We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Value”
Review of Cumbria Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cumbria Park Hotel
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Carlisle
Dumfries, United Kingdom
1 review
“Good Value”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Only booked on the Friday to stay for one night on the Saturday
We arrived very late but still managed to check in with night staff no problem around 1;00 am
Very Comfortable Room with balcony overlooking a walled garden
Excellent breakfast
Will stay again

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 140D_D_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessey B, Operations Director at Cumbria Park Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
140D_D_3,

It's great to have heard from you. We look forward to welcoming you at the hotel in the very near future.

Kindest Regards

Jessey Bal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    231
    103
    43
    33
See reviews for
100
249
41
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Reasonable priced room facing the carpark, but was woken by noisy patrons downstairs and in corridor. Close to city and free parking and WiFi. No lift but only one flight of stairs. Caters to large buses so ask for a room away from large groups.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back but away from restaurant. Hotel caters to large buses so ask to be away f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank chris f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessey B, Operations Director at Cumbria Park Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Chris f,

Thank you for your review. It is always great to hear from guests who have enjoyed their stay with us.

We do have a 24 hours desk and a night porter who do their best to keep some of our more excitable guests level of noise down. Please accept my apologies for any inconvenience caused.

We also do have a lift, which should have been pointed out by reception on check-in. I have asked our operations manager to review this with the team to ensure future guests are notified.

Kindest Regards


Jessey Bal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

All the hotel staff are great and very professional i made a mistake with the booking and after a conversation with the hotel manager Ms Bell she resolved the situation with the upmost speed . I look forward to staying there in the near future

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gareth E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessey B, Operations Director at Cumbria Park Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Gareth E,

It was a pleasure assisting in sorting out your situation. I hope you managed to enjoy the time you spent with family.

We look forward to seeing you at the hotel.

Kindest Regards


Jessey Bal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

Dirty rooms, horrific food, would never recommend this hotel to anyone worst night I've spent anywhere and I travel often. We paid for a superior room... Not what we were given. The food was overpriced and undercooked, staff unhelpful.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maggie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessey B, Operations Director at Cumbria Park Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Maggie D,

It's dissapionting that not only did you not pay for your room after making up fictious complaints you have now gone and left a negative review on T/A.

Very sad indeed.

Regards

Jessey Bal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Friendly welcome and generous sized room and breakfast. The breakfast room was pretty warm.
The reception staff were helpful.

The hotel was converted from a row of town houses just by the line of Hadrian's wall and has a statue of a Roman in the car park, more character than a formula budget hotel!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank RabX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessey B, Operations Director at Cumbria Park Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
RabX,

Thanks for the recent review. It was most complimentry

Kindest Regards

Jessey Bal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daylesford, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 June 2014

While room was quite nice and hotel well located, our experience was clouded by an evacuation occurring at 3 am when alarms went off. Was chaos, and total disorganisation reigned. 1 hour standing around in the car park with no communication and no one appearing to be in control.
Disappointed that on check out the next morning incident was not mentioned, and certainly NO apology from management for the significant inconvenience caused. I would have expected at least some acknowledgement of the incident.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Kel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessey B, Operations Director at Cumbria Park Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Kel T,

Thank you for your most recent review.

I am concerned about the issues you raise concerning the Fire Evacuation. According to our register the evacuation took place just after 5am and was managed well with the offsite fire Marshall attending site to assist with the evacuation. Fire management in the hotel is taken very seriously and rigorous training is provided to our team, covering all aspects including managing guests, therefore I am rather surprised by your comments. I appreciate that it is not at all convenient. However, our guest’s safety is paramount and all alarms will be dealt with thoroughly.

In the instance of this evacuation it was identified that guests in no less than x4 rooms had disabled their detectors. Clearly trying to have a crafty smoke, rather than walk outside to the smoking areas provided. Our panel identified them and sounded to ensure the safety of the guests in-house.

I am in agreement that the fire evacuation should have been acknowledged to you in the morning. I was on site and did do my best to make sure all guests checking out were apologised to.

Kindest Regards

Jessey Bal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DUMFRIESSHIRE
Level Contributor
173 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I have just read the previous review and I am going to clear things up straight away! My wife and I were the occupants of room 134 where the alarm went off at 5.20am! We got such a fright, not realising it was coming from our room until the phone rang asking if there was a problem? We have never smoked a cigarette in our life, so for the receptionist to tell people that as an excuse really disappoints me so much. We were not offered any explanation as to why the alarm went off, it seems to be a fault in the system. It needs to be addressed immediately as we had the same problem on Saturday when the alarm went off twice at 8.30am somewhere else in the building, happy days, NOT!!
Back to my review, other than what I have just mentioned, my wife and I had a mainly enjoyable stay at The Cumbria Park. The hotel is situated in the Stanwix area of Carlisle, roughly 2 miles off the M6. We usually stay in the Botchergate area using the Ibis, Travelodge or Swallow Hilltop so it was actually quite refreshing being in a quieter location. Plus, its only a brisk 15 minute walk into the main shopping area and pubs.
The hotel has been taken over by a new owner in the last year or so and you can see there is a gradual refurbishment plan in place. Our room was nicely decorated, clean but a bit dated. It could also do with a new carpet.
The bar and conservatory area is lovely and very relaxing to sit in. Food and drink is reasonably priced in my opinion. We didn't eat in the hotel but the meals being served up certainly looked good. The hotel staff we found to be very helpful and friendly.
Car parking is at the rear of the hotel. Its well marked and of a reasonable size and only leaves a short walk to the reception.
I would certainly recommend the Cumbria Park to anyone but hopefully the fire alarms will be working properly if and when we decide to visit again?

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Franmaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessey B, Operations Director at Cumbria Park Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Franmaz,

We really appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback, and also setting the previous reviewer straight. I have to agree that I am disappointed that the reception, if they did, made the comments referenced. All staff are trained not to disclose the nature of the alarm directly to guests as these matters will be investigated by management and our service engineers.

After our engineers had been to site it was identified that the detector head in room 134 had a fault and needed to be replaced within our service contract agreement.

As you say, back to your review. Your comments are very kind and we do pride ourselves on being an independently operated hotel quite unlike the other midrange/budget hotels in Carlisle. The hotel is being tastefully updated and interestingly all but 4 rooms have new carpets in, therefore 134 must be next on the 'hit list'.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.


Kindest Regards


Jessey Bal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlisle hotels
0.8 mi away
Crown & Mitre Hotel
Crown & Mitre Hotel
#7 of 20 in Carlisle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ibis Carlisle
Ibis Carlisle
#5 of 20 in Carlisle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,346 reviews
4.4 mi away
Crown Wetheral Hotel
Crown Wetheral Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wetheral
4.5 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Carlisle
Hallmark Hotel Carlisle
#17 of 20 in Carlisle
3.5 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Halston Aparthotel
The Halston Aparthotel
#3 of 20 in Carlisle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Carlisle Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cumbria Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cumbria Park Hotel

Property: Cumbria Park Hotel
Address: 32 Scotland Road, Carlisle CA3 9DG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Carlisle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Carlisle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cumbria Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cumbria Park Hotel is a privately owned hotel and has been established for over 40 years. Located 1.5 miles from the M6 J44 and a 10 minute walk from the town centre. We have a leisure club and 6 conferences rooms. The menu is a mix of modern and traditional. A warm, friendly atmosphere awaits you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cumbria Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlisle Best Western
Best Western Carlisle
Cumbria Park Hotel Carlisle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing