We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable hotel in good location”
Review of Cumbria Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cumbria Park Hotel
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Carlisle
Certificate of Excellence
Belair, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
“Comfortable hotel in good location”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Cumbria park is a very pleasant hotel with good parking provided. Entry to the hotel from the car park is via a small inviting area into a very nice interior. Food in the restaurant including breakfast was of a good standard in pleasant surroundings. Room was interesting and comfortable - good sleeping. Easy twenty minute walk to the city centre although the walk back was uphill. Overall we were happy with Cumbria Park and have rebooked it for our return from Scotland.

Room Tip: Get one near to a lift. Our only gripe was we had to pull our cases up steep stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kevie2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessey B, Operations Director at Cumbria Park Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Kevie2014,

Thank you for your really positive review. I’m really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. As part of our check-in procedure assistance with baggage should be offered. So hopefully on your next stay we can make amends.

Kindest Regards

Jessey Bal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    236
    103
    44
    33
See reviews for
100
252
43
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stourbridge
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Stopped one night on way to Scotland. The staff including the bar restaurant staff were helpful and friendly. The room we were given was spacious and comfortable. the only negative was having to trek back to reception to ask for more tea making consumables as they did not appear to have been replenished from the previous guests.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sidestr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessey B, Operations Director at Cumbria Park Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
sidestr,

Thank you for your most recent review. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay.

Regarding the T&C's please accept my sincere apologies. I have passed this feedback to the Housekeeping manager who will react accordingly.

Kindest Regards


Jessey Bal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Lovely hotel,clean rooms we had an amazing brass bed. friendly reception staff even though the poor lass that had been on when we arrived the previous night was on again in the morning, and friendly, helpful bar staff, had a great meal in the bar too , would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Teresa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessey B, Operations Director at Cumbria Park Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Teresa D,

Thank you for the great feedback. I am really pleased you enjoyed one of our bespoke beds. As part of Best Western, who we hope to join within the next month or so, we require 5% of our beds to be 'bigger' than a standard double. We are proud to have at least 15% of our rooms reach this requirement.

Your comments concerning the staff and the food are also well received. It is really encouraging for all of the team to know that we are achieving our guest satisfaction targets.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kindest Regards


Jessey Bal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Stayed a single night on a Friday. Fifteen minutes walk from the railway station. Very pleasant greeting on arrival. Nice spacious clean and tidy room. Handy location. Only got good things to say about the Cumbria Park Hotel. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessey B, Operations Director at Cumbria Park Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Jon S,

Thank you for your positive comments. It is great to hear that you had an enjoyable stay.

We look forward to greeting you on your next visit to Carlisle.

Kindest Regards


Jessey Bal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Stayed here for 1 night on our travel up to Edinburgh. The room was really tiny and we could barely move around the room- there was only two of us. Booked the room on the basis that it had a flat screen TV yet it was a very small old fashioned box TV. The brd was extremely uncomfortable and had a terrible nights sleep, which was not very good as we had spent a lot of time travelling. The shower was horrendous, and did not work properly - the temperature was either scolding or freezing. When the shower got to the scolding temperature, it sent the smoke alarm off which meant that a member of staff had to come into our room when we was only in a towel!! Would not class the room as being clean either. Would not recommend this hotel to anybody and would definitely not return. Stayed in much better hotels for the money.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chloe1234567892012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessey B, Operations Director at Cumbria Park Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Chloe123456789...,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on this platform. It is transparent that you did not enjoy your stay with us and this is most disappointing. We endeavor to make every guest experience a positive one and it is clear we have fallen short of the mark.

We DO have flat screens in all of our rooms so i am unsure why a small old-fashioned box set was mentioned. I will investigate accordingly but this should not be the case. It is unfortunate that Trip Advisor does not allow you to note the room you stayed in as this makes it difficult for us to follow up comments and reviewing the comments log held at reception nothing has been mentioned recently which identifies your issues.

I do hope you'll give us another chance in the future.

Kindest Regards


Jessey Bal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Stewart, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Stayed one night and wished we had booked for more.The hotel was so clean and tastefully decorated, quite victorian I suppose.The staff were all so helpful, the food was excellent, our room was easy to get to, on the ground floor and was spotlessly clean. We spent a very quiet,peaceful night after having had a long day travelling. We will certainly come back and will recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet night, Room 7 is the one.!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
Thank Norma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessey B, Operations Director at Cumbria Park Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Norma M,

Thank you for your really positive review. It's great to hear that we are doing well and our customers are satisfied with the service we offer. We have just appointed a new head chef so to hear that the food was excellent is really encouraging.

We look forward to seeing you soon.

Kindest Regards

Jessey Bal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

The rooms are very dated, i believe there is a refurbishment taking place so this might make a difference, communal areas such as bar and restaurant are clean, the shower in my room was poor to say the least, however the bath was more than acceptable, room was very warm at night, no fan provided in room, mattress was mounted on MDF board, the vast majority of the staff are warm and welcoming, one male member of staff was grumpy and ignored my comments on the poor food, oh yes the food, I went into the restaurant around 20:00, was immediately told you cant order yet as we have a coach party, it will be around 15 minutes. no real issue, the waitress was very polite and apologetic, a short wait and my order of sirloin steak was taken, ordered medium rare and what i got was pan fried boot leather, cremated within an inch of its life, Very very very well done... you get the picture, fearing another wait i chewed my way through the steak and fat laden chips / onion rings, when the gent came to take my plate away he asked how my food was, so i told him, he shrugged his shoulders and walked off, wouldn't mind if the steak was a tenner, but at £17.95 you should get what you ask for.
I had a relatively good nights sleep, breakfast was OK, and only just OK, check out was a breeze, parking plentiful. was on a course for 2 days, lunch was dreadful, poached salmon salad was the worst, rotten salad leaves. But, for £50.00 a night including breakfast I suppose you get what you pay for, personally i will be heading to the premier inn from now on.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Calan-uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessey B, Operations Director at Cumbria Park Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Calan-uk,

Thank you for your most recent review.

Your feedback is most appreciated.

Kindest regards

Jessey Bal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlisle hotels
1.1 mi away
Ibis Carlisle
Ibis Carlisle
#5 of 20 in Carlisle
1,375 reviews
0.8 mi away
Crown & Mitre Hotel
Crown & Mitre Hotel
#7 of 20 in Carlisle
971 reviews
4.4 mi away
Crown Wetheral Hotel
Crown Wetheral Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wetheral
979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Carlisle
Hallmark Hotel Carlisle
#17 of 20 in Carlisle
1,013 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Halston Aparthotel
The Halston Aparthotel
#3 of 20 in Carlisle
223 reviews
1.0 mi away
Travelodge Carlisle Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cumbria Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cumbria Park Hotel

Property: Cumbria Park Hotel
Address: 32 Scotland Road, Carlisle CA3 9DG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Carlisle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Carlisle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cumbria Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cumbria Park Hotel is a privately owned hotel and has been established for over 40 years. Located 1.5 miles from the M6 J44 and a 10 minute walk from the town centre. We have a leisure club and 6 conferences rooms. The menu is a mix of modern and traditional. A warm, friendly atmosphere awaits you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Cumbria Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlisle Best Western
Best Western Carlisle
Cumbria Park Hotel Carlisle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing