We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pre authorisation policy must be losing you customers?”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Cumbria Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cumbria Park Hotel
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Carlisle
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pre authorisation policy must be losing you customers?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

We filled in the questionnaire on arrival and we selected cash but was told by reception she had to take a pre authorisation! Before we arrived i did read the reviews and noted you had taken payment from one customer twice and he spent a while getting this back. So we decided we would pay via cash as we felt this was the safer option! We advised that we wanted to pay for the stay via cash and she wasn't having any of it! We didn't end up staying as for us we didn't feel the pre authorisation was going to be cancelled when we come to book out the next day and the reception woman couldn't say that it would. If the customer is paying via cash i don't see there been a problem with funds been taken when they check in.

I'm not surprised you might have had people leave without paying! Me personally feel that you should take payment when they check in and pay for anything during there stay. As this is what we expected would happen until we read the reviews. I wouldn't recommend the hotel to anyone and spoilt our next stay away!!

Room Tip: Unsure what the rooms are like as we didn't end up staying!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank bsquire91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessey B, Operations Director at Cumbria Park Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
bsquire91,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a tripadvisor review. It is a little disappointing that although you did not reside with us your review scores reflect on our overall standings.

I can see that some frustration has been borne out of our hotels pre-authorisation policy so i thought i'd take the opportunity to address this directly:

- Pre-authorisations are mandatory for all bookings throughout our hotels.

- It is a misconception that the business takes money from a pre-authorisation. All that happens is the funds are ring-fenced to be taken (completed) on checkout.

- I appreciate you mention you had concerns due to a previous customer having been charged twice, but with all due respect as you have proved the public are entitled to write whatever they wish (within limits) on this forum and i can confirm that at this site no incident of double charging has been reported since the policy was implemented.

- The pre-authorisation is actually performed at an additional cost to the hotel and seen as an added service to the customer in which they are able to charge incidentals to their rooms.

I hope this has cleared a few misconceptions.

Kindest Regards


Jessey Bal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    227
    100
    43
    31
See reviews for
97
245
41
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stettler, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Wifi didn't work well, fan we had to use because room was too hot was filthy, the continental breakfast the offered, which we had to pay for, didn't have much to offer so we switched to a hot breakfast. It was poorly cooked. This was my worst stay in the UK.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LRendle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessey B, Operations Director at Cumbria Park Hotel, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
LRendle,

Your review displays one of the darker sides of Tripadvisor. 99% of the time we are so pleased that guests take the time to put their real experiences online to share with others. But as with all things in life there is a minority who think they can use it as a form of bullying/bribery.

As you'll know my team and i fully expected this review as you threatened to put it on repeatedly, at the top of your lungs, in the breakfast suite unless we provided you and your partner with a free breakfast. Your complaints were baseless and i am fully aware that several staff members tried their best to accommodate your needs. For instance maintenance came out to the hotel at 8:00pm to review the situation with the 'superfast' broadband and found it to be in full working order. Regarding the fan, which on review after you had vacated the room did need some light attn. You refused to let any staff into the room on the evening to access the complaint in effect stopping us from being able to do anything.

In summary as a company we draw the line when a guest becomes verbally abusive to our staff and whist it would have been easy to have offered the freebies you were after. We feel it far more valuable to demonstrate to our staff that we support them and stand behind them when guests act in such a manner.

Regards


Jessey Bal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset West, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

The room was in the roof and thankfully coolish in the 'heat wave' experienced in the week 13 to 22 May. It was clean and comfortable. We didn't pay the extra 7+ pounds for the breakfast so can't comment on the food. The hotel was centrally situated for access to the Lake District and for our journey to Scotland.
The downside was the reception staff and their attitude. I had paid in advance and they swiped my credit card for a 10 pound pre-authorisation (the only B and B to do so) and then used the pre-authorisation to charge me in full again. I had to delay my journey to Scotland trying to prove that the bill had been paid and getting a full credit. Their apology was superficial

Room Tip: Slept in the roof room so can't comment
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank gbri0023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessey B, Operations Director at Cumbria Park Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
gbri0023,

Thank you for your most recent review. I'm really pleased we were able to satisfy your requirements whilst you headed up further North.

Please accept my apologies for the attitude experienced from our reception team. It is a difficult balance when guests are not familiar with the pre-auth process and our team, on occasion, struggle to convey the process that is taking place. Many guests get concerned that when providing the authorisation money is taken from their account. This is not the case, the funds are simply ring-fenced and drawn down on checkout with the card holders authorisation (completion).

The procedure is common practise for the hotels that offer card paying facilities. Regardless however, we do try our best to explain this at the front desk and clearly on this occasion we failed. Again please accept my apologies.

Kindest Regards


Jessey Bal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

stopped here for a week with a coach company 19/to 23rd.loved every minute,breakfast/evening meal good.room good,lovely and clean in all the main areas.nice to be able to sit out in the conseratorygargen.in good walking distance to the town,castle,lovely park and river.excellant value for money.not to forget the staff very welcoming,cheerful.Just one thing its a pity its on that main road,very noisey with all the traffic make sure you book a room at the back if you want a good nights sleep otherwise 10 out of 10.

Room Tip: rooms at the back for sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ann h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessey B, Operations Director at Cumbria Park Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Ann H,

Its really good to hear from you. We do offer some great packages for groups. However, it is rare to see reviews come up on this forum from them so to hear from you regarding your most recent stay is fantastic.

I'm so pleased you enjoyed yourself and that the staff demonstrated what an asset they are to the business.

Kindest Regards


Jessey Bal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Great value hotel, staff were very friendly on arrival. The room was of a reasonable size and very clean. The bar was very comfortable and clean and the staff were all very helpful and friendly. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheilalou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessey B, Operations Director at Cumbria Park Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Shellalou,

It's fantastic to hear from you regarding your most recent stay. Not all guests take the time to post their comments online and provide feedback so when we do get some it really picks up the team.

I'm glad to hear we'll be seeing you when you are next up in our area. We look forward to greeting you soon.

Kindest Regards

Jessey Bal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Cannot fault as it met our needs. For the money we paid, the room, service and breakfast was excellent value. Would stay again on our next holiday in Scotland. Made a nice break for our trip from south to north. Good to have parking facilities too!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessey B, Operations Director at Cumbria Park Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
MandyC,

Thank you for your most recent review. It is great to hear that we were able to service your accommodation requirements and that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Situated in Carlisle (the border city) we are well suited for those who want to stop off on their journey further North.

We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip up.

Kindest Regards


Jessey Bal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Our third stay here so obviously we're happy with the hotel! Staff very helpful and friendly. Good selection at breakfast. Comfortable, clean room with a good shower! Only a 10/15 min', pleasant walk in to town.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 2ndbreakfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessey B, Operations Director at Cumbria Park Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
2nd Breakfast,

Third Stay! Excellent. Repeat business is the best kind of business. It lets us know we are doing things right at the hotel and our guests are leaving satisfied.

We look forward to welcoming you for your fourth stay.

Kindest Regards


Jessey Bal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlisle hotels
0.8 mi away
Crown & Mitre Hotel
Crown & Mitre Hotel
#7 of 20 in Carlisle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ibis Carlisle
Ibis Carlisle
#5 of 20 in Carlisle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,331 reviews
4.4 mi away
Crown Wetheral Hotel
Crown Wetheral Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wetheral
4.5 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Carlisle
Hallmark Hotel Carlisle
#16 of 20 in Carlisle
3.5 of 5 bubbles 976 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Halston Aparthotel
The Halston Aparthotel
#3 of 20 in Carlisle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Carlisle Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cumbria Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cumbria Park Hotel

Property: Cumbria Park Hotel
Address: 32 Scotland Road, Carlisle CA3 9DG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Carlisle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Carlisle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cumbria Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cumbria Park Hotel is a privately owned hotel and has been established for over 40 years. Located 1.5 miles from the M6 J44 and a 10 minute walk from the town centre. We have a leisure club and 6 conferences rooms. The menu is a mix of modern and traditional. A warm, friendly atmosphere awaits you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cumbria Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlisle Best Western
Best Western Carlisle
Cumbria Park Hotel Carlisle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing