We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely amazing — highly recommended”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Private location on a river bank Open plan living area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
51 reviews
Private location on a river bank
Open plan living area
Jacuzzi hot tub
Kitchen with granite work surfaces
Large dining table in open plan living area
Large comfy corner sofa
Dog friendly
Nespresso coffee machine
Open plan living area with antler style chanderliers
Log burning stove
King bedroom
Bedroom with Kingsize bed
Bathrobes
Twin Bedroom
Detail
The deck runs around cabin
Penton bridge
River Liddel
Free standing bath
Separate shower cubicle
Woodland walks
Beautiful scenery
Unique private location
Construction of the cabin
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Carlisle, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 51 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
James S
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely amazing — highly recommended”
Reviewed 11 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed for three nights at Liddel Water Lodge. It was fantastic. Left immaculately clean, which was very important to us. Pretty much every little amenity you could need right there, within the house.

Hot tub was lovely.

If we had one tiny gripe, and it's minuscule—it's that we would have liked some curtains on the main big windows. The missus felt it was a little too "open" at night.

Overall, it's an excellent place to stay. It was extremely relaxing and had a very professional finish to everything about the place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The remoteness
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisYoun...
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“So peaceful”
Reviewed 30 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

The wildly positive reviews are all accurate. This is a lovely place to relax and chill out, especially for couples. Would like to think that we'll be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The log fire and the hot tub
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Dec 2014
Thank you for reviewing your stay! We certainly hope you will return, many of our guests do!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue S
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Totally relaxing break in beautiful surroundings”
Reviewed 26 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

A 60th birthday treat for husband and both daughters.
Accommodation was first class and the artisan log cabin was amazing.
Set right on the river with views on all sides.
A very special place in which to recharge our batteries.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Dec 2014
Great to hear the cabin was enjoyed! It is to difficult to capture the beautiful location in a photograph.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah230...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Gorgeous get away”
Reviewed 24 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We came here to get away from the city for a few days and fell in love with the place- and absolutely loved the fact we had no signal on our phones! The sound of the river as we chilled in the hot tub was so tranquil!
Would visit again and would recommend again and again!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryan S
Hythe, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic cabin, but...”
Reviewed 1 October 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We booked the Lodge for our 40th Anniversary and thought it was a fantastic cabin in a lovely location, but our stay was (slightly) spoiled by a couple of avoidable problems.
Firstly, we had booked a breakfast hamper for our Anniversary morning on the Sunday and it was missing on arrival, so we had to make a telephone call (not possible from the cabin itself because of the location) and it was delivered later in the day on Sunday. Not quite the same!
Then over a month after we returned home I noticed our damage deposit had not been returned, so it needed an email to prod them into returning it.
I have to say that Dominique and Simon were never less than helpful, but these kinds of problems are a bit slipshod.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashbridge...
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The cottage is to a very high standard however the hot tub is not!!”
Reviewed 17 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

The owners of this cottage have invested to a very high standard in the property - however during our stay they failed to follow regulations governing provision of hot tubs in a holiday rental!! They even failed to have the courtesy of telephoning us with a reason why, as stated in their literature, daily checks were not carried out on the hot tub. An apology costs nothing, a £100 refund to me is a buyoff, considering all 4 memebers of our family contracted folliculitis.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Sep 2014
We are naturally disappointed with your comments, and acknowledge that it is very unfortunate that this has happened after your stay. I can only apologise again as indeed I did when I spoke to you by phone on two occasions. As our consecutive reviews show we keep the accommodation and the outdoor area including the hot tub maintained to the highest standards and have never had any complaint about the hot tub or in fact any complaint what so ever in the two years since completion. Your implication that the refund of your £100 damage deposit was a "buy off" is both inaccurate and offensive.
Simon Harrison
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redgurnar...
wirral
2 reviews
“Five star quality lodge in idyllic surroundings.”
Reviewed 4 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

A fantastic place to unwind in idyllic countryside. Beautiful and peaceful, superb quality accommodation....5 star plus ! Hot tub a delight. Breakfast hamper very tasty! Will definitely be going back .....worth every penny.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Could not think of anything !!!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Sep 2014
Thank you for your feedback, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing