We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's not central”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Carlisle Central Hotel
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Carlisle
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It's not central”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

First thing, calling it "Carlisle Central" is misleading as anywhere you might call the centre is at least a mile away (unlike Travelodge and Ibis Centrals in Carlisle). Whole place is in bad need of refurbishment. We stayed two nights. First morning the breakfast was the standard help yourself buffet. Second morning the person in charge, whose manner was brusque to the point of rudeness, and who hadn't bothered to pop on a uniform to enable identification, informed us that she had decided not to put out the hot buffet, we had to order what we wanted from staff. This meant waiting for food, having to ask for the order, not being able to just help ourselves as we wished, and the food when it arrived wasn't hot, so no better than serving yourself. The waiting staff were in consequence rushed off their feet and the coffee area in particular was filthy, as obviously if staff are having to do more serving they don't have time to clear up. A failed experiment in our view, presumably trying to save a few pennies.

Room Tip: The low room numbers are right off the reception area where everyone has to walk through to get to l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah R, Manager at Premier Inn Carlisle Central Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel did not meet your expectations. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Please be assured that the issues raised will be fully investigated. Thank you once again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    335
    264
    74
    19
    5
See reviews for
221
266
24
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We had a family room for two nights which was a bit of a squash but perfectly fine as we spent the day in Glasgow. It was very quiet and had all the necessary equipment. It was a really hot night and the the window hardly opened so was a bit stuffy. The bed was very comfy and the bathroom had a great shower and bath. The breakfast was excellent, so much choice, well done. The staff were really helpful and explained where to park for the station in the town.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josephine7761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah R, Manager at Premier Inn Carlisle Central Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Many thanks for your review. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We’re so pleased to hear that you had such a lovely stay with us and we do hope to see you again in the very near future. Thank you once again for taking the time to review your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Good hotel, very friendly and helpful staff. Good clean rooms, with excellent pub attached. Just off the M6 at J43, with good transport into town center. Lots of parking spaces. Had an excellent stay in July for two days.

Room Tip: Go for a high floor. Well worth it for the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phlburr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah R, Manager at Premier Inn Carlisle Central Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review your stay. Your feedback is very important to us and we are delighted that you had a good stay and you found our location convenient during your travels. We look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stopped here for one night on our way to Scotland. Very comfy bed after a long drive. Very easy to find just off the M6. We found the staff helpful and friendly. A good breakfast before we set off again the next morning.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah R, Manager at Premier Inn Carlisle Central Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us. Your feedback is very important and we are delighted that you had a good stay and you found our location convenient during your travels. We look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Stayed here as we had tickets for the Rugby Seven Tournament at the Commonwealth games and needed base for a couple of nights with easy access to Glasgow without being in the city itself and this was ideal. We had 2 rooms, a family room & a triple. They were a bit cramped which in normal circumstance would be no problem but it was exceptionally hot that w/end & hotel has no aircon so was very uncomfortable although when checked in the reception did apologise and there were fans in each room but windows would only open couple of inches!! This being said it was v clean. Staff were great in the reception and in the pub/ restaurant next door. Was only five mins away from railway station by taxi & 1 hour to Glasgow ideal for our needs.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah R, Manager at Premier Inn Carlisle Central Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thanks for your feedback. At Premier Inn we endeavour to offer the best value quality stay. All feedback both positive and negative is investigated and acted upon to ensure we are offering our customers the best possible service. We are sorry that your room was hot and you did not have a comfortable nights sleep. At Premier Inn it really matters to us that you enjoy your stay and that is why we guarantee your comfort. Your comments have been noted and will be duly followed up with the Management Team. Once again thank you for your review, we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, UK
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Admittedly it was a warm weekend (temperatures in the mid 20s), but our room, in the annex, was incredibly hot - the in-room control for heating (but not cooling), showed over 27 degrees. The window was small and only opened a couple of inches - we were on the first floor - but there was a fan that helped a little, kept on all night, and we took advantage of the "spare" sheet provided to use instead of the duvet when hot. I guess that being too hot is a recognised problem. Having said this, we were not disturbed at all by noise from other guests, which is always a relief.

The on-site restaurant is a Brewers' Fayre. The menu for dinner is as one might expect, i.e. straight from freezer to fryer, which is fine if one accepts that, but the prices seem high for dishes that demand minimal culinary expertise. Breakfast there was good on Sunday morning but on Monday morning was rather dismal - too few staff resulting in a queue to be seated and an empty coffee machine plus deliveries were awaited of basics such as orange juice.

The location is good and easy to find; parking is plentiful. The staff on reception were very friendly. Not sure what the point is for the Premier Inn's on-line pre-arrival check-in!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Inthebook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah R, Manager at Premier Inn Carlisle Central Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Many thanks for your review. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion we did not meet your expectations. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Please be assured that the issues raised will be fully investigated by the Management Team at this hotel. Thank you once again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We chose this Premier Inn in error! Thought we had booked the one in Carlisle we knew and loved. As it turned out we liked this one even better, nearer to M6 more visible and nearer to Town. Our room on the ground floor at the back of The Annexe can be recommended. Even though it backed onto a car park we were not disturbed by any noise. Very hot night and had been provided with a sheet and a fan but no substitute for air conditioning. Unfortunately we couldn't get the temperature below 25c as window restricted . The room and bathroom were spotless and the bed comfortable. Dinner in the Restaurant was good and the staff friendly . Very busy with lots of well behaved children! Would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susietom2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah R, Manager at Premier Inn Carlisle Central Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us. Your feedback is very important to us and we are delighted that you had a good stay and you found our location convenient during your travels. We look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlisle hotels
0.9 mi away
Ibis Carlisle
Ibis Carlisle
#5 of 20 in Carlisle
1,375 reviews
1.2 mi away
Crown & Mitre Hotel
Crown & Mitre Hotel
#7 of 20 in Carlisle
972 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Halston Aparthotel
The Halston Aparthotel
#3 of 20 in Carlisle
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Cumbria Park Hotel
Cumbria Park Hotel
#8 of 20 in Carlisle
611 reviews
3.1 mi away
Crown Wetheral Hotel
Crown Wetheral Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wetheral
979 reviews
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Carlisle Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Carlisle Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Carlisle Central Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Carlisle Central Hotel
Address: Warwick Road, Carlisle CA1 2WF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Carlisle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Carlisle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Carlisle Central Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Why limit yourself to exploring just one country, when you can discover some fantastic destinations in two? Located on the border of England and Scotland, the Premier Inn Hotel Carlisle Central is the ideal base to explore all the attractions just waiting for you nearby. Start the day picking up some cool brands at Lanes Shopping Centre, or hotfoot it to the fascinating 900-year-old Carlisle Castle. Catch an exhibition at the Tullie House museum, a beautiful Jacobean building. Or throw your net a bit further to visit Hadrian's Wall. Then come back to Carlisle and enjoy a meal in our Brewers Fayre restaurant, plus a lovely comfy bed in your room. Important info: This hotel is situated next to a main road. Bedrooms are insulated to minimise noise. Directions: Situated on Warwick Road. Approx 1/2 mile from M6(J43) on A69. Next to the Lakeland Gate Brewers Fayre Transport and local information: Hadrian's Wall Centre Historic Site The Lanes Shopping Carlisle Train Station 1 mile ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Carlisle Central Hotel Carlisle
Premier Inn Carlisle Central Hotel Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing