We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally amazed at just how good!”
Review of The Bridge Inn - CLOSED

The Bridge Inn
Cuisines: Gastropub
Restaurant details
Reviewed 27 March 2016

four of us out for dinner last week. Had heard of the pub, and found it easily, thankfully. It seriously was the best pub grub ever, great little find, and when up in Border country will visit again - and again. Mine host was brilliant, the chef was superb, the views are astounding. Not one to miss.

Date of visit: March 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank SushiMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (7)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 7 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2015

Four of us were staying overnight nearby and needed somewhere close for an evening meal. The Bridge had been recommended so we thought we would give it a try- and we are really glad we did !

After a very warm welcome we were soon installed in the dining room and drinks were quickly on their way as we tried to decide what to have off the menu on the blackboard opposite us - it all sounded delicious .

We skipped on the starters but then my sister and her husband had the salmon cooked with ginger and served with rice, my wife went for the lamb cutlets covered with breadcumbs and I chose the the cod.

All enjoyed their main courses , portions were quite generous , and then we were onto puddings with some scoffing the Eton Mess and others having the brandy snap baskets with raspberries , chocolate & cream.

A really nice pub meal , a little bit different to the normal pub fayre and it didn't cost a fortune either. Service was attentive too and very friendly There were some lovely views from the dining room over the hills

Definitely worth a try if you are in the area.

Date of visit: July 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank NEETfinderGeneral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Warm welcome, good choice and massive portions - great value and tasty too! Shame it's so far away from home (we were on holiday) otherwise we'd be regulars.

Date of visit: August 2014
Thank knthart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Just been to The Bridge again - cooking, ingredients, and menu choices all excellent for a pub meal - not been disappointed yet.

Date of visit: March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Hazel099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We had dinner here twice , there is a good selection , 4 starters , 6 mains, and 5 deserts to choose from, I had vegetable lasagne , which came with salad,chips and garlic bread , great portions I couldn't manage to eat it all. The second time I had the Sunday roast it was beautiful, and again a huge portion, I was prepared for it the second time and was able to finish it . The staff are friendly and welcoming a the prices are great too.

Date of visit: March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GraceL996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bridge Inn also viewed

 
Dalston, Carlisle
 
Warwick-on-Eden, Carlisle
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing