We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very overpriced and not what promised”
Review of New Pallyards

New Pallyards
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
New Pallyards
Ranked #40 of 61 Carlisle B&B and Inns
Wales, UK
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Very overpriced and not what promised”
Reviewed 21 April 2011

We stayed for a long weekend
Our first surprise was being asked to pay on arrival - we should have realised why as the place was not what we were expecting from the hype on the web site - and they are not accredited by the tourist board as when I wanted to complain was told that they were not members even thought they were state they are on their web site.

The furnishings were tatty, with things like plugs missing, it wasn't very clean. We were expecting a romantic , peaceful weekend (we had the four poster self catering house - promoted as the place for honeymooners) - fat chance with children running round the house, looking in through the windows, screaming at the top of their voices. When I complained the owner said 'they're not my children - this is the level of customer service you get' A very disappointing place very overpriced and a bit of a con

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KfromWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    5
    1
    0
    5
See reviews for
16
9
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2010

We stayed for a week together with our Border Collie. There are a number of different nicely converted barns to a high standard. The Self catering accomodation is ideal as the food on offer in the Farmhouse (Breakfast and Dinner) was excellent and very reasonable. For us it was perfect - self catering without having to self cater. It is a working farm but the sheep were even moved out of a field so I could practice hittiing golf balls for the tournament I was playing in ! Very friendly and accomodating owners. The property we had (Ald Pallyards) was very clean, comfortable with all amenities for self catering.
Thank you John & Gina for a lovely stay - we will certainly recommend New Pallyards to friends.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AceGolfer13th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
xxsineadxx
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2009

the first thing u notice when you arrive is how gorgeous the farm is and how big it is. our accomodation had living room kitchen dining area bedrooms and en-suit. we had a washing machine and ironing facilities. we had free view as well. the room was completely spotless. the staff were extremely friendly and helpful.

we really enjoyed our stay here and would most definately stay again. :)

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xx_sinead_xx_05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2009

the people were friendly the accomidation was clean and there are stunning views, we went to stay at ald pallyards recently and it has been one of our most enjoyable holidays yet. our children loved the animals and playing out side. the accomidation had everything you could ever need in it and anything it didnt have the friendly owners would do they best to get it for you. the people who run ald pallyards have done so for a number of years and in my eyes they do it amazingly. will be going back next year and for years to come. would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank moomin_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2009

With three older children, 21, 18 and 16, we always know that each holiday might be our last one together - so it needed to be good this summer! We love the outdoors so we really enjoyed our trips to Hadrian's Wall, Farne Island, Scafell Pike and Silloth. Driving around the area was a pleasure because of the expansive views and distant horizons, but some of the roads don't have signposts so you need to have a detailed map and a patient map-reader! John and Georgina are very friendly and relaxed. We felt very welcome and would definitely stay at Ald Pallyards again - that's if we can get a booking. They are VERY popular!

Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank HalinaBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackburn
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2009

would recogmend new pall yards to anyone.. and have. going back in november but this time im going for at least a week.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BlackburnSleepyhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 September 2007

Much as the previous review (shame we never saw it prior to booking!).
A small farm, in the middle of nowhere, we arrived full of expectations given the 4* rating (who did they pay for that one?!). The room was small, the key to it ALWAYS got jammed, posing MAJOR issues if you need the toilet urgently. As the room had NO fridge, we were forced to keep bare essentials for our baby in the owners kitchen - only if we could get to it!.....inevitably they'd go out and lock the kitchen up......so u can guess who was left with a child crying for milk!
The small toilet/shower room was fitted with an archaic style sliding door, with full length glass pane - bit of a problem when u need the toilet in PRIVACY!
On the Hotel website, there's mention of an 'award winning breakfast'...again, I wonder who was giving out these....it was mediocre to say the least. I wouldn't have eaten it given a choice.
Finally......and this is true.....we were told there's no room service on a Sunday.....so if you're gonna go for the weekend, take a cleaner with you!!!

.......If you can put up with that, the consolation is that the B&B is 40 to 45minutes from the nearest town, so it takes ages to get back, so you're not going to spend much time there if you're lucky.

Would I ever go back???.......NO!

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Vict0rM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carlisle
10.4 mi away
Crown & Mitre Hotel
Crown & Mitre Hotel
#7 of 20 in Carlisle
971 reviews
3.5 mi away
Bessiestown Farm Country Guesthouse
10.6 mi away
Ibis Carlisle
Ibis Carlisle
#5 of 20 in Carlisle
1,375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Graham Arms Hotel
Graham Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Longtown
150 reviews
10.4 mi away
Crown Wetheral Hotel
Crown Wetheral Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wetheral
979 reviews
10.4 mi away
Willowbeck Lodge
Willowbeck Lodge
#1 of 1 in Scotby
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Pallyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Pallyards

Property: New Pallyards
Address: Hethersgill, Carlisle CA6 6HZ, England (Formerly Ald Pallyards)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Carlisle
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Carlisle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms and TripOnline SA so you can book your New Pallyards reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Pallyards Carlisle, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing