We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor”
Review of Ibis Carlisle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ibis Carlisle
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Carlisle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
A TripAdvisor Member
Milborne Port
1
Reviewed 8 June 2011

Noisy location. No air con, so room hot, which meant you needed to open window...this lets noise from drunken revellers in at all hours. Pillows awful - as hard as rocks. Cleanliness of room was good. I would have expected to have had breakfast included in price I paid.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 28 June 2011

I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay on this occasion.We do have quieter rooms at the back of the hotel, that are much better. Kind regards Derek Savage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,450)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,286 - 1,292 of 1,450 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
London
1
Reviewed 7 June 2011

Very happy to have stayed here. The one bit missing from the website is a key sales differentiator - IBIS Carlisle has a free car park and the hotel is right in the centre.

The only downside to this hotel is it is right in the heart (literally on Botchergate where all the pubs are) and that means partying locals on the weekends. As long as you don't mind the noise or have a room on the other side, you'll enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 28 June 2011

I am pleased you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for taking the time to put on a review. Kind regards Derek Savage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2011

Well located near the town centre and station (visible from the top of Station Road), and the Wetherspoon's pub, this hotel was clean, modern and very good value. The bathroom was an unusual prefabricated unit and we had to be careful not to trip when using the toilet. We didn't use the restaurant or bar, but they looked clean. Staff were very friendly. The only disappointment was the limited number of Freeview channels on the TV, but can't complain at these prices! Book through the Ibis website for the best deals.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pubby127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 28 June 2011

Thank you for posting a review following your stay with us at ibis Carlisle. We are happy you enjoyed your stay. KInd regards Derek Savage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2011

Ibis Carlisle staff are very wecoming and accomodating nothing is too much for them.The rooms are always clean and the beds very comfortable.We stay here at least twice a month
the only thing to remember is to get your parking permit straightaway as there is a bingo hall sharing car park at rear of hotel.The Ibis is situated in a main street but you hardly notice traffic it is very close to shops dining.pubs cinema etc

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolian55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 28 June 2011

Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Kind regards Derek Savage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2011

Basin hotel, clean. Great for stag and hen nights but if you want to get a good nights sleep or any sleep at all dont stay here. We had room 101 right next to the stairs. People were running up and down all night and screaming and shouting. You could hear the music from the clubs until 5am. To make things even worse someone decided to ring are room at 4am. I didn't get to the phone in time to answer it but phoned reception in case it was them seems as the bike was parked outside the back door. We was not impressed one bit with this hotel and would not of booked it if we had known this was on the main strip for pubs and clubs and the road outside the hotel is closed all night just so the drunks dont get run over. Take ear plugs and your own pillows unless you like pillows like rocks.

Room Tip: Dont stay in the rooms 101, 102 or 103
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnneRuncorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 7 June 2011

I am very sorry to hear what happened during your stay, we are addressing your comments. We do have quieter rooms at the back of the hotel, if you were to stay in the future you could request one of these. Kind regards Derek Savage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2011

We were looking for a pet friendly hotel and these guys are ideal. They didn't charge us for the 2 dogs and there is free car parking at rear of the hotel.
The hotel backs onto the bingo and pole dancing clubs.
With the hotel being in the centre it seems to be regularly used by say stag night groups so ww found the place noisey both inside and outside.
There's loads of places to eat and drink near to the hotel.
On the downside, we thought the hotel needs a darned good clean. There were liquid stains in the room carpet as well as the stairs carpets. If u look at the edges of the carpet, it also needs a darned good clean, both in the room and the rest if the hotel.
The room is ok, bathroom is a module style but functional. The bedding really needs new matresses and pillows not impressed by either and we were seriously looking at moving to another hotel.
The matress was the type where you can feel the mattress springs through it and the pillows have def seen better days.
But saying that, the staff are excellent and very friendly. Thx.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobz42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 7 June 2011

Thank you for posting a review. We are addressing your comments you noted. I hope you will continue to stay with us in the future. Kind regards Derek Savage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2011

Stayed here with work and was pleased with the room, location and service. My room as on the road but the double glazng avoided any noise from the local bars and clubs. Breakfast was fine although I didn't risk the cooked food as it didn't look great. The decor and furnishings are a bit sparce but this was standard to an Ibis and it as very clean.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juice82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 7 June 2011

We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Kind regards Derek Savage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlisle hotels
0.4 mi away
Crown & Mitre Hotel
Crown & Mitre Hotel
#7 of 20 in Carlisle
1,074 reviews
1 mi away
Cumbria Park Hotel
Cumbria Park Hotel
#9 of 20 in Carlisle
674 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Carlisle
Hallmark Hotel Carlisle
#16 of 20 in Carlisle
1,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Carlisle Central
0.2 mi away
The Halston Aparthotel
The Halston Aparthotel
#1 of 20 in Carlisle
268 reviews
3.9 mi away
Crown Wetheral Hotel
Crown Wetheral Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wetheral
1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Carlisle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Carlisle

Address: Portlands | Botchergate, Carlisle CA1 1RP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Carlisle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Carlisle
#1 Green Hotel in Carlisle
Price Range: £39 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Carlisle 2*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Carlisle hotel is located in the centre of the city, 200 m from the main railway station and not far from Lanes Shopping Centre. Carlisle Cathedral and the Castle are just a few minutes walk from the hotel. Book one of our 102 air cooling rooms and benefit from use of our hotel amenities, including chargeable outdoor parking, a bar serving light meals and snacks 24 hours 7 days as well as wireless Internet access to cater for business guests. Europcar rental services are available at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Accorhotels.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Ibis Carlisle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Carlisle Hotel Carlisle
Accor Carlisle
Ibis Carlisle Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing