We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“from a 5 to a below 1 rating”
Review of Ibis Carlisle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ibis Carlisle
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Carlisle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Basingstoke, Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“from a 5 to a below 1 rating”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel 2yrs ago and were amazed at how friendly the staff were, how fabulous the room was and how good the breakfast was.
What a total let down when we arrived this time.

We were aware that finding the place is a bit of a trek as its car park is at the rear of the building and not well signposted, this time however the lovely Carlisle has decided to pedestrianise the area at night time, safer for the night club goers, which is fine but trying to find the place gets even worse, more so when you phone the staff for directions and get shouted at for going the wrong way, spoken to so fast you can barely understand and then laughed at in reception when you finally pay a taxi to direct you. In addition a lap dance bar has now sprung up next to the hotel - lovely!
NOT impressed.

Even less impressed with the staff when we came back from dinner to find the very unhelpful reception person just saying "no, no, no" to every suggestion or enquiry regarding food available to the poor foreign traveller - we eventually stepped in and told them to go over the road (literally) to the lovely Weatherspoons who were serving food until 11pm AND with a smile.

The rooms last time were spotless, not so much this time and the lovely little bathroom pod had also gone down in cleanliness and décor.

The bed was like a rock and the pillows much the same, having had cruddy service earlier at reception we saw little point in calling down for their "15 min to comfort service".

Whilst we could not wait to leave in the morning we did want breakfast; another disaster that we wished we had avoided.
The tables were all sticky to start with.
The toast machine either made warm bread or gave burnt offerings, the coffee machine was foul and undrinkable.
Lack of bacon and eggs left only well cooked baked beans, hash browns (which you could only have in clumps of 3-4) or the sausages which were the only edible thing.
three choices of cereal and two sad looking peach yogurts were offered.

we will NOT be staying here again.

Room Tip: my advice would be dont bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fluffyredfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rahul P, General Manager at Ibis Carlisle, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to write your review. I am very sorry to hear that your stay was not up to your previous experience.

I have addressed your access to the hotel issue and the website has been updated with proper directions to the hotel to avoid the road closures during weekend.

I would like to discuss in details the service aspect as this is not the true reflection of our high service standards we pride on.

Please contact me directly on h3443-gm@accor.com or 01228 518 000 to discuss.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

Thanking

Kind Regards
Rahul Parikh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,375 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    434
    609
    205
    70
    57
See reviews for
202
587
131
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The hotel is new and was a pleasant change from our usual hostels. Price was very good but does not include breakfast (£7.95) which was buffet style and well prepared and tasty. We ate early and choice diminished later so suggest you get there early. Hotel staff very welcoming and it was a great way to kick off our ride. The hotel is part of an overall entertainment block and as such is lively late into the night. If you want a quiet night suggest you get room on side away from the night life. A/C unit in room so you can keep windows closed.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from night life
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 625David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rahul P, General Manager at Ibis Carlisle, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay at Ibis hotel in Carlisle. We are glad we were part of your annual trip.

We hope to be part of your future trips too.

Thanking
Kind Regards
Rahul Parikh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Justv had a lovley 2 night stay here right in the center of Carlisle bars and a short walk from town and food. Staff friendly and breakfast was just ok tho would rather go across to weatherspoons. Will definitely be back for another stay I'm sure

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank carriesthoughts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rahul P, General Manager at Ibis Carlisle, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to leave your feedback. We are happy to know you enjoyed your stay at Ibis hotel in Carlisle.

We are sorry to hear that your breakfast experience was ok. We would love to hear in detail from you. Please contact me directly on h3443-gm@accor.com.

We look forward to welcome you soon.

Thanking

Kind Regards
Rahul Parikh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Lovely hotel, friendly and helpful staff. Beds changed and rooms cleaned daily, milk for coffee and tea replenished without even asking. Beds so comfortable and room was immaculate. Perfect destination for shopping and bars. Felt safe and confident in asking help from staff. Would definitely recommend to family members.

Room Tip: If you are conscious of noise, it is surrounded by 2 bars and a bingo hall, so possibly choosing a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S1201317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rahul P, General Manager at Ibis Carlisle, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Guest.
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a feedback. I am glad you enjoyed your stay at Ibis hotel in Carlisle. We hope to be part of your future trip and look forward to welcoming you back.
Thanking
Kind Regards
Rahul Parikh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
1,155 reviews
233 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 445 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Basic budget Hotel.Clean rooms with air con.Not far from station and historic town centre.
All a waste due to very rude woman on bar.Why would anyone want to spend time in a bar let alone eat there.
Silly irritating habit of putting one penny on your card on arrival.
You certainly don't get this in German or Austrian Ibis.
Strange place.

Room Tip: Double glazing in rooms kills noise from Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JANETDENISE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rahul P, General Manager at Ibis Carlisle, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you once again for taking time to leave us your feedback after our discussion on check out.
Once again, I am very sorry to learn regarding your experience. As you must have read other reviews and with your previous experience, this is not the true reflection of our high customer service we pride on. You also mentioned on your departure, you leave 200% satisfied having discussed with myself.
We once again look forward to welcoming you in September for your future stay.
Thanking
Kind Regards
Rahul Parikh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlisle hotels
0.4 mi away
Crown & Mitre Hotel
Crown & Mitre Hotel
#7 of 20 in Carlisle
972 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cumbria Park Hotel
Cumbria Park Hotel
#8 of 20 in Carlisle
612 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Carlisle
Hallmark Hotel Carlisle
#17 of 20 in Carlisle
1,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Halston Aparthotel
The Halston Aparthotel
#3 of 20 in Carlisle
223 reviews
3.9 mi away
Crown Wetheral Hotel
Crown Wetheral Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wetheral
979 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Carlisle Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Carlisle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Carlisle

Property: Ibis Carlisle
Address: Portlands | Botchergate, Carlisle CA1 1RP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Carlisle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Carlisle
#2 Best Value Hotel in Carlisle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Carlisle 2*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Carlisle hotel is located in the centre of the city, 200 m from the main railway station and not far from Lanes Shopping Centre. Carlisle Cathedral and the Castle are just a few minutes walk from the hotel. Book one of our 102 air cooling rooms and benefit from use of our hotel amenities, including chargeable outdoor parking, a bar serving light meals and snacks 24 hours 7 days as well as wireless Internet access to cater for business guests. Europcar rental services are available at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ibis Carlisle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Carlisle Hotel Carlisle
Accor Carlisle
Ibis Carlisle Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing