We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“another good night sleep”
Review of Ibis Carlisle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ibis Carlisle
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Carlisle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Ulverston, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“another good night sleep”
Reviewed 3 June 2011

Ibis Carlisle staff are very wecoming and accomodating nothing is too much for them.The rooms are always clean and the beds very comfortable.We stay here at least twice a month
the only thing to remember is to get your parking permit straightaway as there is a bingo hall sharing car park at rear of hotel.The Ibis is situated in a main street but you hardly notice traffic it is very close to shops dining.pubs cinema etc

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolian55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Ibis Carlisle, responded to this review, 28 June 2011
Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Kind regards Derek Savage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,375 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    434
    609
    205
    70
    57
See reviews for
202
587
131
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Runcorn
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2011

Basin hotel, clean. Great for stag and hen nights but if you want to get a good nights sleep or any sleep at all dont stay here. We had room 101 right next to the stairs. People were running up and down all night and screaming and shouting. You could hear the music from the clubs until 5am. To make things even worse someone decided to ring are room at 4am. I didn't get to the phone in time to answer it but phoned reception in case it was them seems as the bike was parked outside the back door. We was not impressed one bit with this hotel and would not of booked it if we had known this was on the main strip for pubs and clubs and the road outside the hotel is closed all night just so the drunks dont get run over. Take ear plugs and your own pillows unless you like pillows like rocks.

Room Tip: Dont stay in the rooms 101, 102 or 103
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneRuncorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Ibis Carlisle, responded to this review, 7 June 2011
I am very sorry to hear what happened during your stay, we are addressing your comments. We do have quieter rooms at the back of the hotel, if you were to stay in the future you could request one of these. Kind regards Derek Savage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silverstone, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2011

We were looking for a pet friendly hotel and these guys are ideal. They didn't charge us for the 2 dogs and there is free car parking at rear of the hotel.
The hotel backs onto the bingo and pole dancing clubs.
With the hotel being in the centre it seems to be regularly used by say stag night groups so ww found the place noisey both inside and outside.
There's loads of places to eat and drink near to the hotel.
On the downside, we thought the hotel needs a darned good clean. There were liquid stains in the room carpet as well as the stairs carpets. If u look at the edges of the carpet, it also needs a darned good clean, both in the room and the rest if the hotel.
The room is ok, bathroom is a module style but functional. The bedding really needs new matresses and pillows not impressed by either and we were seriously looking at moving to another hotel.
The matress was the type where you can feel the mattress springs through it and the pillows have def seen better days.
But saying that, the staff are excellent and very friendly. Thx.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobz42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Ibis Carlisle, responded to this review, 7 June 2011
Thank you for posting a review. We are addressing your comments you noted. I hope you will continue to stay with us in the future. Kind regards Derek Savage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2011

Stayed here with work and was pleased with the room, location and service. My room as on the road but the double glazng avoided any noise from the local bars and clubs. Breakfast was fine although I didn't risk the cooked food as it didn't look great. The decor and furnishings are a bit sparce but this was standard to an Ibis and it as very clean.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juice82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Ibis Carlisle, responded to this review, 7 June 2011
We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Kind regards Derek Savage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 May 2011

Budget hotel that would benefit from a little updating but very clean and excellent value for money. Only offers continental breakfast but food is good and there are plenty of places nearby should you wish to eat out.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ianell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Ibis Carlisle, responded to this review, 7 June 2011
Thank you for posting a review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Kind regards Derek Savage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, Somerset
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2011

My partner and I based ourselves here when we came up to the lakes over the easter weekend.
Staff were welcoming and helpful,
Room was a nice size, clean, tidy and airy
walk in shower was a nice surprise
Car parking at the back was sometimes a little crowded meaning a slight walk - but when its free you cant moan
the mattress on the bed was great - just wish i'd looked what make it was so i can get one for home!
We will definitely use this place again when we come back up to the lakes

Room Tip: dont pay for parking go in and get your permit
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simondenman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Ibis Carlisle, responded to this review, 7 June 2011
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay. Kind regards Derek Savage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlisle hotels
0.4 mi away
Crown & Mitre Hotel
Crown & Mitre Hotel
#7 of 20 in Carlisle
971 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cumbria Park Hotel
Cumbria Park Hotel
#8 of 20 in Carlisle
612 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Carlisle
Hallmark Hotel Carlisle
#17 of 20 in Carlisle
1,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Halston Aparthotel
The Halston Aparthotel
#3 of 20 in Carlisle
223 reviews
3.9 mi away
Crown Wetheral Hotel
Crown Wetheral Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wetheral
979 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Carlisle Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Carlisle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Carlisle

Property: Ibis Carlisle
Address: Portlands | Botchergate, Carlisle CA1 1RP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Carlisle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Carlisle
#2 Best Value Hotel in Carlisle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Carlisle 2*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Carlisle hotel is located in the centre of the city, 200 m from the main railway station and not far from Lanes Shopping Centre. Carlisle Cathedral and the Castle are just a few minutes walk from the hotel. Book one of our 102 air cooling rooms and benefit from use of our hotel amenities, including chargeable outdoor parking, a bar serving light meals and snacks 24 hours 7 days as well as wireless Internet access to cater for business guests. Europcar rental services are available at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ibis Carlisle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Carlisle Hotel Carlisle
Accor Carlisle
Ibis Carlisle Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing