We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Kelly L
Hamilton, United Kingdom

Terrible check in

Review of Ibis Carlisle
1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 24 Aug 2019via mobile
Things that are useful to know:
- car park isn’t owned by ibis and has a lap dancing bar attached
- car park says pay on arrival. After paying an unexpected charge, there’s a note on the door of the hotel not to pay - completely useless after you’ve paid
- no information re breakfast times / other information provided to guest
- goodness help you if you’re trying to book in multiple people
Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Beverley M, Elena, Assistant Manager at Ibis Carlisle, responded to this review
Responded 29 Aug 2019
Dear kelly7glas,
Thanks for your feedback, I am disappointed to learn that your check-in experience was not up to standard; please allow my sincere apologies.
We normally inform about hotel facilities and breakfast & dinner times on arrival, I am sorry if we failed to do so; any other question the staff is available 24/7 and we are happy to assist for any extra information or queries.
Parking is indeed free of charge and this is advertised as such on our website and all across the different booking sites; the car park is indeed a public one, located in the city centre, hence the meter charges display. It is shared with other properties around us and we have a direct entrance to the back of the hotel; there are enough spaces for all our guests and we are pleased to offer it complimentary to our residents. When in doubt on where to park or how to proceed to benefit from this, the reception staff is more than happy to assist if asked.
Other than your experience on arrival, I hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay with us and we hope to welcome you again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
£85
  • Travelodge
    £59
  • Agoda.com
    £59
  • Priceline
0.1 miles from Ibis Carlisle
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
£94
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    £84
  • Hotels.com
    £83
  • Agoda.com
    £86
0.3 miles from Ibis Carlisle
Free Wifi
Free parking
£89
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    £80
  • Hotels.com
    £78
  • StayForLong
3.9 miles from Ibis Carlisle
Free Wifi
Free parking
£158
  • Expedia.com
    £178
  • Skyscanner.com
    £158
  • Hotels.com
    £176
2.2 miles from Ibis Carlisle
Free Wifi
Free parking
C M Pool
£109
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    £99
  • Agoda.com
    £88
  • Vio.com
0.4 miles from Ibis Carlisle
Free Wifi
Free parking
£71
  • Travelodge
    £56
  • Agoda.com
    £66
  • Trip.com
4.6 miles from Ibis Carlisle
Free parking
External
£88
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    £94
  • Agoda.com
    £77
  • Hotels.com
    £94
1.1 miles from Ibis Carlisle
Free Wifi
Free parking
£86
  • Trip.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £105
  • Vio.com
2.9 miles from Ibis Carlisle
Free Wifi
Free parking
Carlisle grounds and hotel
£57
  • Expedia.com
    £68
  • StayForLong
    £68
  • Hotels.com
    £68
0.1 miles from Ibis Carlisle
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Carlisle
Reviews (1,828)
Filter reviews
1,828 results
Traveller rating
621
749
275
100
83
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
621
749
275
100
83
Show reviews that mention
All reviews free parking car park city centre train station comfy bed would stay again weekend break one night stay noise botchergate wetherspoons pubs earplugs nightlife cinema pod hairdryer
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
178 - 183 of 1,828 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2019

We arrive on the evening of 11th with our two westies, we received a very warm welcome, we slept well and were able to eat in an allocated place with our two dogs.the hotel is located brilliantly in the centre of town and parking was a so easy we just gave our registration to the staff.

Room tip: Not sure what the other rooms were like, we were just allocated a dog friendly room.
Date of stay: August 2019
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sharon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Beverley M, General Manager at Ibis Carlisle, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2019

Thanks Shaz410 for your great review, we are delighted that you and your westies had a good stay with us, we all look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2019

The Ibis Hotel, Carlisle has a rather drab exterior and is located just a short walk from the railway station. It is a budget hotel and as such you get what you pay for. That is not to say that there is basically anything wrong with it but it is not an establishment which will linger long in the memory. My room was simply furnished, provided drink making facilities with biscuits and had satisfactory Wi-Fi reception. It was clean and in good order and I was not disturbed by any loud noise during the night or sound leakage from adjacent rooms. Check-in is made by virtue of a self-service/manned `pod`, in the middle of the downstairs room which doubled as a dining/breakfast area and a lounge. Breakfast, which was included in my booking was of average standard.

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ooDormouseoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Beverley M, General Manager at Ibis Carlisle, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2019

Many thanks for your review, I am glad to learn that the hotel was convenient for your needs.
We look forward to welcoming you again,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2019

A stop over for a long drive. Hotel clean & well presented, staff attentive, easily found, good parking, centrally located. Didn't eat in apart from breakfast, which was buffet style. As expected with Accor group, food was good.

Date of stay: August 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Scorchjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Beverley M, General Manager at Ibis Carlisle, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2019

Thank you for your review, Kind Regards Beverley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2019

Convenient location, very simple accommodation and looking a bit dated/tired. Unfortunately there were no other hotels available when we booked so we didn’t have much choice but to stay here. The room we had at the back of the hotel overlooking some pubs/clubs was surprisingly quiet and we had a decent nights sleep however, we have paid much less for much more pleasant hotels so feel this hotel was overpriced and wouldn’t book here again unless the price was significantly cheaper or we had no other choice.

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank TravellerAmy1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Beverley M, General Manager at Ibis Carlisle, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2019

Thank you for your review. Kind regards Beverley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2019

Stayed two nights here and was very satisfied. Excellent, well equipped room with a great shower. Slept very well in a comfortable bed. Friendly staff. Very convenient for the city centre and the train station. Didn’t try the breakfast so can’t comment on that. Highly recommend this hotel.

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JD3251
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Beverley M, General Manager at Ibis Carlisle, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2019

Thank you for your kind words, I am so glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you on your next visit to the area. Many Thanks Beverley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews