We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Standards again!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Premier Inn Carlisle Central Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Carlisle Central Hotel
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Carlisle
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent Standards again!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013 via mobile

2nd visit to this my home town PI, by far it's The Best PI in the area! All the staff are very friendly from Reception, in-house, & Breakfast very well organised. David in The Brewers Fayre and runs a tight ship for breakfast, nothing too much trouble (even when I set his toaster on fire with a croissant) did not shout at me!! Sorry again David.
Bedrooms immaculate, plenty of parking, will be returning. Lunch at Smiths in Gretna worth a trip out, bit pricey but top class food.

Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank JNewsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    319
    248
    67
    17
    5
See reviews for
212
248
21
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
somerset
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2013

Had a two night stay, service had much improved, rooms clean and comfortable, food good, can recommend the T Bone Steak and breakfast hot and good value, would certainly stay here again, ideal location for touring and close to motorway link

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rowena K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2013

This Premier Inn seems to fulfil its claims and have friendly staff. It is easy to locate from the M6 and a direct walk into the centre to assorted eating places. The walk takes you through red brick areas with interesting buildings, the city is a place of many unusual structures which I would return to explore. The hotel is quiet and the corridor fire doors are noticeably quiet when they close - ie no bang.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsPepperpot_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2013

This is a typical Premier Inn - clean, warm, comfortable and with friendly, professional staff. I was glad I picked this hotel rather than one of the other Premier Inns in the city as it was close enough that we could walk into the city centre (in about half an hour, I think) but far enough out that we weren't bothered by late night noise. It cost us about £5.50 to get a taxi back from the university (which is a good 20 minutes walk from the far side of the city centre) so getting one back from the main part of the town should be a bit less than that. There is a pub next door (Brewers Fayre) and another pub 10 minutes walk away. I'd certainly book this hotel if we were in Carlisle again.

Room Tip: Avoid Rooms 1 to 3 - everyone staying in the original part of the hotel has to walk past these to ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Greyluvver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
181 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

As with all the Hotels I've stayed in within this budget chain the rooms are perfectly serviceable and pristine, the beds very comfortable, the bathrooms are always neat and clean, nothing is broken or just a bit tacky (mentioning no names Travelodge), the value is exceptional and the breakfast just great - really what's not to like! Just two points to mention with regard to this one - if you are in the new Annex there is no lift to the first floor (so you will need to lug cases up stairs) and if it's raining (as it was constantly when we were there) you can get a bit soggy on the walk from the Annex to breakfast and back! But all in all great value!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MathanTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

Could not say that I agreed with previous reviews but perhaps was just an off night. Got one of last units which was the disabled unit. Not a big problem but room did just not seem to usual standard. Front counter staff not especially helpful and was the first PI where we were handed an extra towel at front counter rather then there being 2 towels actually in the room on arrival. Attached pub food just average and is located well out of town so not much other food options.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank old44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, England
Level Contributor
359 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 405 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

We stayed on a Saturday night so we could have a mini break in Carlisle to explore (well worth the visit by the way, the castle and cathedral are wonderful).
Check in was busy but calm and we were given all the information we needed, including an offer to call a taxi for us into town.
We asked for a quiet room and they gave us a family room in the annexe, it was wonderfully quiet. It was made up for 3 people and the lady at the desk even offered to come and convert the bed back to a couch for us which wasn't necessary.
The room was spacious, spotless, large fluffy towels, adjustable heating and everything worked.
Lots of parking and a bar and restaurant right next door which we didn't use as we had researched restaurants in town on here.
The lady did call a taxi for us, her name escapes me but it begins with "E" and is unusual, she was so pleasant we went in to say goodnight to her after our night out at the Royal Outpost ( please see separate review).
Check out took seconds with another lovely pleasant lady.
This hotel can't be improved upon.
Stay here!!!

Room Tip: The annexe was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glamourpuss1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlisle hotels
0.9 mi away
Ibis Carlisle
Ibis Carlisle
#5 of 20 in Carlisle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,310 reviews
1.2 mi away
Crown & Mitre Hotel
Crown & Mitre Hotel
#7 of 20 in Carlisle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
3.1 mi away
Crown Wetheral Hotel
Crown Wetheral Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wetheral
4.5 of 5 bubbles 914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Cumbria Park Hotel
Cumbria Park Hotel
#8 of 20 in Carlisle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
2.7 mi away
Premier Inn Carlisle (M6 Jct42) Hotel
1.0 mi away
The Halston Aparthotel
The Halston Aparthotel
#3 of 20 in Carlisle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Carlisle Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Carlisle Central Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Carlisle Central Hotel
Address: Warwick Road, Carlisle CA1 2WF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Carlisle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Carlisle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Carlisle Central Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Why limit yourself to exploring just one country, when you can discover some fantastic destinations in two? Located on the border of England and Scotland, the Premier Inn Hotel Carlisle Central is the ideal base to explore all the attractions just waiting for you nearby. Start the day picking up some cool brands at Lanes Shopping Centre, or hotfoot it to the fascinating 900-year-old Carlisle Castle. Catch an exhibition at the Tullie House museum, a beautiful Jacobean building. Or throw your net a bit further to visit Hadrian's Wall. Then come back to Carlisle and enjoy a meal in our Brewers Fayre restaurant, plus a lovely comfy bed in your room. Important info: This hotel is situated next to a main road. Bedrooms are insulated to minimise noise. Directions: Situated on Warwick Road. Approx 1/2 mile from M6(J43) on A69. Next to the Lakeland Gate Brewers Fayre Transport and local information: Hadrian's Wall Centre Historic Site The Lanes Shopping Carlisle Train Station 1 mile ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn and Priceline so you can book your Premier Inn Carlisle Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Carlisle Central Hotel Carlisle
Premier Inn Carlisle Central Hotel Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing