We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing......”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Private location on a river bank Open plan living area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
53 reviews
Private location on a river bank
Open plan living area
Jacuzzi hot tub
Kitchen with granite work surfaces
Large dining table in open plan living area
Large comfy corner sofa
Dog friendly
Nespresso coffee machine
Open plan living area with antler style chanderliers
Log burning stove
King bedroom
Bedroom with Kingsize bed
Bathrobes
Twin Bedroom
Detail
The deck runs around cabin
Penton bridge
River Liddel
Free standing bath
Separate shower cubicle
Woodland walks
Beautiful scenery
Unique private location
Construction of the cabin
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Carlisle, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 53 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
David H
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing......”
Reviewed 26 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

This lodge is out of this world. Cannot praise the owners Dominique and Simon enough, from correspondence before we arrived to meeting them when they called in to check everything was OK with our stay. The lodge is a dream, the finishing touches are excellent and the location is superb. This is a perfect place to stay if you want to come and relax and enjoy the local scenery and wildlife. It has no internet and very limited phone signal which we actually classed as a bonus, because it forces you to switch off and relax. Cant wait to come back again..... David Hall

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everthing.....
Liked least: Nothing.....
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Apr 2016
Thanks David! Pleased you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you return in the future. Kind regards Dominique
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emmacza
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wow”
Reviewed 25 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here as a family of 4 for two nights. The lodge is absolutely stunning and has everything you need, and more. Gorgeous surroundings and pretty places to walk. We feel very lucky to have found such a beautiful place to escape to. Cant wait to go back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Feb 2016
Thank you Emma, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again in the future! Kind regards Dominique
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardwelll...
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely Lodge, Awful Service”
Reviewed 6 January 2016 for a stay in November 2015
7
people found this review helpful

I don't want this review to be completely negative because the lodge is genuinely beautiful and the location so peaceful.

However, the treatment we have received from the owners has left a bitter taste and has marred what should have been a perfect break for my 40th birthday.

The issues started when I dropped an email the night before we were due to check in to ask about check in times and how to get the key. I got a reply from Dominique to say that the information had been sent to me the previous week that she was out but that she would resend later that night. I responded to say that I had checked all my email folders but I had definitely not received anything. By mid-morning the following day (check in day) I had still not received a response so had to send another email asking for the information and included my mobile number in case of any issues. I received a text with the required information on and a promise that the email issue would be looked into.

In the weeks previous to this there had been communication via email to a couple of questions I had asked and I had received the responses with no problems!

Whilst there, the hot tub was checked every couple of days as Simon had said it would be. On the Saturday it wasn't checked until 16:30 which isn't before 09:00 like the handbook says but this didn't cause an issue as we weren't using it at the time. I also told him about the dirty pans and burnt frying pan that we had found in the cupboard which isn't ideal and not something I would have mentioned in a review if not for the other problems.

My real issue is the return of our £100 security deposit - after 5 weeks of unanswered emails, texts and phone calls trying to find out when it would be returned I finally got an email from PayPal on 4th Jan saying it had been returned (we stayed at the lodge from 23rd - 30th Nov) but nothing at all from the owners, not even an acknowledgement of my texts, phone calls, emails. Not only is this rude but Christmas is an expensive time for most people so that money was actually needed.

I must say that I am surprised at our treatment as a lot of the reviews on both Tripadvisor and in the Lodge Guest Book comment on what great people Simon and Dominique are, how they are so welcoming and raving about the gifts of wine they seem to have given all guests but us. I can only assume either we visited at a difficult time for them or I offended them by having to chase the the check-in details on more than occasion.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hot tub overlooking the river
Liked least: The treatment from the owners
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jamo35
Wokingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mr”
Reviewed 24 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Ok, so We've just come back from our 2nd visit to the lodge for a long weekend. We visited exactly the same time last year and the fact we travelled a 650 mile round trip for the 2nd time is testament to how good this place is.
It's location is superb, very relaxing.
Phone reception is all but none existent , which to many would be off putting, to us it was an excuse to relax and shut ourselves off from the world so to speak.
The cabin has the wow factor and everything is laid out for you from coffee to the bottle of wine kindly presented on entry.
The owners are also very accommodating with regards our dog who goes everywhere with us( he loves the place).
This place is worth every penny. Perhaps in the near future I'll return again, and hopefully for a little longer.
It couldn't recommended this place enough.
Go ahead get booking !!!!!!!!!
Many thanks jamie/Helen and banksy !!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Feb 2016
Thank you Jamie! Pleased you enjoyed your 2nd visit! Please come back and see us again! Kind regards
Dominique
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braders23...
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sheer luxury and relaxation”
Reviewed 11 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Utterly blown away by how stunning this place is. The lodge is perfectly situated next to the river creating a perfect ambience of tranquility and relaxation. It is well furnished and extremely cosy inside with excellent facilities. There is no wifi and little phone reception but that's kinda the whol idea - you do feel like you're ion another world when you stay here. Perfect for relaxing and escaping the real world! The hot tub is divine and you will most definitely get a fabulous sleep in the comfy beds.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: How amazingly relaxed the place leaves you feeling! It's also not far from all amenities should you wish to explore the area.
Liked least: After a while I would miss not having wifi
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Feb 2016
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We are delighted you enjoyed the cabin and the surroundings. We hope to see you in the future when you need to escape again!
Kind regards
Dominique
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eddie f
1 review
“Oasis of tranquility.”
Reviewed 20 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

A wonderful location,the lodge was gorgeous,very well equipped,and tastefully furnished,A truly cosy and comfortable place in which to spend a relaxing holiday in peaceful surroundings overlooking the river liddel A lovely log burner is situated in the lounge with a plentiful supply of logs,we enjoyed our evenings warming our toes and sipping wine in the glow of the fire.Our first dip in the hot tub was a great experience,enjoying the warm soothing water while looking up into a star filled sky,sheer bliss,we emerged feeling very relaxed.Our hosts Simon & Dominique,maintain the property to a high standard,the hot tub is checked on a daily basis.A welcome pack of champagne,local homemade marmalade & delicious shortbread along with pods for the coffee machine were there on our arrival,a nice gesture,along with milk,tea and sugar.Simon called in to see if we had settled in ok and said if we needed anything just give him a call.If you are looking for a quiet location free from the hustle and bustle of modern life in a location within reach of some picturesque and breathtaking views then this little oasis of tranquillity is perfect,we certainly had a wonderful time and left very reluctantely to return home,relaxed,refreshed with some happy memories and will definitely be returning again,we have found a little gem.Thank-you Simon & Dominique.................................. Lynn & Eddie...........

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful location.
Liked least: Steep gravel access drive,limited view as you leave to join road,but permission has been applied for to erect a mirror opposite drive to allow drivers a clear view of the road,
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denis P
1 review
“Complete relaxation!!!”
Reviewed 24 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

My wife & I stayed here for 5 days following our wedding. Couldn't have picked a more relaxing place, peaceful place to spend our minimoon. From the early morning/late night tubs to the roaring log burning fire, we enjoyed every minute and highly recommend Liddel Water Lodge!!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Apr 2015
So pleased you enjoyed your stay at the cabin! We hope you will return in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing