We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Busy Carlisle cafe bar (family friendly)”
Review of Thirsty One - CLOSED

Thirsty One
Price range: US$6 - US$7
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch
Description: Located in Carlisle's historic core, Thirsty One is a Licensed Cafe Bar serving fresh homemade food daily. We also have a selection of drinks to quench your thirst from a hot coffee or a cold beer to a fruit juice served in a frosted glass. Opposite the Cathedral, on the same street as Tullie House Museum and with a view of the Castle from our outdoor seating, Thirsty One is ideally located for tourists and locals enjoying the most tranquil area of our Great Border City. Expect: Value for money, Local Produce, Great Coffee, Homemade Fresh Food, Tasty Cocktails, Relaxed Atmosphere, Excellent Customer Service, Food & Drink Deals, Outdoor Seating, Child Friendly, Local Tourism Knowledge & Good Music!!! But don't take our word for it, come and check out Thirsty One for yourself!!!
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Busy Carlisle cafe bar (family friendly)”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We really like it here and it is invariably full or fairly busy on a weekend lunch time (when we would most likely visit if in Carlisle). The food is reasonably priced, the menu varied and it is family/child friendly. The menu caters perfectly for both our fussy child and our more adventurous one. The sign of a good place to us is if the staff are willing to do their best and where possible adapt things on the menu to suit individuals. They do things like panninis, nachos and various ever changing specials.

I can't understand some of the negative reviews on here particularly about the staff. On a negative note I agree with one reviewer that the coffee here is nothing to write home about unlike 'Whytes' and this definitely could be improved upon so we avoid this. But overall we have never had a problem here, all the staff have always been lovely to us but then we are polite, friendly and our children are usually well mannered and well behaved in public (most of the time).

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank moonstone_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    2
    3
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent food!”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

I've visited here on number of occasions now and couldn't fault it in anyway. Every time I visit Carlisle I visit this gem of a café.
The menu is 'right up my street' and generous portion sizes. And the fact they serve Vimto, tops it off for me!
I recently visited here with my other half, who can be a fussy eater but we both chose to have Panini's and ordered a side order of nachos, which came with sour cream, guacamole, salsa and beans, highly recommended!! My other half loved it and will definitely be back!
Oh and not to forget, very reasonably priced.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank teacup_tiarras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
1 review
“Average lunch, terrible service and cold atmosphere”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

I visited this cafe last week with my partner and our young son. I enjoyed my baguette yet the menu was rather average. I could have looked past this and enjoyed our family lunch had the staff not been so rude. The waitress who served us had an awful attitude and even rolled her eyes when my partner queried some ingredients due to his nut allergy. Furthermore, once our food was delivered, we recieved no extra service, and could hear the waitresses gossiping behind the glass panel into the bar for our entire visit instead. Shame they couldn't have been respectful and attentive- manners don't cost!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DebOs199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
209 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch!”
Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

Very nice lunch here. Ciabatta and paninis are fantastic home made chips and home made coleslaw both very tasty too plus the value is exceptional. Service quick and curtious will definitely come back for lunch again

Helpful?
Thank Nixxiemc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
1 review
“A gem of a place.”
Reviewed 3 December 2013

I recently gave a review speaking very highly of Thirsty One but for some reason it has not posted.
The reason for this review is to make sure that this is rectified.
Great food. Try the chips. Great service with smiles. A unique menu that is very pleasing. I can't fault this place & look forward to many more visits alone & with my family.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NickDavey14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thirsty One also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing