We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Carlisle Central North Hotel
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Carlisle
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay.”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

My wife and I arrived shortly after 2pm on Thursday,13th February for a two day stay.
On arrival we were greeted in an efficient and friendly way by the reception staff and given our key for room 18 on the ground floor. The room and bathroom were very clean and comfortable.
During our stay we had two continental breakfasts which were excellent with a wide choice available and on both evening we 'dined in' and found that there was a varied menu available. I can recommend the mixed grill which at £8-99 was a real bargain. There is also a good selection of beers available.
The premises appear to be an older model hotel but this I felt added to the comfortable feel of which was enhanced by the pleasant and helpful staff.
Premier Inns is chain of budget hotels which I think provide an excellent service at a reasonable cost.
I have no complaints whatsoever and enjoyed my short stay there and will continue to use Premier Inns.

Room Tip: Room 18 was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SouterJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest-3210, Manager at Premier Inn Carlisle Central North Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We’re so pleased to hear that you had such a lovely stay with us here at Carlisle Central North Premier Inn and we do hope to see you again in the very near future. Thank you once again for taking the time to review your stay with us.

Kind Regards

Sam Grieve
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    125
    76
    30
    16
See reviews for
132
179
13
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire, Ohio
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

We arrived for the 2014 Valentines weekend only to find that at 3pm, the room we should have had access to at 2pm (according to the emailed invoice) wasn't ready. I had to conduct business phone calls in my car whilst waiting for the room to be made ready.

The room itself was a good size, and unlike the Gloucester Premier Inns 1, it had a couple of power sockets.

The TV was very small - maybe a 19inch lcd mounted low (which made it hars to watch feom the bed) which is small nowadays. Compared to the Reading Premier Inn with a 32" wall mounted lcd for example, it was poor.

For some reason the room was VERY cold. The heater kept reducing in temperature from the max to the lowest (eco saving?). After pointing this out to reception they put a free standing electric oil heater which wasnt much good in reality.

I did not sleep very well on the bed. The mattress seemed much harder than the normal Premier Inn standard.

The next day we returned from exploring Carlisle and Gretna after 3pm to find our room had not been made up!

I think it's fair to say that they need to employ more housekeeping staff!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Leigh G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest-3210, Manager at Premier Inn Carlisle Central North Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. It really matters to us that our guests have a comfortable nights sleep, and we apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. Please be assured that we take all feedback very seriously and on receipt of your details, the issues raised will be fully investigated and duly followed up at the hotel. We do have a good night guarantee to ensure any problems experienced by our guests are rectified, and I would appreciate if you could contact me directly on operationsmanager.carlislecentralnorth@whitbread.com to discuss your stay further and I hope we can find a resolve to the issues you experienced during your stay.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind Regards

Sam Grieve
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle
1 review
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Room was clean which was nice . Heating in the room was awful could not get the temperature down this is not the first time we have had this problem and when we contacted a member of staff about it all she said was open the windows . The bed was like sleeping on a plank of wood I woke up with a bad back the next morning although other times when we have stayed the beds have been spot on but this one we stayed in last time was quite uncomfortable.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest-3210, Manager at Premier Inn Carlisle Central North Hotel, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. It really matters to us that our guests have a comfortable nights sleep, and we apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. Please be assured that we take all feedback very seriously and on receipt of your details, the issues raised will be fully investigated and duly followed up at the hotel. We do have a good night guarantee to ensure any problems experienced by our guests are rectified, and I would appreciate if you could contact me directly on operationsmanager.carlislecentralnorth@whitbread.com to discuss your stay further and I hope we can find a resolve to the issues you experienced during your stay.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind Regards

Sam Grieve
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed here as we were attending a function in the city & wanted the closest hotel.

A slightly older hotel, which looks a little tired from the outside. Very small reception area, staff were efficient but not overfriendly. Directed to our room on first floor at side of hotel through number of small doors & up a narrow flight of stairs. Some rooms near reception were still being made up when we arrived at 5 & the first part of the hotel seemed dark & somewhat unwelcoming. Our room in the newer part, with different doors to the first part was okay - very narrow through door with rather curious looking storage at the side. Bathroom very small, the door wouldn't close properly & was very close to the very narrow bath.

Bed was comfortable enough & we had a good night's sleep. Overall a reasonable visit, hotel needs a modernise to create a fresher more welcoming experience.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul197002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest-3210, Manager at Premier Inn Carlisle Central North Hotel, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your feedback. At Premier Inn we endeavour to offer the best value quality stay. All feedback both positive and negative is investigated and acted upon to ensure we are offering our customers the best possible standards and service. Once again thank you for your review, we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.

Kind Regards

Sam Grieve
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

You know what your getting with Premier Inn anywhere in the country, the room was clean, the normal option for pillows, if I had to find any issue with the room it was only that there was nothing to stir my coffee with, so a Bic pen did the job...having said that theres never enough coffee in most hotel rooms.

What makes a hotel has got to be the staff, they were all really nice...yes there was an issue, yes it was sorted without any hassel whatsoever.

I'm going to be in Carlise more often and this is the first hotel, even out of its three Premirer Inn's that I will choose, if i can get the right price.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mystery S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest-3210, Manager at Premier Inn Carlisle Central North Hotel, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with Carlisle Central North Premier Inn. Your feedback is very important to us and we are delighted that you had a comfortable stay. Your comments will be very well received by all our team members as they are committed to giving our guests the best possible service. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Sam Grieve
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

A lovely small hotel very friendly staff, clean rooms good food well worth a visit. Just out side Carlisle and good buses if needed but you can walk into town.
Plenty of parking and easy to find !!!!!!






  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 186402Annie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest-3210, Manager at Premier Inn Carlisle Central North Hotel, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your review of Carlisle Central North Premier Inn. It is great that our clean hotel, helpful friendly staff and facilities met your expectations and made your stay a comfortable one. We endeavour to deliver the highest level of service to all guests and your feedback helps us focus on doing this. Thanks again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn again in the future.

Kind Regards

Sam Grieve
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newquay
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Well what can you say when we first landed we were told that our rooms were not ready. Then we was told that there was a problem with breakfast, even though had ordered when we had first booked. When we was given our keys we found out that we were on different floors. Being that my wife is disabled we thought that this was very unfair as she was upstairs with the 2 youngest children. When you was in the hallway it felt like a prison corridor-I was waiting for Mr Mackay to pop his head round the corner. The air fresheners in the corridors made you wonder if there was a problem with damp. As for the twin room, my daughter had a problem trying to get into the bathroom as the door scraped over the toilet seat and had a chunk cut out of it. We have never seen anything quite like it. The next morning we did have a very nice breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jayNewquay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest-3210, Manager at Premier Inn Carlisle Central North Hotel, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel did not meet your expectations. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Please be assured that the issues raised will be fully investigated. Thank you once again for your review.

Kind Regards

Sam Grieve
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlisle hotels
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Carlisle Central Hotel
0.8 mi away
Cumbria Park Hotel
Cumbria Park Hotel
#8 of 20 in Carlisle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
1.9 mi away
Ibis Carlisle
Ibis Carlisle
#5 of 20 in Carlisle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Premier Inn Carlisle (M6 Jct42) Hotel
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Carlisle M6 Jct44 Hotel
1.6 mi away
Crown & Mitre Hotel
Crown & Mitre Hotel
#7 of 20 in Carlisle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Carlisle Central North Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Carlisle Central North Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Carlisle Central North Hotel
Address: Kingstown Road, Carlisle CA3 0AT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Carlisle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Carlisle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Carlisle Central North Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carlisle is the ideal base to explore the grandeur of the Lake District. And Premier Inn Hotel Carlisle Central North is a grand place to stay, putting you within easy reach of the national park as well as the business and leisure facilities of the historic city centre. Whether you're strolling along Carlisle high street, or stomping along High Street Fell, there's plenty to distract you here. Some visitors come to buy livestock at the Harrison & Hetherington auction market, others to spend time on Hadrian's Wall. Every September there's the Tour of Britain cycle race too. Then it's time to unclip from the pedals and unwind back at the hotel, with our tasty restaurant and extra-comfy beds. Directions: Exit M6 (J44) onto the A7. There is a Premier Inn hotel located on this junction but Carlisle North is located 1 mile away on the A7 towards Carlisle.On the left, next to The Gosling Bridge Transport and local information: Carlisle Castle Historic Site Hadrian's Wall Historic Site Carlisle Golf Course Carlisle Train Station 2 miles ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Premier Inn Carlisle Central North Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Carlisle Central North Hotel Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing