We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Another excellent stay!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Carlisle, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

GrandTour...
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Another excellent stay!”
Reviewed 17 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Could only stay one night but so wished it could have been longer. Staff, room, food and location were all outstanding.

Date of stay: April 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pip B
1 review
“Great location, beautiful property and wonderful welcome from Malcolm Murray”
Reviewed 27 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018

The location is great; very quiet from the buzz of London. The walks were amazing and the local pubs which were recommended were great. Malcolm was very welcoming; he couldn’t do enough to help. Will definitely be back. The B&B he runs is gorgeous too. Would like to stay there as well!

Date of stay: January 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jan 2018
Thanks for the 5 star review! So glad you enjoyed your stay at the Cottage and the recommended walks and pubs. Malcolm
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esscopri
Blackburn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Head nooks Hall”
Reviewed 9 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018

The cottage we booked was very nice, this was our honeymoon and it was very enjoyable 4 days. Everything about the cottage was perfect, the rooms were magnificent, the living room was excellent and Malcolm was very helpful indeed. I definitely recommend anyonw to come back and take a wonderful trip to this beautiful cottage. I would definitely be coming back. Thank you Malcolm for everything

Date of stay: January 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jan 2018
That's for the brilliant review! So glad you enjoyed staying. All the best
Malcolm
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cooketour...
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Photos don't do it justice”
Reviewed 11 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Just returned from a weekend stay at the lovely Heads Nook Cottage. We struggled to find it initially despite SAT NAV but phoned and the ever helpful Bill gave us some last directions and met us on arrival. As it was December our son was delighted to see a Christmas tree all lit up and waiting for us in the cottage - a very nice touch we thought.

The cottage is actually a granny flat which is attached to the original 1840's built hall. It is, in reality, much larger than we had anticipated from the photos. There was everything you could need and the beds were superbly comfortable. The gas fire was especially appealing on a cold winter weekend and with additional underfloor heading in the living room and central heating elsewhere, the place was very cosy indeed. The bathroom is enormous with a huge shower and a very generous bath at the other end of the room. There is also an additional wc which the site doesn't show you together with a utility room.

Outdoor patio furniture and a barbecue are provided though clearly at this time of year we didn't use them but they would be delightful in the warmer months I'm sure. Despite being attached to the side of the hall, the cottage has a good degree of privacy as the main door to the hall is on a different side of the building. We didn't meet the owner Malcolm on this occasion but his assistant, Bill, could not have been kinder to us and deserves special thanks. He was very knowledgeable about the Hall's history and the local area. An absolute gentleman!

Date of stay: December 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: July 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Phillip58
South coast England
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“5 Star Excellence”
Reviewed 11 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

What an amazing cottage ,the perfect base for the perfect holiday ...We have just spent two wonderful weeks in the cottage and found it to have everything we hoped for and even more ......It was 5 star luxury , set in the countryside but close access to the main roads for touring the Lakes , the Scottish Borders and the beauty of Cumbria . The cottage was so perfect we even spent days when we never left the grounds , just relaxing and listening to the birdsong.....We decided to take breakfast each morning in the main house , the food, the service, the staff were so good that it made the start of each day perfect . Sat in the dining room we ate while watching rabbits , listening to the sounds of nature and even seeing a young family of five stoats playing in the grounds ..........The holiday was one of our best ever made even more so by the owner Malcolm who was there to offer advice on many of the local places of interest.....................Many thanks Malcolm for a wonderful time .

Date of stay: June 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean B
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“mr”
Reviewed 24 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

lovely place and very clean. only one little hiccup with the oven apart from that can't really fault it. owner was very friendly and helpful

Date of stay: June 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.