We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Martin (Isle of Man)
Douglas, United Kingdom

Modern city centre hotel in the middle of the nightclub area

Review of Ibis Carlisle
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 23 Jun 2019
Modern hotel to usual corporate standard. Would be wary about staying here at the weekends as it is literally in the middle of Carlisle's nightclub district, indeed Botchergate which is the front entrance to the hotel, is closed to traffic on Friday and Saturday nights because of the number of people milling around - it gets very lively! Popular with coach tours of youngsters "doing Europe" so it's a bit hit and miss as to whether you will get a peaceful night's sleep .
Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Beverley M, General Manager at Ibis Carlisle, responded to this review
Responded 27 Jun 2019
Thank you for your review. Please note the windows are double, double glazed and ear plugs are provided to aid a good nights sleep if needed. We are a centre location in Carlisle however noise is kept to a minimum and the hotel is staffed to aid this. I hope if you return to Carlisle you choose to stay with us again. Many Thanks Beverley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
C M Pool
£114
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.4 miles from Ibis Carlisle
Free Wifi
Free parking
£85
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £85
3.9 miles from Ibis Carlisle
Free Wifi
Free parking
External
£93
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
1.1 miles from Ibis Carlisle
Free Wifi
Free parking
£84
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £102
  • Algotels
0.9 miles from Ibis Carlisle
Free Wifi
Free parking
£86
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £103
  • Trip.com
2.9 miles from Ibis Carlisle
Free Wifi
Free parking
Carlisle grounds and hotel
£53
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.1 miles from Ibis Carlisle
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Travelodge
  • ZenHotels.com
    £52
  • Algotels
0.1 miles from Ibis Carlisle
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £89
  • Algotels
0.3 miles from Ibis Carlisle
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £203
  • Priceline
2.2 miles from Ibis Carlisle
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Travelodge
  • ZenHotels.com
    £82
  • Algotels
4.6 miles from Ibis Carlisle
Free parking
View more hotels in Carlisle
Reviews (1,827)
Filter reviews
1,827 results
Traveller rating
621
749
275
99
83
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
621
749
275
99
83
Show reviews that mention
All reviews free parking car park city centre train station comfy bed would stay again weekend break one night stay noise botchergate wetherspoons pubs earplugs nightlife cinema pod hairdryer
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
197 - 202 of 1,827 reviews
Reviewed 16 June 2019

We stayed here on our last night before completing the Hadrian's Wall Path and it was great - cheap and cheerful - all you would need. Ideal for the centre of Carlisle for any occasion - the cinema is directly across the road!

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank afrl24
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Beverley M, Manager at Ibis Carlisle, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2019

Thank you for your kind review, I hope you enjoyed the Wall Walk and it wasn't to rainy. I hope you choose to stay with us again if you are in the area. Many Thanks Beverley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2019

Stayed here for one night and great value for money, clean, comfortable and free car parking. Right across the road from a Vue cinema and also plenty of pubs and restaurants within walking distance. Very quick check in with friendly staff.

Date of stay: June 2019
Thank Weemacscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Beverley M, General Manager at Ibis Carlisle, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2019

Thank you o your review, I am glad you enjoyed your stay, I hope you choose to stay with us again on your next visit to Carlisle. Many Thanks Beverley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2019

Great location, extremely reasonable rates, bit noisy from the nightclub at the end of the building but that's Botchergate for you! Didn't have breakfast but staff were attentive on check in and in the bar area.

Room tip: Rear of the building if you want a quieter room
Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Hufflepuff33
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Beverley M, General Manager at Ibis Carlisle, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2019

Thank you for your review, glad for the most part you enjoyed your stay, I hope you have the opportunity on your next stay to have breakfast, Many Thanks Beverley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2019 via mobile

Stayed for a weekend break very clean and comfy rooms breakfast was very good and the staff were very friendly and helpful we would stay again location was also good for shops pubs and restaurants we were on the front but didn’t hear any noise at all

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank suebest2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Beverley M, General Manager at Ibis Carlisle, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2019

Thank you for your review, I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope to see you on your next visit. Many Thanks Beverley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2019

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of Tripadvisor LLC nor of its partners. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Beverley M, Manager at Ibis Carlisle, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2019

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
View more reviews