We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in town”

The Thin White Duke
Ranked #6 of 349 Restaurants in Carlisle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$15
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Carlisle
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best in town”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I have had many lunches in The Thin a White Duke and tasted a lot of the menu. The chips are to die for, crisp, thick but not greasy so you can eat fish and chips at lunch and not feel uncomfortably full. Everything I've tasted has been delicious. Today I had the quiche, wow, beautiful, so light and fluffy with melt in the mouth pastry, it has to be the best quiche I've ever tasted. Whatever you fancy to drink is available. The staff are young and lovely, the surroundings classy with lovely quality oak finishes and brick walls. The toilets are in a large beautifully decorated room and clean. This place is the real deal. Thank goodness Carlisle has a place like this!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Flyingisnotright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    324
    183
    60
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The service was terrible!!”
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

We ate here on the 16.07.2014 after my graduation and the place had been recommended so we went! I must state now that the food was excellent and could not be faulted! So well done to the chefs! However the service was possibly the worst I've ever experienced!! Unfortunately I didn't take names but the blonde girl that dealt with us seamed so uninterested in her job and made us feel unwelcome! I probably wouldn't eat here again because the service is a Huge part of the experience and if the staff are going to make you feel like your not welcome then I probably wouldn't go back! Again I thank you for the food because that was delicious!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Pinkappl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Ate here a couple of days ago and disappointed would not cover it. Firstly we arrived without making a reservation and once the staff heard that we hadn't, they were rude with us from minute one, especially the tall lady with blonde hair who really didn't seem to care about her job or about us as customers. The food we received was overall 'ok' although the steak seemed to be enjoyable by some of our party. Overall it was disappointing as we had heard good reviews about this place but realistically the staff let us down.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chazzyb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“not too bad”
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

I ate here recently I enjoyed the burger and the fact that it was cooked medium quite impressed me. the chips were not good very undercooked and the menu is very limited and quite pricey but the service was faultless

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good cocktails great food”
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Lovely bar with bare brick walls and funky decor. Cocktails are sooo good and well made (for those who prefer real cocktails not cheap spirits topped with fruit juices) Food is excellent and a good variety for all appetities and tastes. Will definatley return and would reccomend to anyone :)

Helpful?
Thank Janetsp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Thin White Duke also viewed

 

Been to The Thin White Duke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing