We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Carlisle Central North Hotel
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Carlisle
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We stayed here on our way up to the Scottish Highlands. The hotel reception staff were friendly and helpful.

The room was spacious and airy, the bed was a good size and very comfortable. A good nights sleep had!

My only negative point was the bathroom design. You had to lift the toilet seat up to close the door properly. Not sure who designed this, but presumably they didn't do it anywhere else?!

A good nights sleep, a good rate and did exactly as it said on the tin.

Also there is a pub, which is also very popular with locals. It has a friendly and busy atmosphere, not like the usual hotel bar. Sadly not many vegetarian options - but I will review this separately.

Good stay!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dsunshineseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest-3210, Manager at Premier Inn Carlisle Central North Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Dear Guest

Thanks for your feedback regarding your stay at Carlisle Central North Premier Inn. At Premier Inn we endeavour to offer the best value quality stay to all our guests. All feedback both positive and negative is investigated and acted upon to ensure we are offering our customers the best possible service. We are pleased to hear that your stay with us was a comfortable one and you enjoyed a good nights sleep. Once again thank you for your review, we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.

Kind Regards

Sam Grieve
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (465)
There are newer reviews for Premier Inn Carlisle Central North Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

304 - 310 of 465 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2013

Like the last review, we too stopped in Carlisle on our way up to Edinburgh. Reception staff A1, super friendly welcome. As others have pointed out, the corridors are a bit claustrophobic and prison like, and there's a pervading sort of damp dish cloth smell under the profusive air fresheners in the downstairs corridor. We booked a double room, but BE WARNED this hotel only has 4 double beds! the rest are made up by Zip & Link (2 singles joined) which are just awful. Our zip & Link divans were hard as hell with a ridge down the middle...no way Lennie Henry would be chucking himself on that! Phone and check in advance if you want your usual Premier Inn comfortable bed. Room had NOT been cleaned well. we wrote clean me in the dust to prove a point before leaving. No mixer tap in the bathroom gets you scalded hands. Heating control will only go to 23° which doesn't warm the room when it's zero outside. This hotel is 16 years old and needs a refit, it's tired and used mainly by contractors. Wouldn't use this particular one again.

Room Tip: Try and book upstairs as the floors creak and if you're downstairs would drive you mad!
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Constantene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Carlisle Central North Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. At Premier Inn we endeavour to ensure all our guests have an enjoyable stay in a clean and comfortable environment and do apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. Please email your booking details including your reservation number to talktous@premierinn.com and we will follow this up with the Management Team. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Used this premier inn as a journey break on the way to Edinburgh.Receptionist was very friendly and helpful and showed us to our room 126.We found the room to be typical Premier inn....clean,tidy and spacious as well as value for money too.The tv channels offered your basic 20 0dd channels but this premier inn is worth visiting just for the Pub/restaurant situated next door!!Outstanding.Visited November 2nd 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shane s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest-3210, Manager at Premier Inn Carlisle Central North Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with Carlisle Central North Premier Inn. Your feedback is very important to us and we are pleased that overall your stay met your expectations and you were comfortable. Thank you for your comments regarding the service received in our adjoining restaurant. I will ensure this is passed on and I am sure the team will be delighted to receive your feedback. Thank you again for your feedback, we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn on your next visit to the area.

Kind Regards

Sam Grieve
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Spacious room and very comfortable bed. £60 for one night for a double room was a bit more than I would like to have paid but the booking was at short notice so couldn't take advantage of any advance offers. Great steak and grill house next door and just further down the road there is Morrison's where we had a budget breakfast. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NJHarveyWestLothian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest-3210, Manager at Premier Inn Carlisle Central North Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us at Carlisle Central North Premier Inn. Your feedback is very important to us and we are delighted that you had a good stay and you found our location convenient during your travels. We look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.

Kind Regards

Sam Grieve
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Usual Premier Inn merits - clean, comfortable room, friendly staff - on a bargain offer price. Only a few TV channels were available. The pub/restaurant attached provided excellent food and service at a very reasonable price. I will use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest-3210, Manager at Premier Inn Carlisle Central North Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with Carlisle Central North Premier Inn. Your feedback is very important to us and we are delighted that you had a comfortable stay and found our team to be welcoming. Your comments will be very well received by all our team members as they are committed to giving our guests the best possible service. We look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.

Kind Regards

Sam Grieve
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Spent four nights here on short break. large comfortable room, friendly staff and good value, busy restaurant next door. Lots of good grilled food with helpful staff. Didnt make it to dessert any night as portions were substantial.Will definitely use again

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest-3210, Manager at Premier Inn Carlisle Central North Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We’re so pleased to hear that you had such a lovely stay with us here at Premier Inn Carlisle Central North and we do hope to see you again in the future. Thank you once again for taking the time to review your stay with us.

Kind Regards

Sam Grieve
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights oct 20/21 2013 as a base to visit scotland and lake district. Got a cheap deal but would have been worth full price . Room contained everything required , king size comfy bed , selection of hard/soft pillows , flat screen tv with loads of channels , tea coffee making facilities and hair dryer . The premier inn joins on to the gosling bridge flaming grill pub. They gave me a 20% reduction as i booked a table on line before we went. Had a great meal which would have been great value at more than full price but with the discount was excellent value. I wouldn't have been able to provide a comparable meal at home for what i paid .Great loved it.The Inn and pub staff were very friendly and helpful. Would recommend this hotel which is 3 minutes from the M6 to anyone as a base to see scottish borders or lake district

Room Tip: We had room 5 ground floor near reception and entrance to pub but was very quiet and even though I a...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geroffmicloud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest-3210, Manager at Premier Inn Carlisle Central North Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Carlisle Central North Premier Inn. Your feedback is very important to us and we are pleased that your stay met your expectations and you has everything you needed. Thanks for your comments regarding the service received during dinner, I will ensure this is passed on to the team, who will be delighted to receive your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn on your next visit to Carlisle.

Kind Regards

Sam Grieve
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlisle hotels
1.9 mi away
Ibis Carlisle
Ibis Carlisle
#5 of 20 in Carlisle
1,402 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cumbria Park Hotel
Cumbria Park Hotel
#8 of 20 in Carlisle
642 reviews
1.8 mi away
Travelodge Carlisle Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Crown & Mitre Hotel
Crown & Mitre Hotel
#7 of 20 in Carlisle
1,013 reviews
4.9 mi away
Crown Wetheral Hotel
Crown Wetheral Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wetheral
1,004 reviews
2.8 mi away
Travelodge Carlisle Todhills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Carlisle Central North Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Carlisle Central North Hotel

Address: Kingstown Road, Carlisle CA3 0AT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Carlisle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Carlisle
Price Range: £47 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Carlisle Central North Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carlisle is the ideal base to explore the grandeur of the Lake District. And Premier Inn Hotel Carlisle Central North is a grand place to stay, putting you within easy reach of the national park as well as the business and leisure facilities of the historic city centre. Whether you're strolling along Carlisle high street, or stomping along High Street Fell, there's plenty to distract you here. Some visitors come to buy livestock at the Harrison & Hetherington auction market, others to spend time on Hadrian's Wall. Every September there's the Tour of Britain cycle race too. Then it's time to unclip from the pedals and unwind back at the hotel, with our tasty restaurant and extra-comfy beds. Directions: Exit M6 (J44) onto the A7. There is a Premier Inn hotel located on this junction but Carlisle North is located 1 mile away on the A7 towards Carlisle.On the left, next to The Gosling Bridge Transport and local information: Carlisle Castle Historic Site Hadrian's Wall Historic Site Carlisle Golf Course Carlisle Train Station 2 miles ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Carlisle Central North Hotel Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing