We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“1st stop on cycle trip” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ibis Carlisle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ibis Carlisle
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Carlisle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“1st stop on cycle trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

great location to stop in carlisle rooms ok compact is the word thats used but fine for a stop over, very clean and plenty of hot water in shower, breakfast not brilliant but all you can eat for £8 so stocked up on fruit for 2nd part of trip. great for cyclists secure lock up for bikes

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sjh011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rahul P, General Manager at Ibis Carlisle, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Thanks for your review. I am glad you had a good stay with us. See you on your next trip hopefully! Kind regards, Rahul Parikh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,313 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    407
    580
    202
    68
    56
See reviews for
189
562
124
162
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
184 reviews
182 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

This was my first visit to an Ibis hotel in over two years. Following a very poor experience in the Glasgow hotel I had decided not to visit again, however a need to be in Carlisle City Centre persuaded me to try the brand again.

The hotel itself is on the Botchergate which is less than five minutes walk into town. Parking is available to the rear of the hotel and is free, all you have to do it enter your registration number on the system at reception.

Check-in was quick and was completed within a couple of minutes and I was off to the room which was on the third floor. The room was the standard Ibis 'Pod Style' design and was very clean, including the bathroom.

The usual drinks facilities and television were available whilst wifi is free in the rooms and was a decent speed throughout my stay. I found the bed to be very comfortable and I feel that this is the strongest feature of the Ibis brand. There was a little external noise until around midnight and then it was quiet with no disturbances.

I had breakfast in the hotel in the morning and there was a good choice if items available on the hot and cold buffet which looked and tasted fresh. Breakfast costs £7.95 and I felt that it was worth that. It's far superior to the Travelodge hot breakfast but not quite to the standard if Premier Inn but on the whole was good value for money.

Checking out was quick in the morning although there was a problem with the printer and they weren't able to issue invoices and were offering to email once the system was fixed.

Overall it was a decent stay and based on this visit I'd consider Ibis again in the future.

One thing to note however is the Botchergate is very lively. Even on a Thursday at 7pm the bars were rowdy and there were people wandering around drunk. If you were on holiday in a resort this would be considered 'Bar Street' and at weekends it could be quite noisy so if you are a light sleeper it may be better to request a room to the back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rahul P, General Manager at Ibis Carlisle, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Thanks for your review. I am glad you had a good stay with us. See you on your next trip hopefully! Kind regards, Rahul Parikh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
136 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

Staff are excellent and looked after every detail -- especially to ensuring that we had a quiet room. That perhaps is a key aspect. The hotel is centrally located, a short walk to the train station; it is also surrounded by a number of bars and clubs -- an ideal location for the partying set. However as a mature couple (in this situation defined as anyone over 30), we did not appreciate the locale environment as much as others might. Having said that, the bingo club is around the corner for those so inclined. Luckily this was a Thursday night and, with the help of the staff in getting a quiet room, we were alb to sleep -- just not go further afield. Great staff, clean and close to the train station are the strong points

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank csmcuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rahul P, General Manager at Ibis Carlisle, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your kind review. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Kind regards, Rahul Parikh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Stayed for 2 nights on 30/5/14, checking in was quick and painless and by simply keying the car registration into a keyboard we had free parking for the duration of our stay. We found the Ibis to be spotlessly clean and the staff to be very polite and friendly. Our room, 117, was on the front of the hotel overlooking Bochergate but even so it wasn't noisey. The window had double glazing, a deep ledge and then secondary glazing which provided decent sound proofing. Breakfast was a buffet with lots of choice of juices, cereals, breads, usual "English breakfast" and continental options, we certainly did not go hungry. Check out is at 12 noon so guests are not hurried, all in all a pleasant stay and we would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave Janet P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rahul P, General Manager at Ibis Carlisle, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the the Hotel Ibis in Carlisle. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Rahul Parikh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlisle hotels
0.4 mi away
Crown & Mitre Hotel
Crown & Mitre Hotel
#7 of 20 in Carlisle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cumbria Park Hotel
Cumbria Park Hotel
#8 of 20 in Carlisle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Carlisle
Hallmark Hotel Carlisle
#16 of 20 in Carlisle
3.5 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Halston Aparthotel
The Halston Aparthotel
#3 of 20 in Carlisle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
3.9 mi away
Crown Wetheral Hotel
Crown Wetheral Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wetheral
4.5 of 5 bubbles 918 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Carlisle Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Carlisle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Carlisle

Property: Ibis Carlisle
Address: Portlands | Botchergate, Carlisle CA1 1RP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Carlisle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Carlisle
#2 Best Value Hotel in Carlisle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Carlisle 2*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Carlisle hotel is located in the centre of the city, 200 m from the main railway station and not far from Lanes Shopping Centre. Carlisle Cathedral and the Castle are just a few minutes walk from the hotel. Book one of our 102 air cooling rooms and benefit from use of our hotel amenities, including chargeable outdoor parking, a bar serving light meals and snacks 24 hours 7 days as well as wireless Internet access to cater for business guests. Europcar rental services are available at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Lastminute, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and ACCOR so you can book your Ibis Carlisle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Carlisle Hotel Carlisle
Accor Carlisle
Ibis Carlisle Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing