We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value”
Review of Ibis Carlisle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ibis Carlisle
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Carlisle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 11 July 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Gillejan1974
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Rahul P, General Manager at Ibis Carlisle, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,459)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

756 - 762 of 1,459 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank MSF48
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Rahul P, General Manager at Ibis Carlisle, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Lovely hotel, friendly and helpful staff. Beds changed and rooms cleaned daily, milk for coffee and tea replenished without even asking. Beds so comfortable and room was immaculate. Perfect destination for shopping and bars. Felt safe and confident in asking help from staff. Would definitely recommend to family members.

Room Tip: If you are conscious of noise, it is surrounded by 2 bars and a bingo hall, so possibly choosing a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank S1201317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rahul P, General Manager at Ibis Carlisle, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Guest.
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a feedback. I am glad you enjoyed your stay at Ibis hotel in Carlisle. We hope to be part of your future trip and look forward to welcoming you back.
Thanking
Kind Regards
Rahul Parikh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Basic budget Hotel.Clean rooms with air con.Not far from station and historic town centre.
All a waste due to very rude woman on bar.Why would anyone want to spend time in a bar let alone eat there.
Silly irritating habit of putting one penny on your card on arrival.
You certainly don't get this in German or Austrian Ibis.
Strange place.

Room Tip: Double glazing in rooms kills noise from Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JANETDENISE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rahul P, General Manager at Ibis Carlisle, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you once again for taking time to leave us your feedback after our discussion on check out.
Once again, I am very sorry to learn regarding your experience. As you must have read other reviews and with your previous experience, this is not the true reflection of our high customer service we pride on. You also mentioned on your departure, you leave 200% satisfied having discussed with myself.
We once again look forward to welcoming you in September for your future stay.
Thanking
Kind Regards
Rahul Parikh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel it's self is in a good location and is clean and well equipped, the staff however are shocking! My dad helped collect my case from my room on a recent stay, only after getting home did he realise he had left his wallet. We rang the hotel and was told it had been found so we were so relieved and thankful. On collecting the wallet however all my dads money had been taken (by the cleaning staff presumably as they had found it). A compliant was made and the manage was rude and dismissive so unfortunately we had to get the police involved. Would never stay here again or recommend it to anyone as it makes you wonder what kind of people they employ!

Stayed: June 2014
2  Thank Carlab182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rahul P, General Manager at Ibis Carlisle, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. I am pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay at Ibis hotel in Carlisle.

I am very saddened to know you feel your query for your lost property was not dealt efficiently and also your comments regarding the staffs integrity.
The wallet was handed to your nominated person the same evening of your checkout and when brought to the hotel's attention that some money is missing, you were advised to contact the police, which is the protocol for any losses.

I can assure you the matter is being dealt with the police.

Thanking
Kind Regards

Rahul Parikh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Hawkthinks
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Rahul P, General Manager at Ibis Carlisle, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Stayed here for a business trip, apart from the room location which was close to a noisy bar outside, the hotel was clean comfortable and adequate for the money. Close to the amenities and free parking.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Susannah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rahul P, General Manager at Ibis Carlisle, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to know that your stay was disturbed due to noise. Please contact the hotel prior to your next stay and we will be more than happy to allocate you a quieter side.
We look forward to welcoming you soon.
Kind Regards
Rahul Parikh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlisle hotels
0.4 mi away
Crown & Mitre Hotel
Crown & Mitre Hotel
#6 of 20 in Carlisle
1,084 reviews
1 mi away
Cumbria Park Hotel
Cumbria Park Hotel
#9 of 20 in Carlisle
683 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Carlisle Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Carlisle
Hallmark Hotel Carlisle
#16 of 20 in Carlisle
1,183 reviews
3.9 mi away
Crown Wetheral Hotel
Crown Wetheral Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wetheral
1,077 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Halston Aparthotel
The Halston Aparthotel
#1 of 20 in Carlisle
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Carlisle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Carlisle

Address: Portlands | Botchergate, Carlisle CA1 1RP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Carlisle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Carlisle
#1 Green Hotel in Carlisle
Price Range: £39 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Carlisle 2*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Carlisle hotel is located in the centre of the city, 200 m from the main railway station and not far from Lanes Shopping Centre. Carlisle Cathedral and the Castle are just a few minutes walk from the hotel. Book one of our 102 air cooling rooms and benefit from use of our hotel amenities, including chargeable outdoor parking, a bar serving light meals and snacks 24 hours 7 days as well as wireless Internet access to cater for business guests. Europcar rental services are available at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Accorhotels.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ibis Carlisle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Carlisle Hotel Carlisle
Accor Carlisle
Ibis Carlisle Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing