We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Refreshing”
Review of Skinny Gorilla - CLOSED

Skinny Gorilla
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
1 review
“Refreshing”
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Great service and friendly staff. Situated between the main shopping area and the historic city walls, Skinny Gorilla is a great place to relax and enjoy good food and a refreshing cold beer. If you are visiting Carlisle check this place out.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank RichardCarlisle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    6
    5
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“sorry”
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Been here the last 2 Saturdays as it was sunny and wanted to sit outside the sandwiches were lovely and fresh the scone was rather heavy and dry but what let it down customer service very slow we waited over 15 min just to order and took a long time for our drinks to come one of the girls was very nice but seemed to have problems with the coffee machine the other girl really was rude so for the food 8 out 10 and service 3 out 10 sorry guys

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GILLGREENALL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Tap Your Foot & Tapas”
Reviewed 26 June 2013

This is a great little Resto/Bar tucked away near St Cuthberts Church - it's literally a stones throw from the Old Townhall (Greenmarket) and exudes an air of the 'continental'. The owner/Chef is committed to bringing his diners high quality mediterranean dishes and entertaining them (mainly at weekends) with live local music acts. This is a great little place to chillax with a long cool beer, or a warm glass of red. I've read comments regarding service and can add that yes ... we also suffered a very long wait for our food - until the waitress (probably the same one as reported) disappeared (ill ..apparently?). The remaining staff pulled the evening around and provided us with smooth and very courteous service with nothing being too much trouble. The musical entertainment was top-notch and we had a great night! (Footnote: we went back in a few weeks later and the offending waitress had departed - for greener fields presumably) ;-)

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NorthofTheWall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Waited over an hour for food then got treated really badly.”
Reviewed 18 June 2013

My friend suggested that we go to skinny gorilla for lunch because she liked it. Went to SG on sat, waited 1h15 for food and were treated badly by one of the staff members very disappointed. We were very polite to the girl and just asked if we could have a bit of money knocked off the bill because we had waited an hour and half for food and that other tables had been served their food before us even though we had been in there a good 15 mins before them. She had an awful attitude with us and it really spoiled our experience; could do with learning a little bit about how to talk to people never mind customer service. The food was nice but how we were treated spoiled it for us.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JenniferRCocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Lovely place!!”
Reviewed 15 June 2013 via mobile

Visited skinny gorilla on many occasions, mainly lunch times. Staff are brilliant, and very professional with the way things are done..the food and drinks are of a very high standard, with lots to choose from..live music on the weekends is also very good with a great atmosphere..ive always had a exceptionally good night in skinny gorilla on these occasions! Well worth a visit to those who havent experienced it yet..keep up the good work, will hope too see you again very soon...:).

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Skinny Gorilla also viewed

 
Warwick-on-Eden, Carlisle
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing