We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Marlborough House
Nearby Hotels
Ibis Carlisle(Carlisle)(Great Value!)
US$57
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$201
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cumbria Park Hotel(Carlisle)(Great Value!)
US$57
US$48
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Angus Hotel(Carlisle)
US$83
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crown Wetheral Hotel(Wetheral)
US$98
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$56
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$92
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$89
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$62
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Reviews (143)
Filter reviews
143 results
Traveller rating
111
25
4
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
111
25
4
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscumberland sausageb bstanwix tandooriaccommodating hoststar of the showhadrian's wallcarlisle city centrefantastic breakfastat short noticeroom was clean and comfortablecould not have been more helpfulbitts parkplenty of places to eatstay there againfull english breakfastshort walkexcellent value for money
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
114 - 119 of 143 reviews
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Good, clean room, very comfortable excellent breakfast and hospitality. Roy recommended a wonderful place to have something to eat, and in the morning was very helpful with ideas of how/ where to park and the choice of leaving the car if we wanted!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Brian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roy M, Owner at Marlborough House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2013

Thank you Brian, look forward to seeing you both again. Roy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Thanks so much to Roy for making us welcome in his clean and friendly B and B. The B and B was in a crowded parking area, but Roy saw too it immediately that we had somewhere close to park, and actually helped us take our luggage to our rooms which seems so rare in England these days. Roy recommended places to eat and we were very happy to eat at the local pub as we had had a long day travelling. After a great sleep, Roy cooked us a wonderful breakfast, whatever we wanted, he cooked, - delicious.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank notanangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roy M, Owner at Marlborough House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2013

Thank you so much for your kind words, if you pass this way again we would love to see you both again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Park and walk to Carlisle. This location is within walking distance to the downtown area. Roy made us feel right at home and was great with all the local information. His breakfast was great. Always right there when you needed something. Very willing to assist in anyway. Great stay!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roy M, Owner at Marlborough House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Thank you for your kind words Eric, I am so please that you enjoyed your stay with us and arrived home safely. If you are ever in the area again we would love to see you both again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

My son Mike and I arrived at Marlborough House, to be met by Roy, who sorted out the car parking for us. This is worth a mention because it is all private roads with limited parking. Do not worry, Roy Has it sorted! The room, bed, bathroom, cleanliness, hospitality and breakfast are all top drawer. If we travel this way again, he gets our booking.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 692Andy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roy M, Owner at Marlborough House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Andy, thank you for your kind words, hope the gig went ok for Mike, look forward to seeing you both again in the future. Roy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Found this B&B online and stayed for 2 nights recently for a long overdue trip to the Settle-Carlisle railway. Pleased to find that it was a short taxi ride from the station. The owner, Roy, was very helpful in providing local bus information and restaurant recommendations, his tip to visit The Turf in Carlisle worked very well for us early evening on our first night.
He was very friendly and knowledgeable about the area. The rooms were very spacious and well appointed, including TV's with DVD player built in - useful when we kicked back in the evening.
Breakfast was very good and fuelled us up well for our days taking in the history of Carlisle (visit the Cathedral & Castle) and also the spectacular scenery of the area seen from the Settle-Carlisle line. Highly likely to come to the area again and use this B&B as a base.

Room Tip: If you like to sleep with the window open for ventilation, you may wish to check which rooms are quieter as light sleepers will hear traffic noise. This is not a problem if you keep the windows shut as the double glazing was very effective.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roy M, Owner at Marlborough House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Thank You for your kind words James, so glad that you and your mum chose Marlborough House, glad to be of assistance and hope very much to see you both again soon. Roy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews