We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great”
Review of Marlborough House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Marlborough House
Ranked #9 of 61 Carlisle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed 11 September 2013

The owner kindly put me up at short notice with a very late arrival, when I had mistakenly booked for the wrong day with a neighbour. The room was a good size, comfortable and well appointed, the owner very friendly, and the breakfast of good quality.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roy M, Owner at Marlborough House, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Thank you for your kind words, hope you joined up with the team ok and enjoyed the rest of your bike ride. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    16
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
25
43
12
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dunfermine
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Booked a room here for two very late so was a little nervous. Extremely warm welcome from the owner (I didn’t catch his name) after he came to find me as I had gotten myself confused on where I was allowed to park. The room was lovely, very subtly decorated with plenty of room for two and spotlessly clean. We got 3 very good recommendations for dinner and chose The Turf (very good food). The owner took our order for breakfast and dealt with my very fussy specifications really kindly. The breakfast was great, fresh orange, tea/coffee, toast, bacon, sausage, cereal etc and very nicely cooked. The only small thing was that there isn’t a full length mirror in the room (there is a medium sized one though). If I’m in Carlisle again I will definitely be booking again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katkity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roy M, Owner at Marlborough House, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Thank you for your kind words, hope to see both you and your boyfriend again and hope you both got home ok.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

This was my 5th stopover while walking the Hadrian's Wall Trail. After a tiring day in the rain this was a very welcoming accommodation. Roy was a fantastic host: very friendly and very helpful when trying to find somewhere for an evening meal; very knowledgeable of the local area and of the Hadrian's Wall Trail. My room was fantastic: very light, comfortable, spacious and comfortable. Breakfast was fab. I would definitely recommend this place!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulaJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roy M, Owner at Marlborough House, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Hi Paula.
Thank you for your kind words, hope you enjoyed the rest of your walk, take care and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

An absolute gem of a find, been travelling to and staying in carlisle for over 5 years. Finding good quality accommodation at a reasonable price is difficult to say the least.

This place ticked all my boxes, breakfast freshly cooked, quiet room, comfortable bed.

Will stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel_and_Paul_09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roy M, Owner at Marlborough House, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Thank you for your kind words, glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

I had a most enjoyable stay at Marlborough House for one night whilst walking Hadrian's Wall. The host was very friendly and helpful, the room was clean and the bed very comfortable. The breakfast was piping hot and freshly made. I must particularly commend the generous helpings of black pudding and sausage served up as part of the full English breakfast. Would definitely stay here again next time I am in Carlisle.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roy M, Owner at Marlborough House, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Hi Steve,

Hope you both enjoyed the rest of your walk, glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Clean and comfortable room; excellent location; friendly (and helpful) host who made us feel very welcome and fed us well in the morning! Will book here again with no hesitation if we're in the area. I would definitely recommend.

Thanks again, Roy.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roy M, Owner at Marlborough House, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Thank you for your kind words Colin, hope to see you both again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Had a great stay at Marlborough House, good breakfast, comfortable bed, nice room and extremely helpful owner, who lent us his guide book for Hadrians Wall- luckily as we constantly got lost. Would heartily recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wendy j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roy M, Owner at Marlborough House, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Thank you for your kind words Wendy, glad to be of assistance, hope to see you both again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlisle hotels
0.1 mi away
Cumbria Park Hotel
Cumbria Park Hotel
#8 of 20 in Carlisle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crown & Mitre Hotel
Crown & Mitre Hotel
#7 of 20 in Carlisle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ibis Carlisle
Ibis Carlisle
#5 of 20 in Carlisle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Halston Aparthotel
The Halston Aparthotel
#3 of 20 in Carlisle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cornerways Guest House
Cornerways Guest House
#3 of 61 in Carlisle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
2.4 mi away
Park Broom Lodge
Park Broom Lodge
#1 of 1 in Crosby on Eden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marlborough House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marlborough House

Property: Marlborough House
Address: 2 Marlborough Gardens | Stanwix, Carlisle CA3 9NW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Carlisle
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Carlisle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Marlborough House 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marlborough House bed and breakfast offers you friendly and comfortable accommodation in Carlisle and within easy reach of numerous local tourist attractions. Gretna Green is only seven miles away, and you can easily reach the historic Hadrian's Wall. The house is situated in Stanwix and is believed to be situated on top of an old Roman fort named Uxelodunum (Stanwix). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Marlborough House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marlborough House Carlisle, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing