We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient location but the shower didn't work”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Carlisle Central North Hotel
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Carlisle
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Convenient location but the shower didn't work”
Reviewed 13 August 2012 via mobile

We stopped for one night to break our journey. The room was very clean and spacious, with an enormous bed. Unfortunately there is no air condtioning in the rooms, and ours faced the sun. On the hottest day of the year so far, this made for an unpleasantly hot night. We had the window open, but this did little to cool the room and meant that we had noise from the road and car park.

The worst problem, however, was that the shower was unreliable. It worked intermittently, and packed up completely when I'd just shampooed my hair and covered myself with soap. Inadequate rinsing in the washbasin followed.

If you stay here, you'd be best to avoid having a shower!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ambermaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest-3210, Manager at Premier Inn Carlisle Central North Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2012
Dear Guest,

I would like to apologise that on this occasion we did not meet your expectations. Our 24 hour reception are happy to assist should you have a problem in the future. Your feedback is very much appreciated and thank you for taking the time to review our hotel

Kind regards,

Katharine Reed
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    126
    78
    30
    16
See reviews for
133
181
13
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Myself and my wife had three nights here, and were very happy with the service and friendliness of the staff- both from the Premier Inn and attached pub (Flaming Grill). Good breakfast, good pub grub, good times.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wazeroonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest-3210, Manager at Premier Inn Carlisle Central North Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely review of our hotel. Your feedback is very much appreciated and I will ensure to pass your comments on to the team.

Kind regards,

Katharine Reed
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbernauld, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Good location near motorway,lots of parking and easy check in, nice friendly receptionist, Family room was ok, usual comfy bed for adults x2 and beds for kids x2, bathroom spotless and fresh, had meal in restauraunt nice staff and good food, Our room got stuffy at night but we used the fan that was provided,Breakfast was good buffet style and order for cooked again staff very nice and nothing was a problem

Room Tip: restaurant really nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest-3210, Manager at Premier Inn Carlisle Central North Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and will ensure that your positive feedback is communicated to the team.

Kind regards,

Katharine Reed
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

A group of us 13 in total had a one night stay.We all had a good time in a friendly clean hotel. Food good on the evening as was breakfast. Rooms spotless and one of our guests had had an accident before we arrived and could not manage the stairs the lovely receptionist swapped floors for our guest straight away. we also had a birthday celebration whilst we stayed and the lovely waitress took our cake away for us and put the candles in and surprised him with it. Nothing was any trouble for your staff thanks for a good time.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julieweth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest-3210, Manager at Premier Inn Carlisle Central North Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear that our teams looked after you well and that you all enjoyed your stay with us. I will ensure you positive feedback is communicated to the team.

Kind regards,

Katharine Reed
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Consistent with our experience with all other premier inns that we have stayed in - this hotel represented good value for money and lived up to everyting we expected it to be.

Staff were friendly and helpful, room was clean and comfortable.

Adjoining the hotel is a reasonably priced restaurant and bar with a decent menu. When we stayed (which was a Thursday night) the restaurant was packed and a 45 minute wait for food. It appears that the restaurant is popular with the locals.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lamar1007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest-3210, Manager at Premier Inn Carlisle Central North Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope we may be able to welcome you back to Premier Inn hotels in the future.

Kind regards,

Katharine Reed
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2012

Visiting lake district and Hadrians Wall so this was a good location. Everything needed was in room on arrival - no chasing around for pillows, towels etc. Room was stuffy and as window overlooked carpark it could not be opened without noise interfering with sleep. Staff were friendly but efficient.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lil2212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest-3210, Manager at Premier Inn Carlisle Central North Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to be able to welcome you back to Carlisle Central North in the future and where possible our reception team will be happy to offer you an alternative if your room is not to your satisfaction.

Kind regards,

Katharine Reed
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

As Premier Inns go we had a good clean room and bathroom, good customer service. Pricing is not so bad but not that cheap either for a very basic room. £69.50 plus £17.00 for breakfasts for 2.

The main problem with this hotel is that it has no air conditioning and if you open the window you will hear all the traffic outside plus the car parking around the hotel means you will be disturbed from that as well. Even with the windows shut we could hear people talking as they changed shifts and in one room when we opened the window the smell from the restaurant grill next door was overpowering. In fact because it has an adjoining door to the grill you will get the smell in the lower corridor as well. I guess the poor receptionist is used to it, she was a star!

The biggest advantage to us was the check out time which extends to 12 midday.

The breakfast was £8.50 and a fair selection of the usual served in the Grill/pub partner Gosling Bridge Inn. The biggest disappointment was the cooked breakfast, wouldn't ask for the scrambled eggs or poached again all cooked hard and dry and the sausages tasted of plastic . Not like the picture at all. The manager said he would look into it but by then it's all a bit late as you've been put off. Again customer service was very good but we went and had a cooked breakfast at the Toby carvery for the return journey. Not the choice but £3.99 and better quality and eggs properly cooked (fried only and we asked for them cooked to order so you don't have to have the ones overcooked by the overhead lamps).
Same for the grill, we had a meal on the first evening and cheap enough but no air circulation so the atmosphere hangs with the smoke from the flame grilled food on the skillets. Good customer service and handy if you don't want to go out. It was really busy but I would not eat there again.
Handy for an overnighter in winter.

Room Tip: Keep away from the first rooms on the ground floor leading to the grill and the entrance. Less smell...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Driver5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest-3210, Manager at Premier Inn Carlisle Central North Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I would like to apologise that some aspects of your stay did not meet your expecations. Your feedback is very much appreciated and I do hope that we may be able to welcome you back to Premier Inn hotels in the future.

Kind regards,

Katharine Reed
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlisle hotels
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Carlisle Central Hotel
0.8 mi away
Cumbria Park Hotel
Cumbria Park Hotel
#8 of 20 in Carlisle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
1.9 mi away
Ibis Carlisle
Ibis Carlisle
#5 of 20 in Carlisle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Premier Inn Carlisle (M6 Jct42) Hotel
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Carlisle M6 Jct44 Hotel
1.6 mi away
Crown & Mitre Hotel
Crown & Mitre Hotel
#7 of 20 in Carlisle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Carlisle Central North Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Carlisle Central North Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Carlisle Central North Hotel
Address: Kingstown Road, Carlisle CA3 0AT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Carlisle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Carlisle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Carlisle Central North Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carlisle is the ideal base to explore the grandeur of the Lake District. And Premier Inn Hotel Carlisle Central North is a grand place to stay, putting you within easy reach of the national park as well as the business and leisure facilities of the historic city centre. Whether you're strolling along Carlisle high street, or stomping along High Street Fell, there's plenty to distract you here. Some visitors come to buy livestock at the Harrison & Hetherington auction market, others to spend time on Hadrian's Wall. Every September there's the Tour of Britain cycle race too. Then it's time to unclip from the pedals and unwind back at the hotel, with our tasty restaurant and extra-comfy beds. Directions: Exit M6 (J44) onto the A7. There is a Premier Inn hotel located on this junction but Carlisle North is located 1 mile away on the A7 towards Carlisle.On the left, next to The Gosling Bridge Transport and local information: Carlisle Castle Historic Site Hadrian's Wall Historic Site Carlisle Golf Course Carlisle Train Station 2 miles ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Carlisle Central North Hotel Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing