We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cumbria Park Hotel
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Carlisle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Nicd hotel. About 20 min walk from town centre. Rooms clean and comfortable but layout made them a but dark. Very hot so windows had to be left open, traffic noisy. Ask for a back room. Ideal location for exploring town. Food excellent. Would
use again. One downside, wifi connection very poor.

Room Tip: Request a room at the back. On a main road. Traffic noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (659)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

446 - 452 of 659 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2014

The hotel is well located with the room we stayed in very nice, clean and quiet. Our only issues were with the lack of staff on the Saturday afternoon which meant guests had trouble checking in and we struggled to get a drink at the bar before leaving the hotel for our evening.

Also we were somewhat surprised to find the bar closed at 11.15pm when we returned from our evening out. We can however recommend the pub opposite which was very nice!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ricster666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

I have used this hotel several times as A stopover for work. The staff there are always very helpful and friendly even when I arrive late at night. Nothing is too much trouble. Clean rooms and nice bathrooms.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Helen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We have stayed in a few places in carlisle and have always found the Cumbria Park staff helpful and happy. The rooms are always clean and comfortable. The area has a few shops and food outlets close by if you don't want to eat in the hotel. The distance from the town centre is minimal.we would recomend the hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flitwick2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We chose this hotel after using "google hotel finder" which advertised a free breakfast , making this look an excellent price but the confirmation email from booking.com quoted an extra £7.50 per head for breakfast. I don't know who's responsible for this error but travellers should note that breakfast isn't included unless you specifically pay extra for it (which we eventually did). Pricing aside it was a good, an all you can eat buffet comprising toast, cereals and full English.

The hotel is well located just outside of the centre an ample free car park behind the hotel. The receptionist gave us helpful directions for walking into Carlisle centre which is around 20-30 minutes walk, easy to find.

The room was of adequate size and appearance for a hotel in this price range including a flat screen tv and a reasonable over bath shower.

The bed wasn't very comfortable and we didn't sleep well having stayed on a very hot day : the hotel doesn't have air-con and the window only tilted open a fraction (it was supposed to also open sideways but was stuck) and the upright fan provided didn't seem to emit any cool air, thought we didn't persist with it as it was very noisy. Perhaps not the best stay on the hottest of days but would have been adequate otherwise.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darren K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Enjoyed a lovely stay here at very reasonable price. The hotel is within walking distance of Carlisle town centre - a pleasant walk passing park, river and castle. Our room was a good size, very clean and comfortable. Staff were friendly and helpful. Although we did not eat at the hotel, prices looked reasonable, and there was a nice outside area where we could sit and relax to enjoy the recent good weather. We only stayed one night as we were just passing through Carlisle, but we will certainly consider a return visit for a bit longer next time.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Pauline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Stayed here before, it's meant to be improving. Stayed there as a necessity to attend a funeral. it was cheap i.e. £103 for two people for two nights. Good points were the room and bathroom were clean as was the bedding. the room was 1980s basic, the only update was a new carpet. would i like breakfast at £7.50? Don't think so, last time we were there heard screaming from the kitchen and was told "oh, the chef's burned themselves" then no further cooked food. In fairness, if you need a clean bed on the way to somewhere it would do, but don't except anything else.

Room Tip: One on the back: he road on the front is busy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Warren N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlisle hotels
1 mi away
Ibis Carlisle
Ibis Carlisle
#5 of 20 in Carlisle
1,435 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crown & Mitre Hotel
Crown & Mitre Hotel
#7 of 20 in Carlisle
1,053 reviews
1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Carlisle
Hallmark Hotel Carlisle
#16 of 20 in Carlisle
1,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Carlisle Central
4.4 mi away
Crown Wetheral Hotel
Crown Wetheral Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wetheral
1,034 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Halston Aparthotel
The Halston Aparthotel
#1 of 20 in Carlisle
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cumbria Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cumbria Park Hotel

Address: 32 Scotland Road, Carlisle CA3 9DG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Carlisle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Carlisle
Price Range: £34 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cumbria Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cumbria Park Hotel is a privately owned hotel and has been established for over 40 years. Located 1.5 miles from the M6 J44 and a 10 minute walk from the town centre. We have a leisure club and 6 conferences rooms. The menu is a mix of modern and traditional. A warm, friendly atmosphere awaits you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Cumbria Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlisle Best Western
Best Western Carlisle
Cumbria Park Hotel Carlisle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing