We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent ”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hell Below & Co

Hell Below & Co
Ranked #55 of 338 Restaurants in Carlisle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$13
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Breakfast, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Decent ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Good selection of drinks and cocktails. Food more finger type Italian food. Deco reminds me of a East London bar. Overall a pioneering bar in Carlisle.

Helpful?
Thank Bethany H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    36
    15
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
239 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Brilliant Venue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

One of the best nightlife venues in Carlisle. The cocktails are fantastic, the pizzas are to die for, the staff are great, good music, great features in the building and the place is clean. What more do you need on a night out.

Helpful?
1 Thank Keiran F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
231 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Unique Place to Eat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

We were looking for a nice place to eat and our taxi driver recommended the Hell Below. We have always had luck by asking locals for good restaurants and we were not let down. The service was excellent, they couldn't do enough for us, and the food was outstanding. One of the dishes to try is their nachos - can't be beat!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank jsimmill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries and Galloway, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Novelty drinks venue with food on the side.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

A quirky and interesting venue with lots of drinks thoughtfully presented but as far as an enjoyable food experience pop in somewhere else before or after. The staff also appeared disinterested in the food experience - hey ho! Wont be back, although I am sure lots of party people will be and have a great time!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank hall-of-fame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
317 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Quirky but food and service great.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Stopped in here for a quick lunch in Carlisle when a bit rushed for time. Staff really helpful and gave us great suggestions for a short informative walk. Nachos and toppings were great, difficult to find in England and price reasonable. Staff even asked if they could charge up phones...outstanding.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank melmoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hell Below & Co also viewed

 
Carlisle, Cumbria
 
Carlisle, Cumbria
Carlisle, Cumbria
 

Been to Hell Below & Co? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing