We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always good value”
Review of Ibis Carlisle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ibis Carlisle
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Carlisle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I have stayed in Ibis Hotels in this Country and abroad and have never been disappointed and this stay was no exception. This was the cheapest Hotel out of a 7 night tour and certainly one of the best. Good comfy room with free wi-fi thrown in. I did not try the breakfast so can't comment.

Only negative point is that the car park is not the easiest to find especially when you miss the turning and have to try to navigate around the one way system of Carlisle. Should have directions on the Ibis web site. Parking is at present free in a large car park around the back but I believe that there may be moves afoot to introduce a charge.

Good central position on one of Carlisle's main streets and a short walk from the railway station if using public transport. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davefel67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rahul P, General Manager at Ibis Carlisle, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Dear Valued Guest, thank you very much for your review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the the Hotel Ibis in Carlsle. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Rahul Parikh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,430)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

767 - 773 of 1,430 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2014

I have just spent two nights in this hotel with an old school friend who now lives in Portugal. The hotel is in a great location for all the main attractions in the city & also the bus & train stations, there are also plenty of restaurants close by.. The room was quite small, basic but very clean ( apart from the chair under the window which was covered in balls of fluff)!! The shower in the bathroom was great,roomy & good pressure. Breakfast was good for this standard of hotel however I do think £4-70p for two cups of lukewarm tea was over the top. The staff were friendly & I would certainly stay in this hotel again if in the area.

Room Tip: Our room was at the back of the hotel & we never heard a sound!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HILARY K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rahul P, General Manager at Ibis Carlisle, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Dear Valued Customer, thank you very much for your review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the the Hotel Ibis in Carlisle. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Rahul Parikh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank wendya13
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Rahul P, General Manager at Ibis Carlisle, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Considering how cheap this was it's a very good hotel. Good location, nice staff, rooms are basic but clean and functional. Well worth a visit if you are on a budget, Near enough to the station and shops of Carlisle.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yggdrasil1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rahul P, General Manager at Ibis Carlisle, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Valued Customer, thanks for your review. I am glad you had a good stay with us. See you on your next trip hopefully!

Kind regards,
Rahul Parikh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Lauren F
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Rahul P, General Manager at Ibis Carlisle, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Hotel is right in the centre of Carlisle and easy walking distance of the Castle. There are plenty of places to eat or drink locally. Staff were very friendly and helpful and the room was very clean. I had read about the noise from the near by bars on tripadvisor and requested a room in the quieter part of the hotel. We could still hear the noise but it did not cause a problem. There was free parking and internet. The internet speed was very very slow so this would be the only minor downside of our stay. All in all though a very good hotel and good value I would stay there again and recommend.

Room Tip: If you want a quieter room request this before when you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rahul P, General Manager at Ibis Carlisle, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Valued Customer, thank you very much for your review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the the Hotel Ibis in Carlisle. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Rahul Parikh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

stayed 1 night never stayed in a Ibis hotel before but was very impressed... rooms were clean and very comfortable with free wifi through out. Breakfast was extra but well worth the money..
The hotel is situated 2 mins walk from railway station and right next to all the local pubs with a 5 min walk to the shopping centre... Staff were very welcoming and woukd go out there way to help you...

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mickstore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rahul P, General Manager at Ibis Carlisle, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Valued Customer, thanks for your review. I am glad you had a good stay with us. See you on your next trip hopefully!

Kind regards,
Rahul Parikh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlisle hotels
0.4 mi away
Crown & Mitre Hotel
Crown & Mitre Hotel
#7 of 20 in Carlisle
1,047 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Carlisle
Hallmark Hotel Carlisle
#16 of 20 in Carlisle
1,106 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cumbria Park Hotel
Cumbria Park Hotel
#8 of 20 in Carlisle
654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Carlisle Central
0.2 mi away
The Halston Aparthotel
The Halston Aparthotel
#1 of 20 in Carlisle
255 reviews
3.9 mi away
Crown Wetheral Hotel
Crown Wetheral Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wetheral
1,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Carlisle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Carlisle

Address: Portlands | Botchergate, Carlisle CA1 1RP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Carlisle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Carlisle
Price Range: £40 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Carlisle 2*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Carlisle hotel is located in the centre of the city, 200 m from the main railway station and not far from Lanes Shopping Centre. Carlisle Cathedral and the Castle are just a few minutes walk from the hotel. Book one of our 102 air cooling rooms and benefit from use of our hotel amenities, including chargeable outdoor parking, a bar serving light meals and snacks 24 hours 7 days as well as wireless Internet access to cater for business guests. Europcar rental services are available at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelsClick so you can book your Ibis Carlisle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Carlisle Hotel Carlisle
Accor Carlisle
Ibis Carlisle Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing