We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family break/wedding reception”
Review of Cumbria Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cumbria Park Hotel
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Carlisle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2014

As warm and friendly a welcome as we've experienced at any hotel, big or small - and we've stayed at some of the major 5-star marquee hotels in Europe. Nothing was too much trouble for them. RM, Bucks

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank RMcL M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (654)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

425 - 431 of 654 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2014

Nobody told us about the lift, nobody asked if we needed help with the bags, no directions given to the room. We ate at the hotel bar - lamb described as pink arrived brown and rare steak arrived well done. I sent the steak back and was basically called a liar. They then interrupted our meal muttering something about signing the bill and looking for payment after telling us we could charge it to room which we were doing!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ksr86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Hotel is on main road leading north out of city. Car park is at rear of hotel. The hotel is a converted terrace of houses and as such our room was up a couple of short staircases. A large clean comfortable room with plenty of storage spaces for a longer stay (we were only staying one night). Friendly, courteous staff both at reception and in the restaurant where we had a good evening meal. We didn't have breakfast in the hotel as leaving early. A downhill walk and across the river led us to the Castle and the City Centre. Would stay again if revisiting the City

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lightningflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

We really enjoyed are stay here. Very comfortable room and nice and quiet. Nice to stay in a hotel where the rooms have a bit of character. Receptionist was very nice and welcoming. I was a little dissapointed with the breakfast compared to other hotels - not much variety but was still ok at £7.50. Parking was free. Overal i would definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank leeedz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessey B, Operations Director at Cumbria Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

leeedz,

I am really pleased you enjoyed your recent stay with us. It is great to hear that our staff welcomed you warmly and that you would recommend us to family and friends.

Regarding the breakfast. We do try to offer value for money providing both a full compliment of continental items as well as a full English breakfast. In light of your comments however, I have asked our Head Chef to review the way in which breakfast items are presented and access our level of content.

We look forward to seeing you soon.

Kindest Regards


Jessey Bal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

2 nights at this hotel. There are no rooms in this hotel that fully cater for the disabled. There are no bathrooms with a walk in shower - just showers over the bath which was very awkward for my partially disabled husband. The hotel was not our choice - just another on our Shearings Coach Tour & to be fair, the company had forewarned us so we were able to make do with what was provided. The room was dark & quite small & despite being on the ground floor & facing the road we needed the window open to cool it down (room 3). The hotel is a row of cottages knocked into one & others in our group said that it was confusing on the upper levels with all the various stairs & corridors that have been kept from the original layouts. There is a function room which was in use on both nights of our stay & through which we had to pass to gain access to our room - rather embarrassing. The food was ok but the staff insisted on waiting till all our group (30 of us!) had finished each course before moving on to serving the next course - table by table would have been far quicker. I personally was glad to be moving on after the 2 nights.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SunLady270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Hotel was in a great location. We were coming down from Scotland having been to the Commonwealth Games. Staff were lovely and very accommodating going out of their way to help. It was a good base for visiting Carlisle, Hadrians Wall and the Lake District. A great Indian restaurant within walking distance....give it a try.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Willow247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Stayed here as a base to visit the Commonwealth Games in Glasgow. Ideally situated near to the motorway with large car park. Easy walk to the station both days to travel to Glasgow. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Room was great, nice and clean and breakfast very good. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Had a quiet room on the side so away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Pat E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlisle hotels
1.0 mi away
Ibis Carlisle
Ibis Carlisle
#5 of 20 in Carlisle
1,428 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crown & Mitre Hotel
Crown & Mitre Hotel
#7 of 20 in Carlisle
1,044 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Carlisle
Hallmark Hotel Carlisle
#17 of 20 in Carlisle
1,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Carlisle Central
4.4 mi away
Crown Wetheral Hotel
Crown Wetheral Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wetheral
1,023 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Halston Aparthotel
The Halston Aparthotel
#1 of 20 in Carlisle
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cumbria Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cumbria Park Hotel

Address: 32 Scotland Road, Carlisle CA3 9DG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Carlisle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Carlisle
Price Range: £36 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cumbria Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cumbria Park Hotel is a privately owned hotel and has been established for over 40 years. Located 1.5 miles from the M6 J44 and a 10 minute walk from the town centre. We have a leisure club and 6 conferences rooms. The menu is a mix of modern and traditional. A warm, friendly atmosphere awaits you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, HotelsClick, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Cumbria Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlisle Best Western
Best Western Carlisle
Cumbria Park Hotel Carlisle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing