We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing customer service! Lovely atmosphere and wonderful food!”
Review of Oddfellows Arms

Oddfellows Arms
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carlisle
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Oddfellows Arms
Ranked #58 of 60 Carlisle B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 May 2014

I was part of a hen party staying locally (not at odd fellows) and we booked in for lunch on the Saturday of our stay. The staff at the pub could not be more accommodating for a group of 27 and even served meals to us outside of their usual serving times! Food was lovely and very prompt! The overall trip was made extra special by the amazing staff making us feel very welcome, and even decorated our table with confetti and balloons which was a totally unexpected lovely touch, only to be topped by being given an amazing good luck cake to the bride to be! We enjoyed it that much that we booked on for Sunday lunch the following day! Yet again, lovely food and brilliant service! I would defiantly recommend a visit, I'm very sure we will return!!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Nicolasmith1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard J, Manager at Oddfellows Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2015

Hi Nicola

Thank you very much for your lovely review..
I personally & as a team love it when we get to do Hen partys or infact any large groups.
This is made even more special for us when the people are lovely like your good self.
Thank you for the kind comments on the cake i was abit unsure at the time what style to make..

Im happy you enjoyed both your visits with us & hope if your anywhere close again you come back & visit again.

Kind regards
Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (23)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 23 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2014

The rooms were tiny. The shower room was very small but the water was hot and the towels were soft and fluffy. The TV was old fashioned with a yellow hue.. One of our meals was not very nice or GVFM but they took it off the final bill without a fuss. Breakfast was good Service was good. We thought it was very overpriced compared to the other places we stayed on route.

If walking the CW we recommend taking a diversion to Hesket Newmarket, a mile away, to the Old Crown Inn and stat at Dent House B and B next door. The pub is the first cooperatively owned one in the UK but has no beds....just its own brewery!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

Not good not bad although a bit expensive for what was on our plate. The trio of mini burgers however was a lovely meal. Nice selection of local ale also. Staff were friendly and attentive to our dog. Would go back again just to have the trio of burgers. Thanks.

Stayed: February 2014
Thank Noddyshead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Seven of us booked here for a weekend's walking and catching up as we now live all over the country. Accommodation was acceptable although I have to say I was not too impressed with our room seven, mainly the bathroom which was shabby, had a tiny washbasin and bath, and a shower that only squirted water intermittently unless you lifted the shower head out of its holder and lowered it right down!

Food was good and plentiful but on checkout, we had to work out the bill for ourselves as the one that was presented to us was over £450 undercharged! Yes really. Then the card machine wouldn't work so we had to leave all card details on a sheet of paper to be charged later. Fingers crossed!

Shame really as it's a beautiful village and the bar was fine.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Roger2504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Disappointing, because this lovely peaceful village wasn't everything that it seemed. At midnight it was quite riotous and difficult to get a good night's sleep. Pity because everything else was so good. Rooms were nice and clean, which was good, though access to them was a bit tricky.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the annexe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Booked here for a mid week night. I booked into a twin room. Got given my key and shown the front door. Once inside it was rather strange. It was like a full house but with most of the doors locked. Long hallway with stairs up to three open rooms, a twin a double and the bathroom. TV was only in one room. Things hanging off walls and exposed pipe work in bedrooms. Bathroom had the smallest bath I'd ever seen. 3ft long!
Nice bar but food was poor. Just reheated stuff from the microwave.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pete_George
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kristina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlisle hotels
0.8 mi away
Crown & Mitre Hotel
Crown & Mitre Hotel
#7 of 20 in Carlisle
1,068 reviews
3.1 mi away
Willowbeck Lodge
Willowbeck Lodge
#1 of 1 in Scotby
196 reviews
1 mi away
Ibis Carlisle
Ibis Carlisle
#5 of 20 in Carlisle
1,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
Crown Wetheral Hotel
Crown Wetheral Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wetheral
1,052 reviews
8 mi away
Graham Arms Hotel
Graham Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Longtown
160 reviews
3.5 mi away
Park Broom Lodge
Park Broom Lodge
#1 of 1 in Crosby on Eden
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oddfellows Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oddfellows Arms

Address: Caldbeck Village, Carlisle, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Carlisle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Carlisle
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Oddfellows Arms Carlisle, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing