We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Day trip to Carlisle” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coconut T

Coconut T
Ranked #83 of 334 Restaurants in Carlisle
Price range: US$6 - US$8
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Description: Thai food .Carlisle market hall , served from 11,30 am to 4,30 pm
Ripley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Day trip to Carlisle”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

A good choice for lunch on a Day trip to Carlise.
Clean, good food,
Basic menu of well cookedThai Food
yum Yum

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Brianmricecream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    8
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

Called here by chance for Lunch after busy morning Christmas shopping, fantastic food and great value. Had Green Curry and Red Curry which were both excellent, but looking as other people got their meals I feel I could have worked my way through the entire menu, everything looked and smelled fantastic.
I guess it would be an easy place to miss, but when compared to a bag of Chips, pub lunch or a Sausage Roll from Greggs, this has to be the place for lunch in Carlisle. I'll be back!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle
Level Contributor
70 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Lovely food freshly cooked in front of you”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

This lovely little cafe - you can't call it a restaurant really - is great for quick Thai food at very cheap prices. For £4.50 you get a curry with rice or a Pad Thai or meat with chilli. It's very basic but always good. Everything is cooked to order and the place is tiny with the kitchen forming part of the restaurant so it's all cooked before your eyes. You can see the chef/owner mixing the paste for your curry before she cooks it. For a no frills fabulous dining experience it's hard to beat.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Austriamad2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, U.K.
Level Contributor
66 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Hidden Jewel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

We were introduced to this very small, tucked away eaterie by some good friends. Having not properly experienced authentic Thai food before, we were pleasantly surprised.
The food is cooked fresh and tastes fantastic. The staff are very friendly and it is excellent value for money.
We will pay another visit very soon.

Helpful?
Thank Carlisle2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryport
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful Tasty Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

Today I had my second meal in this restaurant. The food was tasty and hot and well presented. The two ladies working there today were very pleasant and cheerful. The whole experience was very enjoyable and really cheap.
Will I go back again, too true I will !

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TonyJohnstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Coconut T also viewed

 
Carlisle, Cumbria
Carlisle, Cumbria
 

Been to Coconut T? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing