We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“my room let my otherwise good experience down. :(”
Review of Cumbria Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cumbria Park Hotel
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Carlisle
Brampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“my room let my otherwise good experience down. :(”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

I booked a double room for my partner and I as were attending a family wedding at the weekend in the hotel. The wedding was great, the food was lovely, a really well organised event by them, the staff really nice and helpful too.But the room let my experience down. Room 114, if your interested. It was small, very small, especially for a double. It was tidy, and clearly newly decorated .but The bed was pushed in a corner, so I had to climb over my partner to get into bed, but it was neatly made, and clean, so I kind of forgave that. When we arrived the window was open, I thought how conciderate to air the room for us, actually the window was broken and didnt close! Which I found out at 1am when we came back after the party, when I really didnt feel like moving rooms, and knew there was no way to solve it then and there. So we were cold. Humph. But it was ok, because in the morning the shower wasnt working properly, and could either be cold, or really really hot so I was very much warmed up after that. Oh, and for a double room, we only got one tea cup for a morning brew when we got up , which just finnished me off to be honest. :( I know it was a cheap booking, and breakfast was included, which was good- a good selection. But just a few details, which happened to accumilate in one room, really let it down. I know that other rooms were better, the bridal suite was lovely, and others said their rooms were ok too. It was just sadly my room led to an unsatisfactory experience for us. :( I did notify staff when I checked out, and she did apologise and say she would notify maintenance, but I felt let down.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hivison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessey B, Operations Director at Cumbria Park Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
hivision,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your most recent stay with us. I am really pleased that you enjoyed the wedding you were attending and that the service was of a high standard.

Regarding the room, 114, firstly i must apologise for your experience within the room. 114 is normally reserved as a double for sole occupancy due to its size. As you'll know the weekend was extremely busy with both the wedding and the porsche club in-house. This meant that all rooms needed to be utilised and the room would have been better suited to a single traveller as opposed to a couple. Regarding the reported maintenance issues, as advised by the checkout staff these are already being investigated by our maintenance team.

We take feedback, both positive and negative very seriously at the hotel. So again thank you for sharing your experience.

Kindest Regards


Jessey Bal - Operations Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    188
    231
    103
    43
    33
See reviews for
99
249
41
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

I enjoyed a comfortable stay and a good nights sleep. All the staff were helpful and sociable. The room was not the most modern, but overall I think the hotel o offers good value.

It was ideally placed for my business appointment in the town centre.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessey B, Operations Director at Cumbria Park Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
John K,

Its great to hear from you. We're really pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you soon.


Kindest Regards


Jessey Bal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Capistrano Beach, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We were so happy to find this nice hotel as we had waited to late to look for a place to stay after taking a turn off the road to see Hadrians Wall that turned out to be a lot longer than we had expected. We were welcomed in like the weary travelers that we were. Our rooms were clean and quiet, they were still serving food in the dining room and we were very happy campers. The service was very good and very friendly, the price was right, and we appreciated every bit of it! It seems like a place that people return to, as we would if we were near again and I do hope to be.
There is a lot to see in Carlisle that we didn't get to see, and it was a very good spot to head to the Lake District.

Room Tip: On leaving we found that Hadrians Wall had originally run right through the parking lot!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shallbru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessey B, Operations Director at Cumbria Park Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Shallbru,

We are really pleased you decided to stop with us. We can appreciate viewing the wall took a little longer than expected, its huge. As you say in your tip part of Hadrians wall does run through our back carpark which is a little bit special.

Regarding the welcome and service experienced we are really pleased the staff impressed and look forward to seeing you again on your travels.

Kindest Regards


Jessey Bal - Operations Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 April 2014

stopped here 4 times all ways paid through e vouchers.This time i have paid £15 more as there where only the best rooms left. My room was the first on the stairs so you could hear all the guest passing.The cheaper rooms where better. But it will not stop me for stopping again

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steve p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessey B, Operations Director at Cumbria Park Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
steve p,

Its always great to develop regulars and we are really pleased you enjoy staying with us. I shall investigate the point you raise regarding the noise generated by guests passing by.

We look forward to seeing you soon.

Kindest Regards


Jessey Bal - Operations Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Excellent hotel. Clean and comfortable.Had a very comfortable double. Plenty of hot water for shower. Food was good with generous portions. Has a night porter. Can be a bit of a rabbit warren finding you way around the rooms. Handy for town-about a 10 minute walk. Has its own carpark. They do require pre-authorisation on your debit/credit card on arrival for the cost of your room for the length of your stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenneth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessey B, Operations Director at Cumbria Park Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Kenneth M.

It's great when we get reviews from senior contributors and even better when they are positive ones. We're really pleased you enjoyed your stay. We have been running with new menu ideas for a few months now and these appear to be going down really well.

Unfortunately we do have to take a pre-authorisation due to a minority of guests but hopefully this was explained and completed professionally with the front desk team on check-in.

Kindest Regards


Jessey Bal - Operations Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

This hotel was really great, close to the centre, rooms pretty well equiped, the room service was very kind and pleasant. What I appreciated the most was the possibility to go to their gym that is really well equiped and it worths on try. The receptionist were really helpful to provide the information about the city and the public transport. I really enjoyed staying in this hotel and i can recommend to all

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eva J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessey B, Operations Director at Cumbria Park Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Eva J,

Thanks for the great review. It's fantastic you got to use the gym facilities, we have only recently opened up the gym area for guests to use after it was closed for a few years. However, going forward we are investing over £50,000 to get it up and running properly for our guests. This includes commissioning the Jacuzzi, Sauna and Steam room area. Fingers crossed this will all be completed within the next two months.

Hopefully we'll see you on your next stay in the area.

Kindest Regards


Jessey Bal - Operations Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northumberland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

we arrived on the late bank holiday weekend Aug 2013.
booked the room over the internet, arrived just past lunchtime and handed our bags in.
quite a walk from the railway station as we decided to get the train instead but there seemed to be ample parking to the rear of the building if you decided to drive here.
very friendly staff who showed us to our spacious room.
very clean, good bathroom and shower. Building had character.
we paid for a little extra for our breakfast in the morning, which was a buffet breakfast but was good value for money.
all in all, very clean, friendly and helpful staff, value for money.
definitely would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank earlybird66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessey B, Operations Director at Cumbria Park Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
ealrybird66,

Thank you for your recent review.

It was great to see you over the weekend and we are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay. It was a very busy weekend and i'm glad that our staff were able to offer the consist high level of service we strive for.

We hope to see you soon.

Kindest Regards


Jessey Bal - Operation Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlisle hotels
0.8 mi away
Crown & Mitre Hotel
Crown & Mitre Hotel
#7 of 20 in Carlisle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ibis Carlisle
Ibis Carlisle
#5 of 20 in Carlisle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,345 reviews
4.4 mi away
Crown Wetheral Hotel
Crown Wetheral Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wetheral
4.5 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Carlisle
Hallmark Hotel Carlisle
#17 of 20 in Carlisle
3.5 of 5 bubbles 992 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Halston Aparthotel
The Halston Aparthotel
#3 of 20 in Carlisle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Carlisle Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cumbria Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cumbria Park Hotel

Property: Cumbria Park Hotel
Address: 32 Scotland Road, Carlisle CA3 9DG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Carlisle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Carlisle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cumbria Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cumbria Park Hotel is a privately owned hotel and has been established for over 40 years. Located 1.5 miles from the M6 J44 and a 10 minute walk from the town centre. We have a leisure club and 6 conferences rooms. The menu is a mix of modern and traditional. A warm, friendly atmosphere awaits you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cumbria Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlisle Best Western
Best Western Carlisle
Cumbria Park Hotel Carlisle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing