We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for people with disabilities ”

Watchtree Nature Reserve
Ranked #10 of 48 things to do in Carlisle
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great for people with disabilities ”
Reviewed 29 August 2014 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend took my disabled brother here to get some fresh air, and he wasn't disappointed!
We all ended up hiring bikes, hiring a 4 wheeled trike for my 22yo brother as his a bit uneasy on less wheels. Loved getting set off with his trike and he was off going around the reserve with us both trying to catch up with him.
The staff were lovely and friendly and gave us a discount for taking my brother but I'd if paid full price anyway as it made his day and got us all out of the house. We'll be back in the spring to do another few rounds of the reserve. Thank you Watchtree!

Helpful?
2 Thank Alison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    18
    6
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“a proper nature reserve”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This is a proper nature reserve, with several habitats.
There is a small visitor centre by the car park, which has basic facilities.
There are bikes of several designs for hire by the entrance and a choice of routes to take around the reserve.
There are hides to watch the ponds from and interesting woodland areas.
It is naturally very open and can be windy, as taken advantage of by the wind farm on the land.
Supported by donation and membership, which allows out of hours visits.
Well worth a couple (or more) hours visit.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JumboSlim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Peaceful and interesting for everyone”
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

This not your normal tourist attraction but more of a little gem visited by the locals. We took our three year old out there to explore the area. The helper there was very helpful and patient as she tried out three different bikes before deciding on the first one. I was very impressed that they could even cater for the disabled. We then spent a peaceful 3 hours riding/walking around, hiding in the huts with binoculars included for bird watching and learning about the environment. My hubby was thrilled with the history of the place as an old air craft base and it is also a great chance to get a closer look at the windmills. You can go there and not spend a cent but there is a basic self serve refreshment area with a few local souvenirs and we were happy to make a donation in the drop box for such a lovely afternoon out. (There was no request to do so like at some 'free' places) There is also a few nature activity kits you can get from the office for catching tadpoles or doing rubbings on the trails to name a few.

Helpful?
2 Thank Aussie-travellers-x3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Birds and bikes”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We popped in here for an hour or so after finding the attraction on Trip Advisor. We enjoy nature reserves and we not disappointed here. There was a cycling safety/awareness event for youngsters taking place along with the other attractions on the reserve. It was interesting to be up close with the wind turbines and to listen to the woosh, woosh as the rotors turned in the breeze. I am not very mobile at the moment and I enjoyed the level paths and the short circular walk around the reserve. It was nice to see a small flock of tree sparrows amongst the other birds that we saw. It helps when the day is warm and dry and we had a pleasant time here and I had no qualms at making a small donation towards the costs of running the place. Well worth a visit.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave Janet P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A happy relaxing day out”
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

A perfect location to let the kids just run around and experience nature. Beautiful ponds, great wildlife points,and you can hire bikes to go around on. Its a great place for a nice walk with no worries.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank sengasb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Watchtree Nature Reserve also viewed

 
 

Been to Watchtree Nature Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing