We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for exploring”
Review of Cumbria Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cumbria Park Hotel
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Carlisle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Hotel was in a great location. We were coming down from Scotland having been to the Commonwealth Games. Staff were lovely and very accommodating going out of their way to help. It was a good base for visiting Carlisle, Hadrians Wall and the Lake District. A great Indian restaurant within walking distance....give it a try.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Willow247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (648)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

424 - 430 of 648 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

Stayed here as a base to visit the Commonwealth Games in Glasgow. Ideally situated near to the motorway with large car park. Easy walk to the station both days to travel to Glasgow. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Room was great, nice and clean and breakfast very good. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Had a quiet room on the side so away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Pat E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Rooms were dark and stuffy with old dark furniture. There were no bedside lamps which meant you had to switch off the light at the door and feel your way back to the bed. The built in hair drier wasn't working. There were no black out linings in the curtains making it very bright. The room smelled of cigarettes. The shower was very weak and took ages to turn on. The bed linen was mis-matched - green sheets with yellow and white pillow cases. All in all I didn't think it was good value for money. The breakfast was finished for nine and there wasn't a huge amount of choice. Cost us £153 for one night but wd have been much happier to pay that money somewhere else!!!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Catmain67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Expected quite good room from the pictures on the site. We also upgraded to an executive room which was like something from medieval times. Bathroom smelt really foisty and the shower was rubbish (no power) they also wanted to take an £89 payment our credit/debit card (pre-authorisation payment apparently) which I've never had to do before and I didn't see the point seen as I had the cash in my hand and they had my card details anyway from the site :s breakfast was abismal, they offer a full English cooked to your perfection, what you actually get is bits of it pre cooked then left in warmers like a buffet and it's all really cheap produce. Which wasn't worth the £15 extra we paid. All in all, an absolute shocker. In need of the hotel inspector to come sort it out, that or demolishing

Room Tip: Don't bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
4  Thank JoeThwaite86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Spent short break her during touring holiday. Good value for money, well situated for exploring Northern lake district. Room spotlessly clean, although not the most spacious, but everything we needed was there. We had dinner one evening, good varied menu which was enjoyable.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ulster9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This hotel has some excellent positives. We commend the quality of the food, especially the fact that they use local meat - superb ribeye steak, and not stinted. Similarly, breakfast excellent. The other big plus points: this hotel is ideally placed for the M6/M74 north or south. and has a good sized car park with easy access, behind the hotel. The staff were welcoming and relaxed, especially as for one night we were not returning until the early hours. Some parts of the hotel are a little dated - public room furnishings are rather dark, and the bedrooms/bathrooms are a little sparse. For a short stay, we would have no problem returning, and would recommend it.

Room Tip: Go for a room upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ja5al1n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Room was not clean. Holes in the towels or towels not clean, tried 3 different times. Our room had a balcony, but the opening to the balcony was filthy, and I asked for it to be cleaned up 2 times, both times ignored. Bathroom shower curtain had bugs in it, and they fell to floor when I went to take a shower. The wood floor in the bathroom was filthy and had not been washed for a long time. The adjustable shower height kept sliding down. One wall had a dead insect hanging from web-like dust for 2 days. I spoke with 2 night managers, and most issues were not resolved. I asked the night charge person to talk to the manager on my behalf, requesting an adjustment to the bill since my experience was so bad. The manager did not make any effort to contact me. The hall carpets are stained and dirty, the stair banister was sticky, and the door to my room had 2 different levels to step up into my room. The fire alarm went off in the middle of the night, everyone exited and waited for the fire department to come and see what the problem was. When the fire department left, no one from the staff came outside to say it was now safe to return. It was the fire men who said we could re-enter. There was no mention of this in the morning, as if it had never happened. It is hard to believe after this experience that this hotel was highly rated. I would urge you not to stay there.

Room Tip: I would definitely AVOID room 101
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Martha Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlisle hotels
1.0 mi away
Ibis Carlisle
Ibis Carlisle
#5 of 20 in Carlisle
1,417 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crown & Mitre Hotel
Crown & Mitre Hotel
#7 of 20 in Carlisle
1,031 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Carlisle
Hallmark Hotel Carlisle
#16 of 20 in Carlisle
1,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Carlisle Central
4.4 mi away
Crown Wetheral Hotel
Crown Wetheral Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wetheral
1,014 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Halston Aparthotel
The Halston Aparthotel
#1 of 20 in Carlisle
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cumbria Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cumbria Park Hotel

Address: 32 Scotland Road, Carlisle CA3 9DG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Carlisle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Carlisle
Price Range: £35 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cumbria Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cumbria Park Hotel is a privately owned hotel and has been established for over 40 years. Located 1.5 miles from the M6 J44 and a 10 minute walk from the town centre. We have a leisure club and 6 conferences rooms. The menu is a mix of modern and traditional. A warm, friendly atmosphere awaits you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Cumbria Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlisle Best Western
Best Western Carlisle
Cumbria Park Hotel Carlisle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing