in could do with a update, apart from that we had a great time, good breakfast for the price. Staff very friendly. Just a 15min walk into the city.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessey B, Operations Director at Cumbria Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Andy H,

Thank you for your most recent review. I'd be interest to know which room you stayed in as we are currently working through a rolling refurbishment of all our bedrooms. Fingers crossed this wasn't one of the newer ones. (I'm sure it wasn't).

The only problem with a rolling refurbishment is the time it takes. Hopefully though, all rooms will be completed within the next six months and then all of our guests can enjoy the investment our company has placed into the business.

Thank you for your positive comments on the breakfast and staff. We have recently changed the breakfast format so it's great to get some feedback on it.


Kindest Regards


Jessey Bal - Operations Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlisle hotels
1.1 mi away
Ibis Carlisle
Ibis Carlisle
#5 of 20 in Carlisle
1,403 reviews
0.8 mi away
Crown & Mitre Hotel
Crown & Mitre Hotel
#7 of 20 in Carlisle
1,014 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Carlisle
Hallmark Hotel Carlisle
#16 of 20 in Carlisle
1,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Crown Wetheral Hotel
Crown Wetheral Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wetheral
1,004 reviews
1.0 mi away
Travelodge Carlisle Central
0.9 mi away
The Halston Aparthotel
The Halston Aparthotel
#1 of 20 in Carlisle
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cumbria Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cumbria Park Hotel

Address: 32 Scotland Road, Carlisle CA3 9DG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Carlisle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Carlisle
Price Range: £40 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cumbria Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cumbria Park Hotel is a privately owned hotel and has been established for over 40 years. Located 1.5 miles from the M6 J44 and a 10 minute walk from the town centre. We have a leisure club and 6 conferences rooms. The menu is a mix of modern and traditional. A warm, friendly atmosphere awaits you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Cumbria Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlisle Best Western
Best Western Carlisle
Cumbria Park Hotel Carlisle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing