We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't give a dam staff” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ibis Carlisle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ibis Carlisle
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Carlisle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Carlisle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Don't give a dam staff”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

Stayed at the Ibis for 5 nights, room was clean but on arrival internet was not working, after being told by reception that is was our equipments fault then pointing out to her that we were both broadband specialist she soon back tracked and said maintenance would look at it tomorrow. Tea and coffee facilities were enough for one person and this was not replenished daily. Towels were for a singal person, 1 large towell, 1 small and a shower mat. Pointed this out but not sorted for intire stay. Broadband was fixed the next day at 0.45 meg. Had to tether off phone to complete work. TV advertised at digital, only 5 channels. Was told there getting freeview soon. Very disappointed with staff, room and overall experience. When checking out our room keys were taken and the lady said cheers. I would have spoke there and then but all week our comments have fallen on deaf ears. I can't comment on the food as we did not eat there as the prices were high compared to other local restarants. Would I stay again NO. We are working again this week in Carlisle and have booked other accommodation. I will be reviewing on trip advisor to warn others.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
4 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rahul P, General Manager at Ibis Carlisle, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear Valued Customer, I am sorry that on this occasion that you were disappointed with your stay. I treat all feedback with the utmost seriousness and I am currently investigating this matter. Please feel free to contact me on h3443-gm@accor.com to discuss this further.

Kind regards,
Rahul Parikh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    403
    579
    202
    68
    56
See reviews for
187
559
124
162
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

We stayed for a 4 day break and packed lots, as there is lots to see. The location of this hotel is ideal, a short walk from the railway station, bus stops and the shops. The hotel is located on a busy street we choose to have a room at the rear, which I have to say is even noisier as there is a large car park for cars and coaches along with the exit for the bingo and nightclub venue. The room was find and a good shower. Good budged priced location in Carlisle.

Room Tip: Carlisle is a good location to visit the Lake District, travel to Settle on the most scenic railway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MONEMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rahul P, General Manager at Ibis Carlisle, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
Dear Valued Customer, thank you very much for your review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the the Hotel Ibis in Carlsle. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Rahul Parikh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

The room was basic but clean and tidy. We stayed two nights over the weekend. The main street outside is home to many clubs and restaurants. If you are after a quiet stay then try and get a room overlooking the car park. The location was fantastic for us near to the train station. We will be back next year.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Eadster3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rahul P, General Manager at Ibis Carlisle, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you very much for your review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the the Hotel Ibis in Carlisle. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Rahul Parikh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

My partner and I stayed here just before Christmas, when we first walked in we thought it was alright, nothing special but you get what you pay for. Then I looked in the bathroom...

It was a quarter-circular room which had blatantly just been added on, Being in it made me dizzy as it was so small and bright...felt like I was on a boat. The towels had already been used but not replaced, luckily we had brought our own. There was a tube of soap, which guests were expected to use for EVERYTHING!

HERE'S THE REAL ISSUE:
We called numerous times before staying to make sure it was all pre-paid for as that was something we had asked for so we could keep track of money...they said it had been every single time. When it came to checking out everything was fine and we went on our way. That evening we were called and told the card had been declined, to which I explained we had asked for it all to be pre-paid and been assured it was at least 4 times previous to checking in. I explained that we would pay when my partner got paid on the 10/01/14...which the caller/receptionsit agreed to.

I have just checked my CREDIT CARD statement to see that they have taken the money some how anyway and I am now over the limit and going to be charged. I don' know how they took the money after it being declined or why on earth they agreed to me paying later if they weren't happ with that plan.

WARNING: Get your plans in writing if you are paying in an alternative format and if any arrangement are made get that written too or they will cause you problem after problem!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eden G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rahul P, General Manager at Ibis Carlisle, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Dear Valued Customer, thank you for your comments, we can assure you that the matter is being looked into and will be dealt with accordingly.

Kind regards,
Rahul Parikh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

Excellent hotel ! My second stay here in december... Very clean hotel, with very friendly staff..quiet hotel... Superb shower and good sized room... ,nice bar clean and well appointed..but drinks way overpriced! Two wetherspoons(lloyds & wetherspoons) within three minutes walk why charge £3.95 for a bulmers cider?chinese buffet next door is poor quality avoid...Station 5 mins walk away..and shops all very close at hand... Highly recommended! Will be back here through 2014...if i had one gripe freeview TV would be very useful limited tv choice unless you pay,but that ibis in general not to this hotel....

Room Tip: Try for higher up floors at the rear of property
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank clivebradley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rahul P, General Manager at Ibis Carlisle, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Valued Customer, thank you very much for your kind review. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards,
Rahul Parikh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

arriving on Christmas day we were surprised and pleased to find that food and drink were available. the staff were friendly and very helpful. free parking and wifi was useful. the room was fine with a good shower and a comfortable bed. good value for money. highly recommended

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mick540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rahul P, General Manager at Ibis Carlisle, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Valued Customer, thank you very much for your kind review. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards,
Rahul Parikh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlisle hotels
0.4 mi away
Crown & Mitre Hotel
Crown & Mitre Hotel
#7 of 20 in Carlisle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cumbria Park Hotel
Cumbria Park Hotel
#8 of 20 in Carlisle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Carlisle
Hallmark Hotel Carlisle
#16 of 20 in Carlisle
3.5 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Halston Aparthotel
The Halston Aparthotel
#3 of 20 in Carlisle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Carlisle Central Hotel
3.9 mi away
Crown Wetheral Hotel
Crown Wetheral Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wetheral
4.5 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Carlisle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Carlisle

Property: Ibis Carlisle
Address: Portlands | Botchergate, Carlisle CA1 1RP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Carlisle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Carlisle
#2 Best Value Hotel in Carlisle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Carlisle 2*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Carlisle hotel is located in the centre of the city, 200 m from the main railway station and not far from Lanes Shopping Centre. Carlisle Cathedral and the Castle are just a few minutes walk from the hotel. Book one of our 102 air cooling rooms and benefit from use of our hotel amenities, including chargeable outdoor parking, a bar serving light meals and snacks 24 hours 7 days as well as wireless Internet access to cater for business guests. Europcar rental services are available at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Lastminute and ACCOR so you can book your Ibis Carlisle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Carlisle Hotel Carlisle
Accor Carlisle
Ibis Carlisle Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing