We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Newpallyards - Carlisle” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of New Pallyards

New Pallyards
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
New Pallyards
Ranked #52 of 65 Carlisle B&B and Inns
Bellshill, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Newpallyards - Carlisle”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2012

Stayed here for a month whilst working in carlisle, loved the place, great accomodation, great owners, a real home from home. A 15 minute drive from the centre of Carlisle were we were working, would love to come back for a weekend break with the family,

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dsviemc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    5
    1
    0
    6
See reviews for
15
9
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2012

On Retuning back to New Pallyards after many visit it felt like it was yesterday, the Host have never changed, they are so welcoming, making me feel so welcome into there home, the accomodation in the cottage is what you would expect clean warm, and the food is excellent and its so peacful, i would recommed anyone to visit for a short or long break....

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stuart j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldham, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

12 of us, including 2 under 5's plus 3 dogs stayed for 3 nights over the New Year holiday.
We were split over 2 self catering cottges. No complants at all. The premises were clean and well equipped.and we had a friendly welcome. I'd recommend the fresh-laid eggs which you can buy from the farm.
Ref Daisy's commentsThere's no denying that it's isolated, but 2 minutes with a map would have told you that - you just need to plan ahead for food etc.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WalrusOldham_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2011

Absolutely gorgeous barn conversion with stunning views of the country, hills and nature, great night sky with stars in abundance. And as for the landlady a very pleasant woman really takes interest in her guests and making sure they even have essentials and knowledge of the area. Overall im coming back soon !!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fundraiser1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2011

The accommodation really is a long way from Carlisle- a good 35 minutes drive. The nearest shop is about 7 miles. The roads are very narrow so you need a detailed map and good map reader or a sat nav.

There is little feeling of welcome, the feeling was one of a place where every extra is charged for. There was no washing machine in the cottage and a service wash was £9. The electricity is through a meter so you need a stack of £1 coins. There was no washing up liquid and we had forgotten to take any, only 2 loo rolls and no replacement bin liners for the kitchen bin. After a long drive to get there we had to head out on another 20 minute drive to the nearest corner shop for these basics.

I had intended to work there but despite the advertised internet access, there was none at the cottage.

The owners did not enquire about how we were getting on at all during the week, despite living on the site.

On the last day there was no heating or hot water and the cottage was freezing cold. We struggled to boil kettle after kettle of water to clean and tidy before leaving. Unfortunately the owner called us at home on the day we left complaining that the cottage had not been cleaned to their standards. When we tried to have a discussion about it she shouted down the 'phone and hung up.

I have never written a bad review about any holiday before but this was really the most unpleasant end to the week and I was left feeling that the people running the business need to learn some interpersonal skills and skills in customer care.

I think perhaps not a place to visit with children.

Room Tip: Not a place to visit with children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DaisySally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales, UK
Level Contributor
117 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2011

We stayed for a long weekend
Our first surprise was being asked to pay on arrival - we should have realised why as the place was not what we were expecting from the hype on the web site - and they are not accredited by the tourist board as when I wanted to complain was told that they were not members even thought they were state they are on their web site.

The furnishings were tatty, with things like plugs missing, it wasn't very clean. We were expecting a romantic , peaceful weekend (we had the four poster self catering house - promoted as the place for honeymooners) - fat chance with children running round the house, looking in through the windows, screaming at the top of their voices. When I complained the owner said 'they're not my children - this is the level of customer service you get' A very disappointing place very overpriced and a bit of a con

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KfromWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2010

We stayed for a week together with our Border Collie. There are a number of different nicely converted barns to a high standard. The Self catering accomodation is ideal as the food on offer in the Farmhouse (Breakfast and Dinner) was excellent and very reasonable. For us it was perfect - self catering without having to self cater. It is a working farm but the sheep were even moved out of a field so I could practice hittiing golf balls for the tournament I was playing in ! Very friendly and accomodating owners. The property we had (Ald Pallyards) was very clean, comfortable with all amenities for self catering.
Thank you John & Gina for a lovely stay - we will certainly recommend New Pallyards to friends.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AceGolfer13th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carlisle
5.8 mi away
Graham Arms Hotel
Graham Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Longtown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
3.5 mi away
Bessiestown Farm Country Guesthouse
10.4 mi away
String of Horses Inn
String of Horses Inn
#2 of 65 in Carlisle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Sycamore Tree
Sycamore Tree
#20 of 65 in Carlisle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
10.4 mi away
Crown & Mitre Hotel
Crown & Mitre Hotel
#7 of 20 in Carlisle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
10.3 mi away
Willowbeck Lodge
Willowbeck Lodge
#1 of 1 in Scotby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Pallyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Pallyards

Property: New Pallyards
Address: Hethersgill, Carlisle CA6 6HZ, England (Formerly Ald Pallyards)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Carlisle
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in Carlisle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your New Pallyards reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Pallyards Carlisle, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing