We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly Recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Old Hall Cafe

Old Hall Cafe
Ranked #33 of 338 Restaurants in Carlisle
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Groups, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

Visited the Old Hall Café a few times and every time Steve and the team are pleasant, warm and welcoming. The Café has a welcoming atmosphere and is always clean and the food is very well presented. Fantastic food and great value for money and its homemade! You can telephone your order in advance which I did on this occasion and was ready for when requested. Highly recommended 10/10 keep up the great work guys.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    5
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Group walking holiday buffet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

We had a group walking holiday in self catering cottages near Castle Carrock and needed a buffet for the first evening of our holiday. The buffet was excellent, with a really good selection of food and plenty of it!!. I ordered from two of the buffet menu's and it still worked out at under £13.00 per person, such good value. The buffet was delivered on time and the service was excellent. I will definately use again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank annas88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Business Buffets”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

We regularly use the Old Hall café as suppliers of the buffets for our meeting rooms. They offer a great selection of menus and are more than willing to tweak these to meet special dietary needs.

We have always found the service Steve offers to be first class and would have no hesitation in recommending him to others.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilds Of Cumbria
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent value!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

Went here for lunch for the first time last week. Not disappointed. Such a warm welcome by happy smiley staff. Had homemade minestrone soup and coronation chicken sandwich combo. Excellent value for money. Soup was hot and the sandwich fresh and tasty. The customers ranged from toddlers to old aged pensioners and some of the main meals that passed me looked lovely. Will definitely go again! A hidden gem....

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rievergal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hexham
Level Contributor
77 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“great cafe at Petteril Bank, Carlisle, near M6 junction 42”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

I have been in the café many times when I worked on site, and returned recently for lunch. The quality and choice is as good as ever. We had a baked potato with egg mayo and salad, a mozzarella, tomato and red onion panini and a plain cheese sandwich for our little one. Really yummy. Children are welcomed and catered for, there is plenty of choice, and food is prepared freshly by friendly staff overseen by the gaffer Steve. We were made very welcome and I would recommend it. Try it and see!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Old Hall Cafe also viewed

 
Carlisle, Cumbria
 

Been to Old Hall Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing