We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont trust Ibis and watch the small print”
Review of Ibis Carlisle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ibis Carlisle
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Carlisle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Inverurie, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dont trust Ibis and watch the small print”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Really disgusted at Ibis…… booked 3 rooms for 4 nights with breakfast online…. Within the hours guys staying said they did not want breakfast, couldn’t find how to modify booking so cancelled booking and rebooked straight away without the breakfasts…. Now find that they took the payment twice and will not refund… small print says that cancellations will not be refunded…. Really underhand IMO… so beware of the small print and forget fair play at the Ibis brand… my error cost me £530…. Dodgy ethics IMO… Oh and the 3rd floor room smelt of drains, they haven’t replied to my email on that.

Room Tip: Watch the small print...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rahul P, General Manager at Ibis Carlisle, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback.
We have responded to you directly via email. Hope the response was to your satisfactory.

Thanking

Rahul Parikh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,375 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    434
    609
    205
    70
    57
See reviews for
202
587
131
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I must admit that I do tend to find Ibis a good budget change. Carlisle is no exception.

VALUE: The value is excellent and the new breakfast range (unlimited hot & cold buffet) is good although, like a good many other hotels, the scrambled egg tends to be a little rubbery.

BEDROOMS: The beds are very comfortable and clean although the bathroom (Tardis) takes a little getting used to and any noise is amplified...

STAFF: They are very thoughtful. We were travelling to the Commonwealth Games and so they gave us quiet rooms since they knew we'd have long days (without us having to ask). When we looked for something at breakfast they would ask what we wanted (again without us having to ask) and would deal with our request straight away.

NIGGLES: We didn't have any shampoo dispenser in our bathroom (others did), the maid removed all of our used soaps on Day 2 but didn't replace them with new ones and the bedroom carpets look very stained, although I think that this has more to do with the pattern (or maybe it attracts stains).

OTHER THINGS TO KNOW:
CAR PARK: Parking can be a little difficult to locate. It is free (as long as you log on to a screen on a daily basis) but you have to pay if you stay there after 11:00 am although, of course, you don't have to check out until noon.
BREAKFAST AREA: People walk through this area, to reach the car park, whilst you are eating. The layout is very efficient for staffing but takes a little getting used to.
LITTLE THINGS: There are no milk jugs so you need to use a cup to obtain milk for tea at breakfast.
BINS: There's only 1 bin in the bedroom (in the bathroom).
TOWELS: Only 1 towel supplied per person i.e. no hand towels.

SUMMARY: Yes I'd use this hotel again and I'd certainly use the chain again but maybe I'd ask for shampoo and replacement soap next time if I wasn't so tired.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip_Marsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rahul P, General Manager at Ibis Carlisle, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Valued Customer, thank you very much for your review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the the Hotel Ibis in Carlsle. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Rahul Parikh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We stayed five nights, recently, in order to get to The Commonwealth Games (with tickets for Fri and Mon) and to do some sight-seeing in the North/Scotland, in between. The front of house staff were so friendly, helpful and deserve a huge thank-you (and yet they also maintain a professional stance) - nothing was too much trouble and great advice re where to go, etc. The prices were very good, too - rooms cheap, parking free and breakfast at only £7.95 pp (half this price for child, or for an early breakfast, ie continental style) and there was lots to select from - all at a good standard. The drinks cost less than in most restaurants and there was a sufficient menu (with food available 24hrs) - and we absolutely loved the Thai curry (served on a banana leaf)! The beds were comfy - hard, but with thick feather toppers, squidgy duvets and pillows. The air-con worked well and was easy to control for an optimum temperature. Bathroom worked well, a pod-style, kind of unusual! Full length mirror and adequate sockets (although one closer to the mirror, to use the provided hairdryer, would have been easier for me!). A wardrobe space with shelves and hanging. All great! The carpets maybe could do with a deep clean sometime in the near future, I would agree with someone else on this minor fact.There was some noise from the outside drinking/club/bingo venues - just turn on the air-con and it drowns it out, however! Housekeeping need to add an extra towel when there are three to a room, when they service the bedrooms (two adults and one child for us), but front of house were happy oblige to another towel any time they were asked (in fact they were quick to address any question or query - they were really nice people - Jo, Sheila and also a young fair-haired guy, whose name I didn't get, should be commended for their ability to 'welcome with a smile' every time we spoke to them. The hotel is walking distance to lots of eateries, the town centre (shops galore!), railway station, etc. We went for a drive to Keswick (in The Lakes) on Saturday and to Gretna (Outlet/Blacksmiths) Sunday - so a good location to start from. Well done Ibis, we would stay again if we had reason to travel so far again in that direction!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Foxesfans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rahul P, General Manager at Ibis Carlisle, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Valued Customer, thank you very much for your kind review. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards,
Rahul Parikh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gnosall, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We had booked in for just one night. We had stopped before in an Ibis hotel and hadn't liked the hard beds at all, but thought maybe it was just that one hotel and we should give it another go. First impressions were good, really friendly staff let us leave our bags while we went for a wander around the town, then came back to book in. The room was really clean and the tardis type bathroom was really cool. At about 6pm we noticed a bit of noise from the street outside, there seemed to be a bar /club at the back of us, but didn't pay much attention, at 9pm it started getting louder and at midnight it was a positive roar...... at 3 am I couldn't take much more and rang reception. There was nothing they could do, the hotel was full and we couldn't change rooms and even if we had....I still don't think I would have slept, the beds are awful, I felt like an old woman, my back and hips were in agony. At 5.30 am the noise disappeared !!! I did say to the receptionist in the morning who was apologetic but I understood, there was nothing she could do about either of my complaints. So... sorry Ibis Carlise, your staff are lovely but your hotel position and choice of beds are not good at all, back to Premier Inn for us.

Room Tip: Don't have a room at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CarolMartin444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rahul P, General Manager at Ibis Carlisle, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Valued Customer, I am sorry that on this occasion that you were disappointed with your stay. I treat all feedback with the utmost seriousness and I am currently investigating this matter. Please feel free to contact the hotel if you do decide to stay with us agan, and ask for a room facing the car park, as we do find these can be quieter.

Kind regards,
Rahul Parikh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

The hotel rooms and facilities are kept clean and tidy. Room was of good enough size and although the rooms appear a little old they are well maintained (although the carpets could be doing with some work).

Bathrooms were well maintained and clean. Shower was hot and powerful.

Real down side is that due to location the rooms could be noisy due to pubs/bingo/nightclubs closing.
I guess some rooms may be quieter (those at the rear/right of the building) but those at front left/rear left were loud at times.

Staff were very friendly.

Room Tip: Rear right rooms may be quieter. Keep the air con on as the constant hum of the air con is better t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank km991148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rahul P, General Manager at Ibis Carlisle, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Valued Customer, thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit. I look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Rahul Parikh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stoke on trent
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

My wife and I stayed here overnight for our daughters graduation ceremony at Carlisle University. The room was fine, clean and spacious and good value for money. There is a free car park at the rear of the hotel and the hotel is located near the centre of carlisle within easy walking distance of the cathedral and train station. The plastic bathroom was unique, the first time I have seen one, but a good size. in particular the shower was large. All the staff were friendly and courteous.

Room Tip: Avoid room 241 / 242 as it overlooks the night club next door and the public can be noisy when drink...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank star_watcher_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rahul P, General Manager at Ibis Carlisle, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Valued Customer, thank you for your kind comments and compliments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Rahul Parikh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlisle hotels
0.4 mi away
Crown & Mitre Hotel
Crown & Mitre Hotel
#7 of 20 in Carlisle
971 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cumbria Park Hotel
Cumbria Park Hotel
#8 of 20 in Carlisle
611 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Carlisle
Hallmark Hotel Carlisle
#17 of 20 in Carlisle
1,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Halston Aparthotel
The Halston Aparthotel
#3 of 20 in Carlisle
223 reviews
3.9 mi away
Crown Wetheral Hotel
Crown Wetheral Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wetheral
979 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Carlisle Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Carlisle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Carlisle

Property: Ibis Carlisle
Address: Portlands | Botchergate, Carlisle CA1 1RP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Carlisle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Carlisle
#2 Best Value Hotel in Carlisle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Carlisle 2*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Carlisle hotel is located in the centre of the city, 200 m from the main railway station and not far from Lanes Shopping Centre. Carlisle Cathedral and the Castle are just a few minutes walk from the hotel. Book one of our 102 air cooling rooms and benefit from use of our hotel amenities, including chargeable outdoor parking, a bar serving light meals and snacks 24 hours 7 days as well as wireless Internet access to cater for business guests. Europcar rental services are available at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ibis Carlisle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Carlisle Hotel Carlisle
Accor Carlisle
Ibis Carlisle Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing