We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel ok, Flaming Grill - flaming awful !!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Carlisle Central North Hotel
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Carlisle
Reviewed 2 June 2014

For a stopover on the way back from Mull, things didn’t start too well!
We went to the wrong Premier Inn, at M6 jtn 42, to be told “this often happens cos the other one is only half a mile down the road and the same post code area”. Our check-in at the correct venue was efficient, but on asking about booking a table for a meal at the Flaming Grill we were told that “they don’t take bookings, and it gets very busy on a Friday night so I would come down fairly early”!
Our room was clean and fresh, but the bathroom was in need of some TLC!
Thinking about the Receptionists advice on a meal, we went down to the Flaming Grill about 7:15. What she didn’t tell us was that it encompassed a ‘Sports Bar’ and England were about to KO against Peru! 2 Big Screens, commentary turned up full blast, hardly a table to be had. When we were offered one under a pair of the speakers, we decided to opt for a quick meal and back to the room. We were then told that the wait for food would be 30mins, the beer was rank, and when the food did come (20mins) it was awful!
The breakfast next morning was chaos, had to wait for coffee cups, milk, and bread to toast, and the table with everything on it was positioned in the narrowest part of the room right where the door to the kitchen was, and where people were queuing to be found a table.
If you use this Premier Inn sort out somewhere else to eat before you arrive, and skip breakfast!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruthsdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest-3210, Manager at Premier Inn Carlisle Central North Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback of your recent stay with us. Please accept my apologies for the experience you had in the adjoining restaurant, this is certainly not the standard we aim for and I will pass on your comments to the management team of the Flaming Grill. If you would like to discuss this further please do not hesitate to contact me on operationsmanager.carlislecentralnorth@whitbread.com.

Kind Regards

Sam Grieve
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (464)
There are newer reviews for Premier Inn Carlisle Central North Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

267 - 273 of 464 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

The most uncomfortable beds going and no money back guarantee. When we informed reception that didnt seem too bothered. We had stayed at this hotel 4 years ago and had the same problem, cant believe the beds havent been changed in 4 years. Also they have had to cut a piece out the toilet door so it could pass the toilet and close

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest-3210, Manager at Premier Inn Carlisle Central North Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I must apologise that you did not have a comfortable stay with us, this is certainly not the standard we aim for with Premier Inn. We are expecting our new beds to be delivered later this month, and are addressing the issue we have with our bathroom doors. I am sorry that the reception team did not offer you a resolution under our Good Night Guarantee. Please contact me on operationsmanager.carlislecentralnorth@whitbread.com, as I would like to ensure we resolve this for you and are able to welcome you back to stay with us in the future.

Kind Regards

Sam Grieve
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Stayed here as a stop over before going to center parcs and was a great idea. Staff were friendly room was clean and comfortable and the attached pub restaurant was great if need to do a stop over round there again would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest-3210, Manager at Premier Inn Carlisle Central North Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely review of your recent stay with at Carlisle Central North Premier Inn. It's great to hear our team were so welcoming and you found your room to be of the high standard we aim for. I am pleased you enjoyed your meal in the adjoining restaurant and will certainly pass on your kind comments to their team. I hope you and your family enjoyed your break at Center Parcs and look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again in the future.

Kind Regards

Sam Grieve
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Room 115 the bed is awfull two singles put together.... Horrible to sleep inn. Sort this our premier inn please I use premier inn a lot the best one so far in Carlisle is jct 44 very nice... So next time I'm staying then next when I stay up here again ..

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank Trev26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest-3210, Manager at Premier Inn Carlisle Central North Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback on your recent stay with us. Please accept my apologies that you did not have a comfortable nights sleep, this is certainly not the standard we aim for with Premier Inn. Please be assured your comments will be investigated. If you would like to discuss this issue with me further please do not hesitate to contact me on operationsmanager.carlislecentralnorth@whitbread.com.

Kind Regards

Sam Grieve
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

This hotel met Premier Inn's normal high standards. The room was quiet and it was good to see that guests are now reminded to reduce noise.
Adjacent Flaming Grill pub provided an excellent steak, real ale and a great price.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oldergolfer_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest-3210, Manager at Premier Inn Carlisle Central North Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us at Carlisle Central North Premier Inn. I am pleased to hear you found our rooms to be of the high standard we aim for with Premier Inn and that you enjoyed your meal in the adjoining restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again on your next visit to Carlisle.

Kind Regards

Sam Grieve
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

After a frustrating Motorway journey north with a two hour delay near Lancaster, the friendly reception we received on arriving at this Premier Inn was very welcome. It is a truly excellent hotel with plenty of parking, a nice room, huge bed and a Flaming Grill pub next door. There was a great choice of food in the pub, served by friendly staff and reasonably priced. Although it is situated on the A7, we found our room to be quiet by day and night.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest-3210, Manager at Premier Inn Carlisle Central North Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of your stay with us here at Carlisle Central North Premier Inn. It's lovely to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and our team looked after you well. I will certainly pass on your kind comments to the Flaming Grill team. We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again soon.

Kind Regards

Sam Grieve
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Nice room and as always you know what you get with Premier
Staff helpful and friendly
Good pub next door - good pub food and good value
Good location if you wish to do some exploring in to Scotland or the lake district

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest-3210, Manager at Premier Inn Carlisle Central North Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Carlisle Central North Premier Inn. I am pleased to hear you found your room to be of our usual high standard, that our team were friendly and our location was convenient for your journey. I hope we are able to welcome you back to stay with us on your next visit to Carlisle.

Kind Regards

Sam Grieve
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlisle hotels
1.9 mi away
Ibis Carlisle
Ibis Carlisle
#5 of 20 in Carlisle
1,402 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cumbria Park Hotel
Cumbria Park Hotel
#8 of 20 in Carlisle
642 reviews
1.8 mi away
Travelodge Carlisle Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Crown & Mitre Hotel
Crown & Mitre Hotel
#7 of 20 in Carlisle
1,012 reviews
4.9 mi away
Crown Wetheral Hotel
Crown Wetheral Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wetheral
1,004 reviews
2.8 mi away
Travelodge Carlisle Todhills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Carlisle Central North Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Carlisle Central North Hotel

Address: Kingstown Road, Carlisle CA3 0AT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Carlisle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Carlisle
Price Range: £47 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Carlisle Central North Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carlisle is the ideal base to explore the grandeur of the Lake District. And Premier Inn Hotel Carlisle Central North is a grand place to stay, putting you within easy reach of the national park as well as the business and leisure facilities of the historic city centre. Whether you're strolling along Carlisle high street, or stomping along High Street Fell, there's plenty to distract you here. Some visitors come to buy livestock at the Harrison & Hetherington auction market, others to spend time on Hadrian's Wall. Every September there's the Tour of Britain cycle race too. Then it's time to unclip from the pedals and unwind back at the hotel, with our tasty restaurant and extra-comfy beds. Directions: Exit M6 (J44) onto the A7. There is a Premier Inn hotel located on this junction but Carlisle North is located 1 mile away on the A7 towards Carlisle.On the left, next to The Gosling Bridge Transport and local information: Carlisle Castle Historic Site Hadrian's Wall Historic Site Carlisle Golf Course Carlisle Train Station 2 miles ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Carlisle Central North Hotel Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing