We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC”
Review of Marlborough House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Marlborough House
Ranked #9 of 61 Carlisle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“FANTASTIC”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Such a lovely place to stay! Very friendly owner, great breakfast and extremely comfortable. What more could you ask for such a reasonable price.

Brilliant ! Highly Recommend !! 5*


Ignore the Swimming pool rating

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oliver T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roy M, Owner at Marlborough House, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words, glad to be of service and hopefully we will see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    20
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
27
48
12
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with my friend last summer, lovely stay for two days. Lots of local information by the host (Roy). We were walking the wall staying in several B and B's and this one was a really good start.
Nice rooms and really good value for money. Would definitely stay there again if I was up in Carlisle.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Andrew_Gillett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roy M, Owner at Marlborough House, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Andy, thanks very much for you kind words, hope you both enjoyed the remainder of your walk along the wall. If you are ever in the area again we would like to see you. Thanks Roy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 April 2014

The room was spacious, warm and well-appointed, very good value for the price. Roy Messenger was also enormously helpful: he had found out some information I needed before I even arrived; the next day he gave me a lift, and then stayed up late to support in a family crisis -- cheerful and practical at 11:30 pm! And he still served a delicious and punctual breakfast. He would make anyone's visit as pleasant and stress-free as possible.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 31March14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roy M, Owner at Marlborough House, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Hannah, thank you for those kind words and I am extremely pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again. Roy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

I booked this as a last minute stop-over in Carlisle for business and was pleasantly surprised by the standard of accommodation.

The room was spacious and clean and the owner was extremely helpful.

If you are in the area and need quality accommodation at a reasonable price, then look no further!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank basejumper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roy M, Owner at Marlborough House, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Thank you very much for your kind words James, do hope we see you again, enjoyed our chat very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Many thanks to Roy for a great stay.

The B&B is close to Carlisle city centre, and only a 5 min walk to the shops.

The room was very clean, comfortable and with a good en suite.

Parking was no problem and we were given a reserved spot right next to the door, and the host was very helpful with directions and advice where to eat.

The best bit has to be the breakfast, which is served with the best Cumberland sausage!!

Hope to stay again in the near future.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 999pooch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roy M, Owner at Marlborough House, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Thank you for your kind words Gary, we hope to see you and your family the next time you are this way. Take care. Roy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 February 2014

If you are looking for the comfort of your family home in Carlisle, this is the place! The room was sparkling clean, an healthy breakfast customized to your liking awaiting at the time you asked in the morning, all the tourism information you need given by Roy, your friendly and helpful host. It is like staying at a friend place but better. If you stop by Carlisle, you have to stay there!.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Candice K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roy M, Owner at Marlborough House, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Thank you Candice, it was a pleasure to host Dean and yourself. Look forward to seeing you both again. Roy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Good, clean room, very comfortable excellent breakfast and hospitality. Roy recommended a wonderful place to have something to eat, and in the morning was very helpful with ideas of how/ where to park and the choice of leaving the car if we wanted!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Brian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roy M, Owner at Marlborough House, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
Thank you Brian, look forward to seeing you both again. Roy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlisle hotels
0.1 mi away
Cumbria Park Hotel
Cumbria Park Hotel
#7 of 20 in Carlisle
614 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ibis Carlisle
Ibis Carlisle
#5 of 20 in Carlisle
1,375 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crown & Mitre Hotel
Crown & Mitre Hotel
#8 of 20 in Carlisle
975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Park Broom Lodge
Park Broom Lodge
#1 of 1 in Crosby on Eden
274 reviews
0.9 mi away
Warwick Lodge Guest House
Warwick Lodge Guest House
#4 of 61 in Carlisle
185 reviews
1.3 mi away
Arkale Lodge
Arkale Lodge
#10 of 61 in Carlisle
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marlborough House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marlborough House

Property: Marlborough House
Address: 2 Marlborough Gardens | Stanwix, Carlisle CA3 9NW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Carlisle
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Carlisle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Marlborough House 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marlborough House bed and breakfast offers you friendly and comfortable accommodation in Carlisle and within easy reach of numerous local tourist attractions. Gretna Green is only seven miles away, and you can easily reach the historic Hadrian's Wall. The house is situated in Stanwix and is believed to be situated on top of an old Roman fort named Uxelodunum (Stanwix). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Marlborough House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marlborough House Carlisle, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing