We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't waste your money or time”
Review of Cumbria Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cumbria Park Hotel
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Carlisle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Room was not clean. Holes in the towels or towels not clean, tried 3 different times. Our room had a balcony, but the opening to the balcony was filthy, and I asked for it to be cleaned up 2 times, both times ignored. Bathroom shower curtain had bugs in it, and they fell to floor when I went to take a shower. The wood floor in the bathroom was filthy and had not been washed for a long time. The adjustable shower height kept sliding down. One wall had a dead insect hanging from web-like dust for 2 days. I spoke with 2 night managers, and most issues were not resolved. I asked the night charge person to talk to the manager on my behalf, requesting an adjustment to the bill since my experience was so bad. The manager did not make any effort to contact me. The hall carpets are stained and dirty, the stair banister was sticky, and the door to my room had 2 different levels to step up into my room. The fire alarm went off in the middle of the night, everyone exited and waited for the fire department to come and see what the problem was. When the fire department left, no one from the staff came outside to say it was now safe to return. It was the fire men who said we could re-enter. There was no mention of this in the morning, as if it had never happened. It is hard to believe after this experience that this hotel was highly rated. I would urge you not to stay there.

Room Tip: I would definitely AVOID room 101
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Martha Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (654)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

436 - 442 of 654 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2014

Stayed in better for less money! One member of staff wasn't as friendly as you would expect from a hotel. Only interacted with two members of staff. Rooms are basic; which is fine. But not at the price we paid!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JSKay93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Nice hotel and great friendly staff. Hotel had a lot of doorways making it confusing when you first get there how to get in and out of your room. Good food, nice room but a bit small but was very clean. Biggest problem was the bed, very uncomfortable and rattlley as it was a old brass bed with all the rattles on it which was very noisy and rattley. Our friends travelling with us also had a fancy bed which was very hard and uncomfortable

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Graeme W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We have stopped over at this hotel on three occasions when driving from Essex to Aberdeen.
We have found it to be value for money as it is nice & clean and the breakfast is first class.

However , on our last visit when we entered the room it was very warm & uncomfortable as no windows were left open on a hot summer's day. We opened the windows and went for a 15min walk into town , the hotel is located in a quiet suburb.

When we returned with the windows still open the room temperature was in order , however ,
outside our room ( 102 ) there is an outdoor water feature which normally switches off overnight but on this visit was left on all night , which was rather disturbing in achieving a good night's sleep.

Room Tip: Ensure that you inform reception if close to the exterior water feature
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank cliff b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Good value for money. Clean & tidy throughout although a bit dated. Food good large portions but would pass on the breakfast next time. Staff friendly and helpful. Only 10 min walk to town, castle and parks lots of local history and only a short drive to Gretna Green. Would stay again if in the area good base.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Moya N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Nicd hotel. About 20 min walk from town centre. Rooms clean and comfortable but layout made them a but dark. Very hot so windows had to be left open, traffic noisy. Ask for a back room. Ideal location for exploring town. Food excellent. Would
use again. One downside, wifi connection very poor.

Room Tip: Request a room at the back. On a main road. Traffic noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

The hotel is well located with the room we stayed in very nice, clean and quiet. Our only issues were with the lack of staff on the Saturday afternoon which meant guests had trouble checking in and we struggled to get a drink at the bar before leaving the hotel for our evening.

Also we were somewhat surprised to find the bar closed at 11.15pm when we returned from our evening out. We can however recommend the pub opposite which was very nice!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ricster666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlisle hotels
1.0 mi away
Ibis Carlisle
Ibis Carlisle
#5 of 20 in Carlisle
1,428 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crown & Mitre Hotel
Crown & Mitre Hotel
#7 of 20 in Carlisle
1,045 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Carlisle
Hallmark Hotel Carlisle
#16 of 20 in Carlisle
1,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Carlisle Central
4.4 mi away
Crown Wetheral Hotel
Crown Wetheral Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wetheral
1,024 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Halston Aparthotel
The Halston Aparthotel
#1 of 20 in Carlisle
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cumbria Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cumbria Park Hotel

Address: 32 Scotland Road, Carlisle CA3 9DG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Carlisle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Carlisle
Price Range: £36 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cumbria Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cumbria Park Hotel is a privately owned hotel and has been established for over 40 years. Located 1.5 miles from the M6 J44 and a 10 minute walk from the town centre. We have a leisure club and 6 conferences rooms. The menu is a mix of modern and traditional. A warm, friendly atmosphere awaits you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Ebookers, HotelsClick, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Cumbria Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlisle Best Western
Best Western Carlisle
Cumbria Park Hotel Carlisle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing