We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Recommended and not disappointed.........” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rafiks - CLOSED

Rafiks
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Eastern European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Originally openend in 1976 by Rafique Uddin and Cumbria's very first Indian restaurant, has now been reopened 35 years later by his sons Shaha and Koish. For true flavours from the Indian Sub-Continent come visit RAFIKS.
Douglas, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Recommended and not disappointed.........”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

My husband and I arrived at our hotel. After checking in we asked where we could go dine. Immediately, the young lady on reception asked if we liked Indian food and suggested Rafiks. We had a selection starter to share and then had chicken bhuna with chapattis and chicken korma with keen a naan.
Absolutely delicious. It was faultless. The only downside was that it was quiet but we didn't mind. Would highly recommend to anyone and hope to visit again

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    39
    11
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Outstanding & unique”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

I've eaten in many Indian restaurants and Rafiks is by far the best. The menu isn't the usual unimaginative offerings. The staff are friendly and helpful and the food is exceptional. We went as a party of 6, a mixture of veggies and meat eaters, everyone was highly impressed!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Muftyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“superb once again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Another great meal , subtle flavours, smart presentation, knowledgeable and friendly staff..
Had the monkfish main which was cooked perfectly with a hint of chilling but not overpowering
The reccomendation of lemon rice and roshiti ( a kind of spicy warm salsa) was just perfect.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Barry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blyth
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Carlisle curry”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

On a golfing trip we decided to try here. Food was very nice, pleasant, friendly service.7of us had starters and main course with two pints of lager each.all of the food was very nice, small portions and my prawn tikka starter was cold.thought the drinks were expensive, however we all enjoyed the meal and said we would go back.plus we left a good tip

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank miltBlyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“good and fast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

After a staff meeting we all went here we got a deal on starters and mains a sort of banqueting thing. It is also good for parties so you hsvr to try rafiks

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rafiks also viewed

 
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing