We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hillside Farm B&B
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
County Hotel(Carlisle)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Angus Hotel(Carlisle)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (35)
Filter reviews
35 results
Traveller rating
27
7
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
27
7
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbunk barnbowness on solwaywall walkbunk bedslocal pub for dinnerrest areaone nightwarm welcomestayed herea great stayon arrivalsandraaccommodationwalkerssleepinghostelwifi
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 35 reviews
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Had an enjoyable overnight stay on this delightful farm. Well located just five minutes walk off the hadrians wall path.
Very obliging owner who offered to drive us to the pub. Breakfast excellent, and good chat too!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Arrived late after a long day walking Hadrian's Wall Walk, we (16yr old son & I) accidentally walked to the accommodation next door, but were redirected by a helpful neighbour. Sandra was very accommodating, sorting out options, checking we had eaten and confirming our last minute breakfast booking. We stayed in the bunkhouse. Everyone was helpful. not too much noise at night (probably mainly from our selves groaning with pain !). The shower was fantastic after a long day. It's a working farm, but we didn't feel in the way.
Very good rates.

Room Tip: Sleep on the bunk near the top of the stairs, there's a socket for charging your phone and you can draw the curtains at night.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Exocet04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

We stayed in the private B&B bedroom with shared bath rather than the camping barn because the barn was pretty full. This is a working farm and the proprietor, Sandra, was a perfect hostess, our room was beautiful and very large, the shared bathroom was luxurious – with a large bathtub – perfect for soaking away the aches and pains from the path. Sandra made us a wonderful breakfast with homemade jams and farm fresh eggs with fresh flowers picked from her garden.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christopher D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

I stayed in the bunk hostel part of hillside, Sandra was very helpful even going out of her way to help me arrange transport. Perfect if you like walking and want beautiful scenery and a bit of peace. The breakfast was very reasonably priced and the owner was lovely and friendly. Would recommend and would come again if I pass through the area! Thanks for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebecca D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in October 2012. The bunk barn is well equiped with everything you need. The showers are excellent which is what you need after long days on the bikes. We were given space in a garage to park our motorbikes, and when we returned from our day out the door to the garage was open for us - a nice touch much appreciated -.
We would have no hesitation in recommending this place to stay to friends, and plan a return visit in 2013. However if the review works we may have to book much earlier.
It is so refreshing to find accommodation of this standard and at an affordable price.
We ordered breakfast on our last morning excellent value.
This would be a great place for a group of friends to stay.
Thanks for a great stay

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liz G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews